We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
400
293
95
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
400
293
95
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city hall scandinavian restaurant sitting room van ness charming hotel homeless people ballet plaj block kitchenette timeshare bart valet uber lyft concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

High points :
Terrific value for the price! Perfect location if going to opera, symphony or Asian art museum. Boutique hotel with lovely paintings and art throughout. Upkeep is excellent and condition is superb.
Great resturant on lower level with complimentary continental breakfast that is well prepared and nicely served.
Warm cookies for guests in late afternoon.
Friendly staff through out.
Nice area with small sink, coffee maker. refrigerator hidden within wooden Cabernets. Lovely furniture, lamps, etc.
Bed and pillows good.

Low points;
Check in was after 4pm before rooms were ready. Second day room was not cleaned until after 3 when we returned from sightseeing and wanted to be in room. We requested fresh to wells so we would not be bothered.
Staff is attentive but valet parking is slow. Apparently the location. Is more than three blocks away so make sure to request car in plenty of time to avoid waiting.

Very small armoire for closet is not tall enough for dresses to hang without having to be folded up. Hangers are not removable to hang somewhere else in the room.

No air conditioner but hotel provides fan if requested.

Highly recommend. We plan to come back next trip.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Close to opera, symphonies near Van Ness and Market Streets with access to all SF by bus, street car or cable car and train. First stop is Walgreens to buy a $27 one week pass of SF Muni. Cost of parking a car is $210 for the week.

We took advantage of all the forms of public transportation in a city were that is best and easy to use. Using a phone Google map program push on the Bus app or Walking. It will give you all the bus, street car routes to were you tell it you want to go. We walked a block or two depending on where we wanted to go. Getting to Cal Trans Trains, #47 bus, with a stop at Trader Joes. Going to an AMC movie or the California Cable (Starbucks is right there) use the number 5 bus. Headed to Powel Street for Cable Car, Ferry Terminal or Fisherman's Warf try the Street Cars from all collected from all the cities which got rid of them.

Close by is a great coffee at Blue Bottle in the ally off Linden about 2 blocks away from the Inn, and Smitten ice cream (see review) made by using fresh ingredients and nitrogen.

The Inn has smaller rooms reminiscent of a former era, tastefully appointed. They serve a nice complimentary breakfast of cereals, yogurt, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cream cheese and tomatoes with a nice selection of muffins and coffee cake.

Room tip: Try for a room at the front facing Fulton Street.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

OLDER hotel in the SF Theater District. Stayed 7 Nights.
The Good - Friendly staff, Complimentary Contenental Breakfast, newspaper, Small Fridge and MicroWave and nice location.
The Bad - Small Room, Small Bed, Small elevator, Construction across the street, street noise, $25/night to valet your car OR park on the street and try to avoid ticketing / tow.
We chose to Rent a Dollar Car and used street parking. $1-$2/hr on Fulton and McAllister. $2-$3/hr on Gough and Franklin. BEWARE of Restrictions, Street Cleaning varies (M,W,F on one side then Tu, Th on the other from 2am to 6am). Street parking meters are generally FREE from 6pm - 9am. Most meters take credit cards now. We tipped the Valet Guy(s) for extra information / help and saved ourselves about $150.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrontRoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just spent Memorial Day weekend here. We had a 1-bedroom deluxe and loved it. Three rooms and 2 baths! European style hotel. Satisfactory breakfast. Excellent service. We walked 1 1/2 blocks to the symphony.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We picked this hotel based on the average rating on Trip Advisor and the like, I think we pretty much got it right. Firstly it's reasonably well located, you might prefer to be further down Market St or nearer Fisherman's Wharf, in which case you should book elsewhere, but as keen walkers we were happy to walk everywhere. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area on Market St, about 45 minutes to the wharf, 45 minutes to AT&T Park and the same to Golden Gate Park in the other direction.

The rooms are comfortable, clean, a little small but that's what we expected for the price and given that space is at a premium in San Fran. Handy to have the kitchenette with a microwave and fridge (turn it up to 6 as soon as you arrive). Wi-Fi is a bit hit and miss, works well on a laptop with a stronger connection than on a smartphone, but my iPhone picked it up in the lobby and restaurant much better that in my room.

Breakfast is very nice, plenty on offer, tea, coffee, juice etc to drink, porridge, bagels, toast, cakes, muffins etc to eat. No cold meats or cheeses, be aware of the varying definitions of a continental breakfast, very different to what German guests would be accustomed to for example. I'd say it's probably a $10 value per head, so if you take that off the cost of the hotel room it will give you a better cost for comparison.

Having read some other reviews here I guess we got lucky with our experiences of the staff, they were pleasant, efficient, we didn't ask a lot of them though to be honest. The chap on the desk at 5am when we checked out was perfectly nice too! Plus they offer you free cookies in the afternoon.

Tip: I wouldn't bother with the restaurant of an evening, San Fran is home to some very fine restaurants and some great cheap eats too, if you're going to spend $60 a head you might as well find a Michelin starred restaurant serving the kind of food you like.

Room tip: If you get the ballet studio you'll be on the inside of the building with no view to speak of, but that might guarantee you a quieter night than being at the front on the main road.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MattyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews