We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at the Opera
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$436
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$592
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$191
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$247
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$456
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$342
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
372
266
84
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
266
84
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallcivic centerhayes valleyhard boiled eggsasian art museumcontinental breakfasttime shareyogurtboutique hotelpublic transportationsitting roomsmall hotelthere is no air conditioningvan nessvalet parkingcoffee makersmall fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As it was our first trip to San Francisco, and the USA for that matter, we really wanted to stay somewhere that had a bit of history and was more of an iconic building. Inn at the Opera fitted the bill and lived up to all our expectations. From the front desk staff, to the hotel head engineer to the breakfast wait staff , everyone was welcoming and helpful. We had a 5 am start one morning and they made breakfast available for us with takeaway containers to take on the tourbus, and the bowl of apples and the afternoon cookies at reception are an added bonus. Location was brilliant, we used public transport every where and felt very safe walking to and from the hotel.
We had the smallest room at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. quaint elevator upt to the 3rd floor or easy stairs. Very comfortable , well decorated and quite big enough for two travelling Australians. Good hot shower with good water pressure. Only thing would have liked would be an electric kettle to make tea(we heated the water in the microwave) and there was a coffee maker. Had no trouble sleeping, some minimal noise from road cleaner one morning but not enough to keep one awake.
Breakfast each day was included, plenty to eat (even for one gluten intolerant) with fruit , yogurt , hard boiled eggs, cereal toast etc.. Did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment. But did eat at nearby Max's , which was a very good meal with great atmosphere and entertainment.
Would definitely stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McIntyres2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Inn at the Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback. We will share this information with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort accommodations and had satisfactory service from our staff. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I read some bad reviews about the place. Personally, we loved it. Even the woman on the plane said it was in a bad area. I preferred the area over downtown by the Hilton. We ended up switching hotels and going to the Hilton. Wayyyy too busy for me. Crowded and very....whatever. Anyway, the staff here are great. There's a guy...Dan I think his name is. Tall, thin college guy. Very personable, knowledgeable about the city, and a pleasure to speak with. I definitely recommend this place if you're going to be in the bay.

Thank Bayouboy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn at the Opera as part of the Shell Vacations rentals. There were 3 of us in a 1 bedroom, 1 bath (two in the bed and one on a chair that pulled out into a twin bed like a futon.) Yes, it was cozy, but it was comfortable, clean and well-equipped. If you are the traveler that likes to spend time in your hotel room you might find it a bit cramped, but we spent our time out enjoying the city and only returned in the evening so it was perfect for our needs.

The hotel is only 1 block away from a major bus line connecting you to many of the sites and 3 blocks from the streetcar line that takes you downtown and to the Ferry building. We also easily took the bus to many of the great restaurants in the Mission district. It is on the edge of two very different neighborhoods - a few blocks over in one direction it was a little sketchy, but on the other side the Hayes Valley neighborhood was extremely walkable and filled with cute shops, restaurants, and a great park for drinking coffee and relaxing.

Every staff member we encountered at Inn at the Opera was friendly and approachable. They were incredibly helpful, from giving us directions to recommending favorite restaurants. The restaurant on the bottom floor featured upscale Scandinavian cuisine. We did not try the food, but they had some delicious craft cocktails!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CANicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel based on the friendliness of the staff and location unless you want to be right in the middle of shopping or tourist attractions. It is a quieter spot in the city. The smallest room is really small. Be prepared for minimal room for luggage. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perryco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Arrived at the hotel after three pm and found on-the-street parking, but it was timed so valet parking is advisable. Check-in was completed with ease even though we had to wait for the room about fifteen minutes. The one bedroom deluxe was spacious and comfortable. The two bathrooms were spacious and appreciated for the two of us. The sitting area with a pullout queen bed had privacy doors, a closet area, and a tv. The room with the kitchenette was a nice gathering area. Would have preferred a king size bed in the bedroom, but the queen was of excellent quality and comfortable after a day of walking around the City. Great location and accessible to many interesting spots and local transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMas9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews