We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming reminder of a by-gone era . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming reminder of a by-gone era . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is our third stay with MMC and we keep coming back. Love the free cooked breakfast and hosted happy hour with piano music. Very lovely all the way around! The drinks are good and free (unbelievable really). Saw the new puppy Bubba, what a cutie! The room is nice and always very clean but somewhat dated. Unfortunately they gave us a corner room, which normally would be a good thing but the road and outside noise even with the windows closed was too loud to allow any sleep for myself. The second problem is the terribly outdated Internet server. We were unable to connect in our room and certainly not in the lounge/restaurant area. It is very well located - close to china town, the trolley line and lots of shopping! We would stay again but not in a corner room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the Main Street and avoid corner room - too much noise or bring your IP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    230
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
161
256
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

the marines memorial hotel is in a great location-close to all major attractions. \
Great LOcation, Great breakfasts, great memoriablia. We were given a room with a connection door and that was the end of any privacy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashok1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the three nights we were in San Francisco. We chose it because of all the great reviews we had read online. This was our first trip to the city by the bay, so we did not really know anything about the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is old, but completely modern - the room was small, but clean and comfortable. Daily maid service. Two big pluses are the free breakfast - regular breakfast food well prepared - AND free happy hour - a two hour long happy hour; please don't forget to tip your servers. Unfortunately for us, the restaurant in the hotel was closed for renovations while we were there so we don't have an opinion on it, but some of the other guests that had been there before were very disappointed that the restaurant was closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors. We stayed on the 9th floor and it was great! We did not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimpyknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in town. The hotel was converted in 1946 into a hotel from a women's club so that gives you some idea of its age. The bath was tiny but adequate. The A/C was noisy but worked fine. The Krupp's coffee maker makes coffee. As mentioned before the free breakfast and happy hour make this a bargain. If you are military and stay for 3 days or more I recommend joining the club. The annual fee is $150 but will save you on this stay and gives you access to other military clubs world-wide. We will hopefully use its in London.

Room Tip: Upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friend who was retired Air Force colonel. Got great rates for nice room, full breakfast, and free happy hour nightly. Staff was extremely helpful. The best thing was that the restaurant was just a short walk from Union Square where we caught the recommended tour bus!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancer048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

As shared by lots of previous reviewers, this is a wonderful place to stay in San Francisco. Conveniently located, great breakfast and happy hour, great staff and free Internet.. What else could you want? The Internet in the room was slow but very fast in the lobby.. Oh well, can't complain with it being free. Breakfast and happy hour were (as always) great. If you qualify for membership here you should definitely join..

The only caveat is we had a corner room with a great view but two windows on two sides of the room.. Really noisy.. Other than that.. Great stay. Thanks again..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was my third stay at the hotel and as usual it was very satisfactory. In addition to new bedding and hi def TV they have added a K cup coffee maker. Since it was a confluence of Giants,49ers and America's Cup weekend, the hotel was packed. However, this did not seem to effect happy hour or breakfast.

Caveat. If you want a table with a good view for cocktail hour, go early. The same for breakfast, 9 o'clock is the rush hour.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank H1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing