We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the rough”
Review of Annie's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie's Cottage
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our first trip to CA and the first two nights we stayed at Annie's Cottage. Husband & I were greeted by Gilly since Annie was out of town, she meet us outside on the street right before you walk in to the secret garden then to our getaway. Gilly was very very pleasant with a great smile, gave us great tips on the neighborhood, places to go in the area. We loved the location of the cottage, we walked every where, Fisherman Wharf, Lombard Street, down the street for all kinds of restaurants for dinner, coffee shops down the street for our morning cup of java. The cottage was clean comfortable, comfy bed with private deck to use if we wanted to, it was cold in early June so we didn't sit outside. We are planning to go back in 2014 and will definitely be calling Annie first for availability, thank you Annie and Gilly for making our vacation one to remember!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Millana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

My father and I stayed in Annies cottage two nights last week. Annie was out of town, yet still got back to us in a very timely manner. Her cottage is adorable and priced well compared to other accommodations in San Francisco. The location was fantastic. We would most definitely stay here again. Thank you Annie and Gilly!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hayybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

When we got to Annie's Cottage it was late, so we didn't have the opportunity to really see it lit up in all it's glory. In the morning we woke up to see an amazing view on the back porch. Annie's garden was just as it looked in pictures and our room was nicely decorated and cozy.

We totally got sense of privacy, even though the room we were in was attached to the main house. The way the entrances were configured, the inn keeper entered the garden and went to the left and up, while we went to the right and down.

Annie and her boyfriend were very accommodating and recommended a ton of places to visit. They also told us how to get away torn efficiently and cheap.

Probably the best part about this place was its location. We were either walking distance from everything we wanted or we could just hope on the Hyde / Powell street trolley. The stop for the trolley was only about 300 ft from the inn.

I would recommend this place to anyone thinking about staying in the San Francisco area for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This sweet little studio garden apartment is only half a block from the Hyde Street cable car and a short walk from Ghiradelli Square or Fisherman's Wharf. But it's on another planet, of calm and serenity. It's not luxurious, but it's a great value in a charming location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank CarlChristoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

For me Annie's cottage is much nicer than staying at a hotel. I liked it a lot more than the Argonaut (a very nice hotel in its own right) which was were I stayed the last time I was in SF. Annie's Cottage and the part of the Russian Hill neighborhood that it is in are very inviting, much less touristy than Fisherman's Wharf and probably more of a taste of what it is like to live in a residential area of San Francisco. There are still plenty of small restaurants, coffee shops, markets and The Russian Hill Bookstore, which is very good, second only maybe to City Lights especially if you enjoy hunting for used books like I do. Even if you want to go anywhere else in the city Annie's Cottage is still a great choice because it is less then a block away from Hyde Street where you can hop the cable car to Market Street or to Beach St. on the Wharf. It is also very close to several other trolley / muni / bus stops on Van Ness, Pacific Ave., etc.. Muni passes are conveniently available at the local Ace Hardware store on Polk St. This useful tip was given to me by Annie herself who is a very pleasant, helpful person whom we had the pleasure to meet if only on brief occasions. The cottage itself is impeccably clean and comfortable, very much a home away from home. The cottage is actually even nicer than the photos on the website would suggest. The microwave oven and coffee maker are all the kitchen appliances you really want to bother with, after all if you're on vacation in San Francisco you have probably some of the best food you could possibly want within a short walk or muni ride away. I was glad to see the room even came with a corkscrew since I had just bought a bottle of wine at the Polk & Green Market ! If you don't want to stay at a typical hotel and you want a taste of a quiet San Francisco neighborhood Annie's Cottage is a great choice. I just got back home a day ago and already I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Ive been to San Francisco more times than I can count, and this time we chose to stay at Annies Cottage and will definitely stay there again.

Essentially a basement flat in a quiet leafy street not far from Lombard st in the Russian Hill area, Annies is a quiet, restful and tranquil spot. Dont be put off by the corrodor through the apartment complex to Annies, as the front garden is beautiful as is the outlook from the rooms balcony.

There's some great dining nearby and transport is close so getting around is dead easy. When we stayed Annie was out of town and her house sitter who was really friendly took care of things, doing a great job.

My only (really minor) grizzle was the wifi, which struggled to deliver a robust connection, but I suspect that this is easily fixed and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

What a peaceful and convenient place. My husband and I stayed here for four nights, and were very comfortable throughout.

You'll approach your "suite" through a charming little garden -- so welcoming after a high-energy day in the city. Annie has thoughtfully outfitted the place with premium bath products; a microwave and coffee maker; a refrigerator (for all the yummy leftovers from nearby restaurants); and helpful guides, maps, and books. The bed is comfy and the place is spacious. There is also a cute little deck/balcony for you to use. Bonus: Annie doesn't lurk. You'll have all the privacy you want, though she's very glad to help with recommendations when asked.

This is a great value, and we hope to visit again. Thank you, Annie!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissLadyCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,547 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#5 of 55 in San Francisco
1,115 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 55 in San Francisco
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Cottage

Address: 1255 Vallejo St, San Francisco, CA 94109-2120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: £126 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annie's Cottage is a charming San Francisco Russian Hill bed and breakfast within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, China Town, North Beach and other San Francisco favorites. It is 1/2 block to the cable car line and 2 blocks to bus lines. It is behind another building very protected from the street. Entrance is through a charming garden. A little bit of the country in the middle of San Francisco ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing