We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay in San Francisco”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #183 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The outside and local neighbourhood were very off-putting, however the hotel was pretty decent. Our room was small but had what we needed. The bathroom needed a bit of attention - the hot tap fell apart every time we used it -and it needed generally sprucing up a bit. The location was very good - convenient for trasport links and restaurants and close to the main shopping. The valet parking is to be recommended - you can still access the car at any time.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the upper half of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Angel58Bournemouth,

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Metropolis. We thank you for being a guest of ours and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments. We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future.

Regards,

Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel,very very helpful front desk and great location! We moved to the fifth floor because 2nd floor was noisy on market street sirens etc. but staff were so accommodating! It was perfect for long wknd good price just to explore the city!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dearr Melanie L,

Thank you for the high praise you have given our entire staff on their friendly service and our housekeeping team for keeping our property very clean! We look forward to having you again as a return guest and feel free to contact me directly for future reservations!

Warm Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is above a noisy bar that stays open til 2 am. High level of street noise til 3 am. Rooms have no sound insulation. You can hear every word said in next room, corridor or on street. I literally spent a sleepless night in this hotel. Neighborhood is filled with homeless people. Recommend for back packers and students only.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jimedwards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear jimedwards123,

We thank you for being a guest of our hotel and we extend our sincere apologies for the noise pollution you experienced during your stay. We want our guests to feel comfortable and welcome during their stay and we are disappointed this was not the case upon your most recent visit. We hope in the future you provide us with another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Regards,

Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is at an excellent location, less than two blocks away from Powell Station, which makes it very convenient if you're taking the BART from/to the Airport. It's also very close to restaurants, bars, shops, union square, and other major attractions are really accessible through the MUNI system.
The hotel rooms are spacious enough and clean, carpets might need some renovation though (they are not bad). The shower needs to get better as it takes forever for the water to drain and the water flow suddenly stops and comes.
At the end, I think this is a good value for your money.

Room Tip: Top floors get less noise (sirens of ambulances going through market st. can get really noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serchpodolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear serchpodolski,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are more than pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and letting us know what you enjoyed about our hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the shower drain that we promptly resolved.We hope to see you again for another visit to San Francisco.

Jaime Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed for two nights. Wanted to be near Union Square, but without the cost. My son and I shared a small room, but it was fine for us. No dresser, but a nice sized closet. No A/C, or at least there weren't any vents or units. A Holmes electric heater was in the closet if we needed it. Flat screen TV with basic resolution is not pretty. We weren't in the room much, so this hotel met our needs. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend that women stay here alone. Although only a block from Market Street, the immediate vicinity was did not appear to be safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vernperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear vernperry,

Thank you for providing us with a review of your experience and that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful! In regards to the area unfortunately downtown does have homeless people and we continue to work with local authorities and our security to keep our area clear and clean. We look forward to having you as a return guest.

Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

- Therefore homeless people roaming outside the hotel , sometimes shouting and what not...

- zero sound insulating windows in the room

- heater just for namesake, wasn;t working at all

- no proper entrance markings, i waited outside the hotel for around 10 minutes just to figure from where to get inn, one entrance was from parking lot while other had doors closed and looked more like a garage door then hotel entrance.

Very near to powell station from where the famous tram starts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amadeus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear amadeus52,

Thank you for your contribution to the Trip advisor community and for providing us with your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location to be a 3 minute walk to downtown San Francisco. Given our location sometimes noise can be a nuisance and we are currently looking at ways to reduce the impact it might have. We hope to have you again as our guest at the Hotel Metropolis!

Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Have stayed at Hotel Metropolis multiple times over the last three years. Very friendly staff. Raymond at the front desk always cheerful & helpful. Kudos to him. Boarders on a not so good neighborhood but it's getting better every year. Short walk to Powell Str. (trolley); Union Square (shopping); and the convention center. Several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Has a European "pension" look & feel. Rooms are small, with a very basic layout, but adequate. Just beware, there is the typical "big city street noise" from outside so ask for a back side room. If the room is a bit cold, ask for a space heater (they'll provide it & it works well) Attached restaurant is good, Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Luke1015,


Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hotel Metropolis and it's great to hear positive comments from repeat guests such as yourself. We take pride in providing each guest with superior service and we're very lucky to have Raymond as part of our front desk team. We have passed on your compliments to him and look forward to your return sometime soon.

Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
653 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
55 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £88 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing