We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay!!”
Review of Inn at the Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Inn at the Opera
Ranked #105 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A nice stay!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Inn at the Opera. While it is true that the Inn is showing her age a little, she is still very nice and the staff were excellent.

Pros:
-Wonderful staff. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly and appeared to enjoy their job. Cherry and Daniel at the front desk and Betty from housekeeping stand out, but truly everyone was nice. When we were checking out they asked if there was anything they could have done to make our trip better, which says a lot about their dedication to service.
-The room was clean. I've been at large, name brand hotels that were not as good.
- Our room (73 a smaller one bedroom) was very quiet. I have read trip advisor complaints, but in our case at least, we were impressed. We heard the occasional siren, but not much else.
-Nice touches. The continental breakfast, cookies in the afternoon and apples in the lobby were all appreciated.
- Location. It is just a couple blocks from the restaurants and shops of Hayes Valley. We had a great meal at Absinthe and enjoyed strolling up to Patricia's green.

Cons:
- Location - yes, locations is a pro and a con. While we didn't have any problems, it is obvious that if you go the wrong direction, you might end up in a not so nice neighborhood. We found ways around these, but feel it is important to mention. The Inn is also a ways from the tourist sites of Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown, which means extra travel time.
- The single elevator. We generally used the elevator going up and walked down the 7 flights, but can see how this could be an issue for someone with limited mobility.
- As mentioned above, the Inn is showing its age a bit. There are dings in the walls and a couple of places that could use a new coat of paint. It is certainly not a sanitized mega hotel, but that is also part of its charm.

Overall, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Inn at the Opera. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and it had a quaint charm. While not the Ritz Carlton, we'd definitely consider it again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are probably quieter. Ours certainly was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
On behalf of the staff here at The Inn at the Opera we would like to thank you for staying with us. While we are always working around the clock to make our property better, we appreciate the kind words you offered in regards to our staff as well as the unit you occupied. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    243
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
399
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The neighborhood is so-so. No restaurants on the same block, but many a few blocks away in Hayes Valley. The breakfast includes toast/bagels/muffins/croissants + butter/jam/cream cheese + fresh fruit + yogurt + hardboiled eggs + juice, milk & coffee. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (Scandinavian themed food), but I did stop in for happy hour when the bartender insisted that Aqvavit was a type of vodka. It's not. It's a Swedish liqueur. The front desk staff are nice & young & don't really seem to know what's in the area in terms of restaurants or grocery stores & tried to send me way off to a Safeway instead of to one of the 2-3 smaller neighborhood stores which were much closer. The TripAdvisor app was much more helpful than the staff were, unfortunately. The room was small with a sitting room w/ 2 single foldout chair-beds & the fridge, dining table w/ 2 chairs & microwave. The bedroom was not very private due to the flimsy door separating it from the sitting area. While the room could sleep 4, you'd all be tripping over yourselves & your luggage as there is only one small closet area & 4 drawers. The bathroom was nice enough & clean. There is no AC & the window only opens about 8" so if it is hot outside, the room could be rather uncomfortable. I wrote a note to please not change out the sheets & towels every day, as I was the only person staying in the room & somehow that was interpreted as "please only make the bed & don't vacuum." When I tried to leave tips for the housekeeper in obvious places, the tips were never taken, for a week.

Room Tip: This is a smaller hotel & many rooms face the buildings next door. Request a higher floor with...
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't have any specific cards for guests to request no excessive towel/linen changes & when I wrote a note requesting that, that seemed to work, but no vacuuming was done...
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
On behalf of the staff we appreciate the kind words you have offered about our continental breakfast. We are always looking to improve the guests experience here at the hotel, and appreciate the constructive criticism in regards to our Concerto Suites, which is the type of room you stayed at here at The Inn. If you have any other notes on what we can improve on, please give us a call!

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our first stop on a 3 week round-california trip. We arrived late, but the staff couldn't be more helpful. Although close to the 'must avoid' district of Tenderloin, its easy circumnavigate the area. All in all a great place to stay if you are visiting the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin F, General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
We’re very glad that we were able to be a part of your California trip! And thank you for your nice comments - we’re really happy to be able to be a part of a great experience. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you’re over from the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just got back from staying three nights at Inn at the Opera. It is a very quaint hotel. The location was great for us. There is no air conditioning in rooms. It was very hot and stuffy in the rooms. We did open windows but that was a problem early in morning due to construction on street below us. I did read there was light housekeeping. I was unsure what that was. I called down for clean towels after our second night. I was informed you get clean towels after the third night. Lucky we hung towels up. Rooms were very small. Breakfast brunch was great to have every morning. One morning I brought breakfast up to room. When we got back later, our dirty dishes were still in the room. The bed was made so we knew they came into our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small and no air conditioning. On a very hot night it could be miserable since t...
See more room tips
Green Features: A clean towel would have been nice. We did lots of walking and it would have been nice to be able to shower without worrying about using a wet towel.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our continental breakfast and the location of the hotel! I'm sorry to hear about the situation regarding towels, as you seem to have been told one thing, but another thing happened. What I can say about that is that our hotel is encouraging guests to reuse their towels (because of the severe drought that California is in) and that is the only reason I can think of as to why your towels weren't replaced. However this is in no way an excuse for the disconnect between guaranteeing one thing, and receiving completely different service. I also would like to apologize for the noisy construction across the street, and we all hope that that finishes soon.

Again thank you for providing us with a review and we hope you think of us again on your next visit to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, Calif.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked the largest room here in June for a stay with our teenage daughter (3 persons) and like the other reviews, this room is a great value for a group since it is really a small apt. Very roomy and enough privacy for a family or 2 couples as there are 2 bathrooms, a huge plus with a teenage girl :)
The front desk staff consisted of 2 young men and they could not have been friendlier, they even offered cookies in the evenings as we passed through the lobby. A breakfast buffet is included in the price the service there is also great- on one morning we arrived too late for the breakfast as they were cleaning up but the waiter there insisted on packing us to go plates of fresh fruit, muffins and coffee that we were able to to take back to our room- very nice.
We have since stayed at other SF hotels and for the price this is a great hotel, and we will be planing all our future stays at the Inn at the Opera!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socalsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin F, General Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about the Inn and our Associates. We’re very happy that you were comfortable during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast … and the cookies, too, of course (I love 'em). Our Associates regularly read TripAdvisor, and I'm sure they've read your review, so I will thank you on their behalf. I’m privileged to work with such dedicated and caring people – they truly do care about our Guests and Owners. We hope that you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for four nights, quaint boutique hotel near Civic Centre. Standard rooms were very small and no views. Not that you always need one, but not pretty to wake up looking at a fire escape and really can't see the sky. The staff was amazing, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. That would be the only reason I would return. Good continental breakfast, fresh fruit and good coffee. The hotel is on the edge of a "not so nice" area and not a lot of restaurants around there. But easy access to public transport. Hint: take Van Ness avenue to catch the muni subway and trolley, much more comfortable than going through Civic Centre. Jardiniere restaurant is amazing around the corner for a special dinner. Also, couldn't sleep with the windows open, lots of street noise and sirens.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room, standard rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalindlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We pride ourselves in our staff and service because we know that we do not have the best views in the city. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Jardiniere around the corner from us, and wished you would have ventured just one block further south, as you would have encountered a plethora of restaurants in Hayes Valley!

We hope you think of us next time you come to San Francisco, and if you have any further questions or comments please feel free to give us a call!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Inn the first weekend in August 2014. The room worked out great for the 4 of us. 2 slept on the pull-out couch which was very comfortable. 2 bathrooms and a small kitchenette with microwave, sink and refrigerator were perfect for our vacationing group.
No air conditioning - not a problem. It was in the high 60's for daytime temps. Very pleasant in the room.
The Inn's location was ideal. We were close enough to easily catch a city bus or walk to Market street but far enough away to be out of the congestion. The nearby construction was only active during the day while we were away from the hotel so it didn't impact our stay at all.
We walked to a different restaurant for dinner each evening - no issues with security or feeling safe.
The continental breakfast was sufficient and the warm cookies around 4:00 each day were a nice treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Opera, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our property! Sounds like you enjoyed your time while in San Francisco. We hope you think of us again should you decide to return to San Francisco.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#44 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#140 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Opera

Property: Inn at the Opera
Address: 333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at the Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Opera is located in the Civic Center area of San Francisco and features a prime location with a European-style, bed and breakfast ambiance where performing arts lovers and artists converge. Located just steps away from many venues including the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center and the SF Jazz Center, the Inn at the Opera is your gateway to all the finest cultural activities that San Francisco has to offer. Relax in elegantly appointed rooms that are tastefully decorated with antique European furnishings and includes high speed Internet access. Enjoy our daily continental breakfast, served 7:00am - 10:00am, and includes fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereals, juices and coffee. For your convenience, limited valet parking is available (based on availability), at a cost of $31.92 (includes tax), per 24 hour period, and is available from 7:00am - 11:00pm with in and out privileges during those hours. For an unforgettable dining experience or pre/post show drinks, located inside the hotel is Pläj Restaurant (pronounced Play). Recognized as one of San Francisco's best, Pläj is a celebration of local and seasonal ingredients, inspired by the rustic flavors and simple elegance of Scandinavian cuisine. Reservations are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Opera Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At The Opera
At The Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing