We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little brekky spot”

Barbary Coast Pastry & Coffee
Ranked #40 of 124 Coffee & Tea in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little brekky spot”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Instead of paying a fortune for breakfast at one of the Union Square hotels, grab a sandwich or pastry at this little gem - no frills, so don't go expecting much !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Sandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Coffee n Donuts!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Went here everydsy for coffee n great old fashion dunuts! They had kona coffee which was awesome n my partner had reg columbian both were good.

We r coffee drinkers from New York n tried 2 coffee cafes in Sf. Area n both were horribly strong. I did have starbucks 1x latte it ws ok.

This place is clean good variety of pastrys n donuts. Staff is very nice.

Recommend to stop there if in the Union Sq District!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smooches52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,642 reviews
1,767 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12,110 helpful votes
“Eight different brewed coffee choices, good price for take-away coffee”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We made a quick stop here during our recent trip to San Francisco, just purchasing a take-away coffee to continue on our day of walking around this part of the city. Brewed coffee here isn't bad, didn't try the food.

Barbary is a local coffee shop, specializing in American style brewed coffee, of which there are eight varieties to choose from, self-service style. I tried the hazelnut that wasn't bad (rating 3 of 5).

Seating area inside looked fine, nothing fancy. Similarly the snack and food options looked the same, everything seemed noticeably cheaper than what you'd find at a Starbucks or one of the hand-craft coffee shops like Blue Bottle Coffee Shop so you've an idea of where Barbary sits on the cost/quality offer curve. Overall, not bad, would potentially stop there again for a quick take-away coffee

You can find Barbary Coast Pastry and Coffee shop on the street corner, underneath the Parc 55 hotel across from the Powell Street BART station on Market Street, also quite near to Union Square.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I stop here every time I'm in San Francisco”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Found this little cafe when I was staying at the Powell Hotel once and make it a point to stop for breakfast no matter where I'm staying at. They have a lot of breakfast options and don't charge you an arm and leg for it. Last time in town I had the egg, tomato and avocado sandwich on a plain bagel for three days in a row!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlemonster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot near Union Square hotels”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Great alternative to Starbucks if you are staying at Parc55, Hotel Nikko or Hilton! Delicious pastry case, bagels with all the fixings, egg sandwiches and 8 different kinds of brewed cafe. Coffee is self-serve so if you are like and like mix flavors - or mix decaf and regular, you can do whatever you want. Stools and counters along the windows facilitate people-watching on Cyril Magnin, busy here with people exiting from Muni and BART.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbary Coast Pastry & Coffee also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Barbary Coast Pastry & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing