We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Service, Great Value for Money!”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #106 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Professional Service, Great Value for Money!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Cookies!! It might seem strange, but that’s what I would like to remember the most about the Inn at the Opera Hotel. Those special cookies at the reception really made for a great stay. Me and my partner found the croissants at the breakfast quite tasty and the dinner menu was more than what we expected. There was a bit of traffic noise in the night, but apart from that, this hotel is indeed a good choice if you want comfort within a reasonable price. Would be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin F, General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hello Madeline,
Thank you for your kind words! I’m really glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and your dinner in PLÄJ restaurant. And, no, it’s not strange at all that you enjoyed the cookies. It’s one of the things that guests compliment us on – so you’re in good company. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in the U.S.A. Thank you, again for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    246
    73
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
401
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel was such a nice place to stay. The hotel has kept its traditional character. From the original elevator to the decorations throughout the property it gave this feeling of class but at a reasonable price. The staff was great and the elegance of the continental breakfast included, made you think it was more than that. The neighborhood had some great shops near by as well as great food. Public transit was also steps away. Of course the best was that you could walk to your room after attending an opera or a classic symphony. Such class, I will definitely return. The only minor thing is that some of the furniture could be remodeled or replaced but not major.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the traditional character of the property and the continental breakfast offered. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The staff was great and the room was clean, albeit small. The location was great and we were able to walk most places. The front desk was very helpful in calling us a cab whenever we needed it or give directions. Because it's a boutique hotel in an older building, there was only one elevator. We never had issues with it being full, but one of the days we were there it was out of service so we had to use the stairs. This might be an issue for people who need assistance going up stairs. With that said, it was still one of the cheaper places in San Francisco, so a few inconveniences wasn't a big deal. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and will definitely stay there again if we come back to SF! Oh, and if you do stay there, order room service or visit the restaurant. The food was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acneball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. It’s so good to hear you enjoyed the room service and restaurant on site. We apologize that you experienced difficulties with the elevator. Please know this is not our Wyndham standards. We will ensure we check on the issue to eliminate any future occurrences and enhance the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterield, Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent the week in San Francisco to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is in an ideal location and a few blocks the the F Market tram and 1 block from the number 5 & 5L bus to ocean beach and transferry station. The hotel itself has very friendly staff from reception to serving breakfast. Our room was really nice with a little kitchen area. The bed was very comfy and and a great shower. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast which consists of fresh fruit, bagels, bread and cheese etc along with tea, coffee and juice. Again this was very good. There is also fresh apples each day and cookies each afternoon. There is also a complimentary San Francisco Chronicle each morning in reception. There is also a good few restaurants close to the hotel which I have left reviews to.
In summary a great little hotel and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Extremely courteous staff from valet and check-in. We were a little surprised at how tiny the room was based the website photos but it was fine for a one-night stay and opera proximity. The bed was comfortable. The little tvs are fine but not HD so you have to switch the view to 4:3 if you don't want to watch it all stretched weird. They have nice products in the bathroom like coconut lotion. Everything worked, the fixtures and bed was updated and feels fresh and clean. There wasn't any kind of view from our room, just the gym next door. The continental breakfast was very good. Lots of fresh melon and strawberries, quick breads like muffins and banana bread. They had hardboiled eggs, bagels - freshly brewed coffees and teas. I'd definitely recommend this place, especially if you're going to the opera or symphony.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms if you are planning to stay awhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtimeperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our first stop in the USA! Our room was quite small, had to open suitcases on the bed, but that's because we paid for a ballet suite - expected. Very clean room, and fantastic staff! They were so helpful in providing suggestions of how to get around, what bus to take, and which areas to avoid.
Breakfast was okay, wasn't much left the morning we ate though.
Location was perfect though, right near City Hall, within walking distance to Haight-Ashbury and the San Fran Hop-On Hop-Off bus stops right outside the hotel.
Also the staff happily held our bags all day as we had an evening flight.
Great experience, and great first impression of San Fran!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I had to book a last minute trip to SFO for a meeting. The Dreamforce convention was happening so getting a room was really hard. Fortunately for me I was able to get a room here. The staff is so very accommodating. I had arrived 3 hours before check in and they were able to get me into a room early. I really appreciated that!! Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The room had a great little kitchenette equipped with sink/fridge/microwave. Great continental breakfast - just a perfect little property. I would recommend The Inn at the Opera to all my friends visiting SFO in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostontravelgal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,583 reviews
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#141 of 229 in San Francisco
343 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
708 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
471 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing