We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Marines Memorial hotel offers a rich histroy of the Marine Corp. The rooms are very pleaseant and the staffs are always very accomodating. They are located in the heart of the business district, right next to china town, and all the shopping locations. They are also extemely accomodating with pets.

If you every have an opportunity to stay at San Francisco, its definately worth the investment in a memebership for their stays. The Marines Memorial is my go to place to stay everytime when I visit San Francisco.

During they day, they also have 3 bull dogs hanging around the hotel. They are extremely adorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtbublz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    230
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
161
257
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

If you ever have the opportunity to stay at the MMCH, do it. Whether a last minute business trip or long awaited family vacation, you won't be disappointed. This is NOT the Hyatt or the Hilton, but this place has real personality and charm. The combination hotel, museum is very cool, whether or not you have any affiliation with the Corps or Military you will appreciate the decor which depicts the proud history of the US Marine Corps! If this is not your cup of tea, go to the Hyatt or Hilton. Personally, my favorite place to call home away from home while in SF being a Navy Veteran. In my experience, staff alway respectful and not over the top, rooms always clean and food alway great. Location is perfect for the sightseer. 5 stars in my book!! Oooorah!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank docheffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Marines Memorial Club immensely! The location was great to walk everywhere! We took the Bart train from the airport and the walk to the hotel was quick and direct (maybe 5-8 minutes). And this location was perfect for walking all over the city. Our room was lovely, and the amenities were perfect - robes, filtered water on the floor (or purchase bottled water in your room for a very reasonable price - like $1.50 a bottle or something), lovely soaps and other items, great linens, personal Keurig in your room - really wonderful room. Then, of course the happy hour - seriously puts this hotel above the rest - during the happy hour you can have any non frozen well drink, beer on tap, or house wine for free. As many as you want, and great wait staff! And by the way, the restaurant is on the top floor with fantastic city views! Then the breakfast - delicious hot breakfast with everything - eggs, potatoes, pancakes, bacon, biscuits, waffles, etc (and fruit, yogurt, cereal, croissants, etc). It was wonderful. We also took advantage of the gym that is next door- also included - it was small (it is SF) but nicely equipped with great cardio machines and weights - it had lap pool but we did not use the pool.
We would stay here again in a second. WE LOVED IT, I would give it 10 stars! It is so nice to have all of these great extras at no additional charge, it really made you feel good about staying here (I hate the nickle and dime "resort fee","internet fee", etc some places charge and loved that this had so many great inclusions with your room charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clayandcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Marine's Memorial Club is a hotel located at Sutter St near the corner of Mason, two blocks away from Union Square in San Francisco. Aside from its great location, the staff was great and the rooms with amenities were equivalent to 4-star level. Room prices are hard to beat and parking was so convenient. I will definitely come back to this place. BTW, it comes with free buffet breakfast and free, unlimited cocktails of any kind daily from 4-6pm.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less city noise. Members of the Manila Polo Club get member's discounted rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocBench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visiting San Francisco in May for a few days and stayed at the Marines Memorial Club. Centrally located near Union Park and Nob Hill. The rooms are quiet, nice and restful. Breakfast on the top floor with a great view. Huge, delicious buffett.
Happy hour from 4 to 6 was the highlight. Drinks and meeting guests with similar backgrounds.
A highlight of all our travels.

Room Tip: Ninth floor was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PineTerraceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
315 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stay as often as we can. Hotel is accessible to almost all of San Francisco. We park our car and walk the city from this hotel. Whether you want to shop, sightsee or eat, this is the place to stay. Staff is excellent and personable. View from the roof top restaurant is great place to watch the sun set; Food is good, prices very reasonable at roof top restaurant. You can stay elsewhere and pay a lot more. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Hotel will be undergoing renovation, most of the windows need sound proofing, but it is the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodCritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. Rooms were clean, free breakfast, free happy hour, great service n super friendly staff. Stayed there for 2 nights memorial day weeke d. It was a bit loud outside but nothing major. Prices are reasonable being its San Francisco.. Chinatown was walking distance.. We will return

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsV_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing