We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back to this hotel, excellent service, location and staff.”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #96 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Quaint hotel, with an old fashion elegance. Close to Civic Centre, Museums, Opera, Ballet, but within in walking distance to "The Warf, Pier 39" (35 min walk). Great restaurants around the area. We booked the City Sightseeing Tour which had a stop 1 block away from the hotel - very convenient for us. Don't need a car in San Francisco, expensive to park. Hotel offers valet service and will park your car in a garage a few blocks away - cost is 28,00/night - we just left ours in the valet parking for the week. Walking was a great way to see all the different communities in SF and to walk off some of the great food we ate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol1farr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

We recently stayed at Inn at the Opera during our trip to San Francisco. We had reserved two rooms: a ballet for my father in-law and his wife, and an opera for us, family of 4 with teenagers. I called the hotel previously and to let them know we would be arriving late, and Javier was most kind. Upon entering, the hotel seems very small from the outside, but as soon as you enter you get this European feel of a turn of the century mansion. It is beautifuly decorated and also has a restaurant, but did not use it. Our room was great! We had a master bedroom with ensuite bathroom, a small dining table with 3 chairs, a kitchenette (microwave, fridge, coffe maker w/coffe, sink) and plenty of tableware for the whole family. It also had a sitting area with a sofa sleeper where my teenage daughters slept and another HUGE bathroom, which was very nice to have, so that we could all get ready in the morning faster.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and really get out of their way to make you feel welcome. They offered us fresh warm cookies and fresh apples whenever we wanted them. When we checked in, I requested extra towels, pillows, a fan and ice, and they were delivered in less than 10 minutes, and it was midnight! Great service. My in-laws were given a room a little small for their comfort, and next morning when we talked to Javier at the front desk, we were told they would change them to a larger one, and not to worry about the luggage (many!), that they would move it while we went on a tour all day long. They indeed did so and moved all my in-laws luggage to the new larger room and when we arrived that night, they were given new keys and everything was taken care of and they went straight to their new room and found all their belongings in order. My in-laws were very happy with the change. It was done in a smooth way and Javier always made us feel welcome and went out if his way to please our needs. Again, excelent service!
Included in the rate was a continental breakfast, which is served in the restaurant area and it includes juices, milk, cereals, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh fruit.
Some people complain the hotel is not in the middle of the city, but it is just one block from the beautiful City Hall, and the the hop-on hop-off tour bus has a stop right in front of the hotel, which saved us a ton of money on cabs since these buses run every 20 minutes sharp and go all around the city center.
Overall, we loved this hotel and would stay there again whenever we go back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muchachona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed as a member of Shell Vacation Club. The staff were all very attentive. The room we had - one queen bed - was small but the previous reviews suggest some sort of "mico-room" - there are much smaller rooms in SF and NYC that these.

The Inn is on a small side-street and double-parking for valet service is the norm. Breakfast was OK - exactly the same both days. Good quality.

A 15 minute walk (up hill) takes you to "Japantown" - a mall that has more Japanese restaurants than I thought existed in the whole city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLGElkGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed in the Ballet room....small, small, small. There was no room for our luggage. The walls were thin and the window might as well have been open for the amount of noise it stopped. The room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel but not this room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mplegere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We booked a week at IATO through RCI for our annual stay in San Fran. This is our first time at IATO & we have no complaints. The Inn at the Opera has a distinctively European feel to it which we very much enjoy.

We are in a suite on the 7th floor in a queen bedroom with a large plasma TV & full private white tile bathroom. There is a sitting room with French doors, a sofa bed & small plasma TV & a second private bathroom off the sitting room. The foyer doubles as a kitchenette with bar sink, very small micro., bar frig, plates, cups, glasses, cutlery for 4, wine, bottle/can openers, large knife, dish clothes and liquid & a coffee maker. Coffee packets are supplied each day as is maid service. There are 2 built-in closets, one in the bedroom, the other in the sitting room. The suite is set up to accommodate 4. It is spacious for 2. We are in an end unit which is very quiet except for the occassional siren.

The Continental breakfast is the same each day with the only variation in the flavor of the large muffins. There are 2 cereals - Cheerios and corn flakes - hard cooked eggs in their shells & not rubbery, sliced melons & bananas, cottage & cream cheeses, bagels, tomatoes, yogurt, coffee & o.j. Mid-afternoon there are warm cookies; and apples are always available.

We had Valentine's Day dinner in the hotel's French restaurant Ovations where breakfast is served. Dinner was excellent! We had duck breast and duck leg confit which was delicious and authentically prepared. A real surprise. The house Pinot was also very good.

As written by others, the IATO is in the heart of the performing arts venues. Our room overlooks the SF Ballet. The IATO is also convenient to public transport. We left our rental car at SFO, caught the AirTrain to SFO BART to the Civic Center, exit the BART on 8th St. It takes half an hour on the BART from SFO & costs $8.10 p.p. We will return to SFO the same way. The Civic Center BART is a few blocks from IATO. Care should be taken after dark around the Civic Center.

There are many reasonable restaurants near the IATO, as well as Absynthe, a French restaurant. As walkers, the location is not as convenient to tourist venues as other hotels but is quieter. Taking the Muni to Bernal Heights took half an hour but walking back only took 45 min. plus a stop for Turkish coffee at Philz; so for walkers, the location is fine.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, whether the desk staff or the cleaning personnel. The desk staff has a list of restaurants that will deliver to your room, although Ovations provides room service. Our room was refreshed daily with mid-week sheet change.

If there is anything negative, it might be the cost of parking at $25 a day & no on-site exercise facility. That said, we would highly recommend a stay at the IOTO for a night or a week & would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My daughter was married at City Hall and this was the hotel she recommended as the best for what we needed. We had an 90 year old, an 86 year old, a couple in their 30's with a 10 month old, plus various other guests. It worked perfectly for all of us. Valet parking, walk to City Hall, Amazing helpful staff who was never too busy to leave a message or give a member of our party a heads up. We had basic rooms and one junior suite to hang out in and it was perfect. Breakfast was perfect to send us on our way for the day. I will recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smusbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

I am glad to hear that your stay with us both enjoyable and convenient for your party. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

i have been staying at inn at the opera for 5 years. i fly up for the ballet. it could not be more ideally located. the staff at the Inn is extraordinary. yes, i said extraordinary. Jin
(Jennifer) Rowena, Javier in the front end are more than exceptional. they greet you like family and do everything possible to make your stay memorable.
the breakfast is more than ample. and the presentation is lovely.
when recommendations are suggested, Sean, the GM acts on them.
this is one of the most delightful boutique hotels i have visited. it is also a time share but hopefully they will continue to save rooms for non time share folk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoutesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanPierson, Assistant General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. We try and make every guest' stay as pleasant as possible, and I am glad that you enjoy staying here as much as we enjoy having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
744 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
2,633 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#122 of 230 in San Francisco
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#147 of 230 in San Francisco
349 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
127 reviews
Cova Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £124 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing