We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accomodations”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Room was great. Well lit - no noise - comfy bed and bedding. Stayed one night for a San Francisco wedding. Downside - parking is a few doors down so be prepared to walk the few steps. Upside - the front desk will provide you with a voucher so it is free. Breakfast is included and is good. Hot foods, eggs, potatoes, sausage, biscuits with gravy, French toast, oatmeal along with standard cold foods, muffins, yogurts, juice etc. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickeeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    235
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
168
261
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, and the location is excellent. The best part was the complimentary happy hour. The bathroom was alright, nothing special. One BIG con is that the dual beds are only full size. So be prepared to be up close and personal with your bed buddy. TV was new, and the service was helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gamerfan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

If your into American war history this is an awesome place to stay. Bit old fashioned decor but fitting for the feel of the hotel. Awesome free breakfast included for all guests on the 12th floor with good views. Great location and close to cable car stop & Union Square. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I traveled in a group of 8 friends including myself. We love how the hotel doubles up as a museum that allows us to learn more about the military and Marines. A surprise find that fits perfectly our budget and comfort level. Rooms were good, we love the breakfast spread which gives us a good start for the day. Hotel is nearby to cable car stops and Union Square. It is easy to get around San Francisco. Even though our rooms were facing the roads, we had no issues with any noise.We had two rooms which were on the same floor but slightly apart from each other, we hope to get connecting or at least side by side rooms in the future. We did not make use of the happy hour as we were out during the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99blueroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, wa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We those this hotel, because it had nice reviews, because it was close to downtown and because they have breakfast included. Well beside that We found out that the Club Hotel has also a very nice atmosphere. The rooms are a little bit small, but it is all there and that little bit extra that you don't see in other hotels. The Breakfast is very good and it is wonderful to have a beautiful view of the city on the 12th floor. The only little downside is the slow supply of hot water. You just have to be careful, when standing under the shower. It takes for ever and when you think it is comfortable, it becomes even warmer. But that is all. People are nice and we would chose it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We those this hotel, because it had nice reviews, because it was close to downtown and because they have breakfast included. Well beside that We found out that the Club Hotel has also a very nice atmosphere. The rooms are a little bit small, but it is all there and that little bit extra that you don't see in other hotels. The Breakfast is very good and it is wonderful to have a beautiful view of the city on the 12th floor. The only little downside is the slow supply of hot water. You just have to be careful, when standing under the shower. It takes for ever and when you think it is comfortable, it becomes even warmer. But that is all. People are nice and we would chose it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Clinton OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here overnight on a last minute weekend trip to San Francisco. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby is filled with historic information about the marines - very interesting. Our rooms were very comfortable. Sunday morning we had the buffet breakfast that was included in our room price. Excellent breakfast and the waiters were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Born_in_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing