We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Marine's Memorial Club is a hotel located at Sutter St near the corner of Mason, two blocks away from Union Square in San Francisco. Aside from its great location, the staff was great and the rooms with amenities were equivalent to 4-star level. Room prices are hard to beat and parking was so convenient. I will definitely come back to this place. BTW, it comes with free buffet breakfast and free, unlimited cocktails of any kind daily from 4-6pm.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less city noise. Members of the Manila Polo Club get member's discounted rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocBench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visiting San Francisco in May for a few days and stayed at the Marines Memorial Club. Centrally located near Union Park and Nob Hill. The rooms are quiet, nice and restful. Breakfast on the top floor with a great view. Huge, delicious buffett.
Happy hour from 4 to 6 was the highlight. Drinks and meeting guests with similar backgrounds.
A highlight of all our travels.

Room Tip: Ninth floor was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineTerraceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stay as often as we can. Hotel is accessible to almost all of San Francisco. We park our car and walk the city from this hotel. Whether you want to shop, sightsee or eat, this is the place to stay. Staff is excellent and personable. View from the roof top restaurant is great place to watch the sun set; Food is good, prices very reasonable at roof top restaurant. You can stay elsewhere and pay a lot more. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Hotel will be undergoing renovation, most of the windows need sound proofing, but it is the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodCritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. Rooms were clean, free breakfast, free happy hour, great service n super friendly staff. Stayed there for 2 nights memorial day weeke d. It was a bit loud outside but nothing major. Prices are reasonable being its San Francisco.. Chinatown was walking distance.. We will return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MrsV_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to visit. A beautiful hotel with much history and documentation. Museum is filled to the teeth and pride is everywhere. It is a little safe haven for the conservative Marine Corps Community in and extremely liberal San Francisco community. Outstanding personnel and great staff. The dining area and bar are located in the top floor with a million dollar view.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHitchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed for five night while on a business trip. It's a special place. I'm not affiliated at all with the Marines and don't know much about them. It was interesting and educational to see all the displays and learn about the history. It's all very well done. Everyone on the staff is EXTREMELY friendly and sweet. I felt at home. The room was a good size and so was the bathroom. There's free washer and drier (I believe on a couple of floors, there was one on my floor close to my room), which is so convenient. They even give you the laundry detergent for free! The free breakfast buffet was sufficiently stocked, something for everyone's taste and a little bit different each day. The view from the dining room is amazing. The location is fine, in my opinion a short walk to Moscone (I'm a walker, it might be a bit far for someone who doesn't walk as much as I do), it's very close to Union Square. I wholeheartedly recommend The Marines Memorial Club Hotel to anyone and I hope I can stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bettina131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a real find in San Francisco. The food at the Leatherneck restaurant is outstanding. The rooms are great and the staff is outstanding. I can't say enough about this hotel. Their only requirement is that you have to be present or former military. Not just Marine Corps, they are open to all branches of the military.

Room Tip: This place is within walking distance to shopping and great restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesF920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £193 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing