We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True to Motto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True to Motto”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great service and centrally located. The decor and theater remind visitors of those who served their country. Clean (as you would expect), and service to meet the most demanding standard. Happy hour on the 12th floor overlooking part of the Bay and the City skyline. Great place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast has something for everyone. Easy walking distance (although walking San Francisco hills is no easy chore) to Union Square. Definitely return

Room Tip: Can't speak for all of the rooms but any room is well appointed. Just know that at 4 AM, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanpc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    238
    44
    8
    7
See reviews for
169
264
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We will definitely plan on staying here again. It was such good value for our money, at a very good downtown location. The only problem, is it is a little hard to find. We were armed with the address and drove right by, as it was evening. However, if we had looked a little harder, we would have seen a sign on the sidewalk advising us to park in the garage, half block away. The bellman/concierge greeted us so warmly upon our arrival and gave us recommendations for dinner. The property décor is a tribute to our Marines. It is wonderful. The breakfast is included in the price on the room. It is a huge buffet, with friendly waiters and staff. This is on the 12th floor overlooking downtown. Rooms are quiet and nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are members so the club and find it well worth the small fee. The heritage of the hotel is worth supporting. Pet friendly but it's about a three block walk to exercise your pets. They have limited handicapped rooms so make reservations well in advance. There is a happy hour in the bar that has a great view of downtown San Francisco. The restaurant is excellent but again, you'll want to make reservations. A fitness center is included.

Room Tip: If you don't need a roll-in showere ask for the corner handicapped room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was beautiful, comfortable and the prices were great. Try not to bring a large vehicle because the parking garage charges double per night so instead of $34 we had to pay $68 for our Tundra. The breakfast was free and a delicious buffet. The staff was very friendly. I HIGHLY recommend staying here. Book early because the weekends fill up.

Room Tip: The rooms we were in were very comfortable and the second room had a great view. The dining area ha...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TammyL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed here many times for 1-2 nights with our family. Marine memorabilia throughout is interesting and a true military feel. Be sure to ask for inside room, you won't get a view of the city but it will be quieter. Buffet breakfast included has a lot of selection and adds to value of the stay. Easy walk to union square, close to trolley stops.

Room Tip: Inside rooms away from street a lot more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Marines Memorial hotel offers a rich histroy of the Marine Corp. The rooms are very pleaseant and the staffs are always very accomodating. They are located in the heart of the business district, right next to china town, and all the shopping locations. They are also extemely accomodating with pets.

If you every have an opportunity to stay at San Francisco, its definately worth the investment in a memebership for their stays. The Marines Memorial is my go to place to stay everytime when I visit San Francisco.

During they day, they also have 3 bull dogs hanging around the hotel. They are extremely adorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtbublz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

If you ever have the opportunity to stay at the MMCH, do it. Whether a last minute business trip or long awaited family vacation, you won't be disappointed. This is NOT the Hyatt or the Hilton, but this place has real personality and charm. The combination hotel, museum is very cool, whether or not you have any affiliation with the Corps or Military you will appreciate the decor which depicts the proud history of the US Marine Corps! If this is not your cup of tea, go to the Hyatt or Hilton. Personally, my favorite place to call home away from home while in SF being a Navy Veteran. In my experience, staff alway respectful and not over the top, rooms always clean and food alway great. Location is perfect for the sightseer. 5 stars in my book!! Oooorah!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank docheffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,019 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing