We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #104 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I really really liked this hotel. Room was delightful - comfortable and clean. Got a very good night's sleep in the room. Could open the window and hear the Opera next door. Great location. Nice staff. Good breakfast. If you need to be in the Civic Center, this is a great place to stay. Not a chain, but a one-off that is stellar. You can stay at the St. Francis or the Hopkins but you won't get a better room or a nicer stay for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanPierson, General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    240
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
395
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Inn at the Opera has become our favorite spot to stay while in San Francisco. Hayes St with its shopping and restaurants is just around the corner. Opera is across the street. Two blocks to city hall, where we buy our MUNI passes for bus and cable car.

Employees at Inn at the Opera usually go the extra mile to help. They're very good about helping with bus routes. Their restaurant suggestions have most often been right on.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Front desk staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about their hotel and the nearby environment and very prompt to respond to queries. The hotel was a little tired in a couple of areas but as a boutique hotel it was in character and had charm. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was one of the best hotel beds we have experienced. The only downside is it's location in relation to downtown and all it's attractions however it wasn't a terrible inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlloyd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were told we had received "an upgrade" so I would hate to see the room we were originally assigned. There were two very small rooms and a bathroom, and the set-up was rather awkward.
We received no housekeeping service until the fourth day we were there - we were in and out a alot so it wasn't a big deal, but it would have been nice to return to a cleaned up room. The continental breakfast was good - had great bagels and muffins.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestcatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanPierson, General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
I am sorry to hear that your overall stay with us wan not a good one, and wanted to apologize for the issues you encountered while staying at the Inn. as to the size fo the room (depending on which room you were upgraded to), you most likely went from a standard ballet studio room (average of 200 square feet) to a room that was larger (depending on which room, anywhere from 290-492 sq. feet).
I do thank you for your comments, and apologize again for the issues you encountered while staying with us.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

After a wonderful week in the sister property, Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, Hurricane Irene cancelled my return flight to NJ and the wonderful staff at SFW went out of their way to arrange a room at the Inn at the Opera at a discounted rate of $129 per night. I was clear that I was traveling with a friend, and we definitely needed two beds, or a bed with sleep sofa. Miguel, the manager at SFW, told me he'd spoken to the Inn management and they could provide a rollaway bed. I had been told we had a "Studio" room reserved, with mini-fridge,microwave, and coffeepot. So off we went, excited to be spending 2 days in a new part of town and in a property I'd not seen before.

When we arrived, the staff at Inn at the Opera stored our bags until the room was ready. They told me they did not have an available room with a sleep sofa, or with 2 double beds, but did have rollaway beds, and once again, I stressed to them that we definitely needed 2 beds. My friend and I went off to find lunch and adventure, and came back shortly after three PM to check into our room.

At the desk, I asked about the rollaway bed. The desk clerk told me that, sadly, they had given out the last one, but that the bed would be comfortable for both of us. When I asked why a rollaway wasn't held for us, as the reservation had been made on Thursday, 2 days before, he told us that no matter when it's reserved, it's on a first come, first served basis. After a hurried consultation at the desk, my friend and I went to look at the room, to see if we could survive the next 2 days comfortably.

What a shock when we walked into the room. The bellman who brought our luggage up could barely get all 4 suitcases in the room. The overall room size, including the bathroom, narrow entrance hall, and "kitchenette"(a microwave and coffeeepot on a shelf over a mini-frig, no counter or work space), was barely 160 s.f. There was a full-size bed (measured it...certainly wasn't a queen) and one small 24" round table jammed into a corner with a big lamp sitting on it and a chair in front of it. Other than that and the bed, no place to sit, no room to swing a cat! And even a mid-afternoon on a sunny day, with all the lights on, the room was distressingly dark. Even if I were traveling alone, I would not have stayed in that room. While I've traveled throughout Europe and understand the concept (and size and scale)of a European style hotel, that room was just...sad.

Twenty minutes later I had booted up my laptop, logged onto priceline, and found a four-star (The Omni Hotel, on California St in the Financial District) for $130 per night. I called downstairs for the bellman again, and when I checked out, I asked the front desk clerk where he was planning on putting the rollaway bed if one had been available, and he admitted that they knew there was no place in that room to put one. I think that was the most infuriating part of the whole situation for me. Not only had they misled and outright lied to me, but they also jeopardized the reputation of Miguel at SFW by allowing him to promise something they had never any intention of delivering.

Away we went. Twenty minutes later we were ensconced in a very beautiful and spacious room at the Omni with two queen size beds, a large desk, a table and easy chair, and plenty of light. Heaven, while we waited out Irene.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ_ThursdaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanPierson, General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
I do apologize for the issues that were experienced while trying to check in with us during your recent visit to San Francisco, and unfortunately we were not able to help as much as we could. It was an unfortunate experience for you, and I am using your feedback as a training tool for my staff in these types of situations. While our rooms here at the Inn are small (our building was built in 1926, and being in San Francisco, rooms in older building tend to be smaller than average), we do take pride in our service and cleanliness. It looks like we missed with you, and again, my apoligies for not being able to accommodate you and your request.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Lovely friendly staff - all extremely helpful. Well situated - right by City Hall so downtown is walkable but plenty of buses running regularly.

Hotel was very clean, everthing there you would need, however the room was quite small, which is fine if your stay is a short one but would get a bit much if your stay was for a week or so. They do however have suites, so I would recommend that.

Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed here for four nights in a suite. My kids were delighted by the two bathrooms and two TVs. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to all nut those with young children.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing