We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #14 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Never Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was highly impressed by its sister property in Florence, and instead of the Mandarin Oriental, I thought to give this hotel a try. It was quite regrettable.

No help with my luggage from the taxi, and I was pointed to the lift and reception without eye contact. There was no escort to the room. I was floored by a small floating debris in the toilet and quickly flushed it down the toilet. There was no response by the management for a day and I felt the response late and lacking.

My room had a nice view of a church and aside from the greeting debris in the toilet, was otherwise adequate. Toiletry was by L'occitane and an added bonus was the nice soaking tub.

Staff was slow, not uniformed in customer service; breakfast was a mess. Overall, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank panam747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. If you see fit, we would love to discuss the matter further with you.

Kaitlin Russell
Assistant Front Office Manager
kaitlin.russell@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    315
    105
    45
    26
See reviews for
267
472
87
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is on the list of one of my favorite hotels in the US! They have a great location-right in the heart of downtown! Everything is in walking distance and it's easy to get around the city! There are tons of restaurants to choose from and lots to do at night. The hotel room was beautiful, we got a corner room so the view was great! Huge walk in closets, massive bathrooms, the room looked like a condo! Service was really nice and they have a very nice restaurant/bar and great breakfast restaurant! Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind recommendations. I am delighted to hear you loved your corner room. We hope to see you in San Francisco soon.

Doug Housley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great location for shopping but typical FS attention to details in the hotel are lacking. Our suite had uninteresting architectural features, housekeeping failed to finish the daily cleaning and failed to return for turndown or to place the roll away beds in the evening for our children. Normally a FS remembers preferences once informed. We had many "opportunities" to call staff to make additional trips to the room to complete these tasks and deliver forgotten obvious items like adequate towels for our family of 4. Very unusual. Also the fitness facility is a private club that is very crowded and the pool was dirty. We love the Four Seasons brand but this hotel was not up to par.

Room Tip: The view over the Yerba Buena Gardens is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. If you see fit, we would love to discuss the matter further with you.

Kaitlin Russell
Assistant Front Office Manager
kaitlin.russell@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I came to SFO for the holiday week and chose to stay at this hotel. On Christmas Eve, we dined in the hotel restaurant and, from the warm and friendly staff, especially Ian our server, to the beautifully presented and tasting meal, all was "just perfect".

One can't say enough about the Four Seasons staff. Words or phrases like pleasant, welcoming, knowledgable, eager to please and proud of their hotel...don't really capture the whole picture. It is the staff at the Four Seasons San Francisco that sets it apart from all the rest. True....the rooms are always well cleaned and in great condition, the beds are comfortable - and - the showers worked great, but one would expect this from a hotel of this calibre. The people, however, make all the difference.

After many years of visiting San Francisco for business and pleasure, it is now the Four Seasons Hotel that has brought our visits to a higher level

Room Tip: Bay side room on a higher floor provides a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I joined my wife here after a business trip and we stayed for two nights. The hotel is well situated and of typical Four Seasons quality, with clean rooms and common areas. There was construction on Market Street when we stayed, but the hotel was good about notifying guests and we were able to use the rear entrance with no issues. Recommended, if unremarkable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Doug Housley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Can't compare with Four Seasons Asia hotels in terms of size or amenities.

Likes
1. Location next to Union Square
2. Excellent Service. Brings out a wheelbarrow of toys for kids upon checking in. Valet and bellboy attends to you as soon as you drive in to park. Bags are in the room immediately.
3. Helpful staff

Dislikes
1. Poor basic room amenities. eg No water boiler. Didn't deliver newspaper everyday.
2. Chargeable wifi ($14/day per device).
3. Pretty plain & small rooms for a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japanlover1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. If you see fit, we would love to discuss the matter further with you.

Kaitlin Russell
Assistant Front Office Manager
kaitlin.russell@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wonderful hotel and very helpful staff. Highly recommend!

The rooms were lovely, the hotel very clean and the staff was really knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on business or pleasure. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaB0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you had a wonderful time in San Francisco. We look forward to having you again soon.

Doug Housley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#28 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing