We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Service at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #13 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Service at this hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having recently visited on a part Conference and part holiday to San Francisco for the first time I can think of no better hotel as a base. The staff were all very attentive, including by day 4 calling me by my name. Food is very good too. The hotel is situated in Market Street, which is central to all of the sights and stores

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve57hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    328
    113
    47
    28
See reviews for
295
503
91
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you can afford it, you should stay here. I recently moved away from SF but come back every so often for a week or so. The Four Seasons is in a very central location - right on Market Street and is close to many cool parts of the city. The rooms are beautiful and the service is amazing. SF can get a bit overwhelming at times and this hotel felt like an oasis. Food and bar area are wonderful - I often went there when I lived in the city. It is pricey but fun nevertheless.

Room Tip: Go high up to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was whisked away by my Mother and Husband for a two night Birthday Getaway to the Four Seasons...We have stayed and visited many Four Seasons and they truly are magnificent. You really feel special when you stay in their hotels.

Unfortunately, this location missed the mark. It felt like an upscale Marriott rather than Four Seasons. HIGHLY OVERPRICED!

Upon check in- the staff were nice and they helped arrange a rollaway bed (which are super comfy!!!) for my mum as the Price tag on the room didn't allow wiggle room in the budget to get a whole separate room. When we checked in they asked for our Flight details for the return leg of our journey as they prepare the boarding passes at the 24 hour web check in mark on your behalf....

However, when we checked out that HAD NOT been done, which meant that we were stuck in the Final Boarding group on our flight home on Southwest- so we were all separated.... This failure to follow through is NOT okay.

The gym that they give you access to is AMAZING!!! however it only opens at 7am and closes at 10pm.....that really doesn't work for busy travelers!

The rooms are lovely, and of a good size, but really NOTHING special.

The beds however are 5 star! So comfortable and great for a good nights sleep.

Concierge were helpful, we had A LOT of questions and nothing was too much trouble.

They really need to keep their downstairs doors CLOSED as for some ridiculous reason they keep them open which creates a horrible wind tunnel and in San Fran that can be icy cold.

Room Tip: You want to face Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echoco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am as disappointed as you are in the fact that we did not have your boarding pass ready for your return home. I apologize for the situation that put you, your husband and mother in.
As a complimentary amenity, we’ve also heard from other guests that the Sports Club/LA is amazing and glad you agree. During weekdays, it does have longer hours, but we’ll look into your suggestion for longer weekend hours to accommodate busy guests.
I was glad to hear that you had a good night’s rest on the beds and that the concierge was helpful.
Although we didn’t meet your expectations this visit, I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If you do decide to, please don’t hesitate to contact me at (415) 633-3000 so that I can personally assist with your stay.

Regards,
Christian Klaus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a conference, part holiday. Very central, close to great shopping. Not too long a walk to China Town and Pier 39. We had a large comfortable room, with a fabulous bed and bathroom. The lobby area and restaurants are classic looking whilst the rooms are modern, sounds odd but it works. We had room service once, which was quick and not too bad price-wise. I recommend the hot chocolate, it comes in a little tea pot, so you get a couple of cups!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo6406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Great location on Market Street in the Financial District. A classy, contemporary - classic - Four Seasons Hotel. Easy walk down the Ferry Building for weekend fun ... similar walk to AT&T Park. Great stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donc880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here initially on a conference but extending into a holiday. Our room was wonderful - exactly what you expect from Four Seasons - and despite being a thoroughly modern hotel the fact you can actually open the windows, I love!

It is the little things which set a good hotel apart, and many of these here are provided by the unrelenting dedication to good service from the staff. An example - I popped my head out of the room to look for an ice machine and a member of staff was passing by - within moments he had a full bucket of ice at my door, plus a load of sliced limes for the drink I wanted. He had been in the middle of doing something else...

We accidently dropped a glass of red wine on the bathroom floor - after calling housekeeping it was less than a minute before someone appeared and cleaned the whole mess up so quickly and efficiently it was amazing - like it never happened, and as we were getting ready to go out and showering at the time - extremely welcome.

The hotel is spotless - our room was serviced so well it was a pleasure to return to each day. The staff who run the bar ( a very nice space by the way) are to be congratulated on the standard and speed of their service - even at very busy periods. We loved it in there, so much we didn't go out much after dinner despite the hotel being well positioned for many of San Francisco's attractions.

There is really good public transport right outside the hotel in all directions, and a cable car stop not far away which takes you right over the hill to the Wharf. The Embarcadero is visible at the end of the street and from there you can take off to Sausalito and other locations by ferry. I would encourage visitors to try the bus/trams/cable cars/ferrys to explore - they are really good value and a great way to get around with the locals.

I would recommend this hotel as a great luxury base to see the City from. When you return it is like an oasis of calm and quality in a bustling city which is a lovely contrast.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here last week and really benefitted from the central location on Market. Everything was close to get to. Fisherman's Wharf, Ferry Terminal, Union Square and Chinatown. I had room 701 which was an Executive Suite and very spacious and comfortable bed. Probably one of the most comfortable I have slept on!
The only thing letting it down were the gym facilities. I think if you want to "work out" it is fine but since it is associated with a Sports Club it is not a relaxing type pool/gym. I am not too disappointed as I knew that was how it is.
All in all a good stay with friendly and helpful staff, especially when trying to source Giants baseball tickets!

Room Tip: If you are looking for larger rooms. the rooms ending 01 are very good i.e. 701/801/901 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,284 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,167 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Property: Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Address: 757 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons San Francisco
San Francisco Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing