We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but noisy”
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A B&B in an area with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. The guests we met at breakfast (provided by the B&B) were from all over and interesting. However, our room had carpet and an accompanying funky, musty smell and the room was on the street side which was a real problem in terms of noise. each room has a sink but shared bathrooms and waterclosets. Parking is a major problem in this part of town, although public transportation is readily available. The noise was the deal breaker for us and we had to leave.

Room Tip: avoid carpeted rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SXM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Hayes Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Hayes Valley Inn is a great hotel to stay in while visiting San Francisco. It has a central location which makes visiting many of the different neighborhood easy and it is also located close to the bus lines and the bart station. The neighborhood shops and restaurants close by this hotel where excellent. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europetravels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hayes Valley Inn on vacation. We wanted to be right in the city (we did not rent a car) and be in walking distance to interesting restaurants, entertainment, and one-of-a-kind shopping. We got it all with the Hayes. The staff is great! The rooms are small, but sufficient, and very clean (with a sink in every room). The W.C. and Bath are down the hall (also very clean) European-style, so if you are not comfortable with that scene, this isn't the place for you. We had no problem with it. It's just a trick of timing - get in early before everyone else, or at the end of the day. The place has a great communal feel to it. The breakfast everyday was very fresh, filling and tasty, more than enough to start your day of sightseeing, etc. The guests in the hotel were respectful of each other and the noise from within was minimal; never heard the other guests, even those next door. However, the noise outside in the evening did make it difficult to get to sleep sometimes. I'd recommend asking for a room "not on the street" if you can if you want to avoid the direct noise factor. Having said that, the noise really died down after about 11:30 p.m. It is very secure and we felt very comfortable there. If you're a woman traveling alone, this would be a great place. Not exactly suited for families, I think, and didn't see any there - just lots of European and Asian tourists who were lovely and enjoying the city as we were. If you're looking to get away from the "chain" hotels and looking for a real SF experience, try the Hayes. Great restaurants in walking distance and lots of interesting places to see, stop for a cocktail, etc. If we get back to SF, we'll be at the Hayes Valley Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have windows on the street side. A little noisy, but we managed to sle...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammersO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Other reviews here attest to the great location, the friendly staff, the bountiful breakfast buffet, the affordability of the rates, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. All of that is true.

In addition, the Hayes Valley Inn is a great place to see how you feel about shared hotel bathrooms. The bath/shower rooms and the toilet rooms are tiny but clean. It might also be an advantage for multiple people sharing a room to have so many separate toilets and showers. But I was traveling solo, and while gang showers at the gym are fine, I now know I prefer a room with its own bath. I did have to wait once, and even from the "user perspective," who wants to keep other people waiting?

But, mostly there were pluses:
- My room was spacious, with two chairs and a table by the bay window.
- TV worked fine and got radio stations as well.
- The view of the City Hall dome and and the deco tower that's now a law school dorm was so great I was surprised not to see a photo on the website.
- The lined curtains blocked out the eastern light in the early morning.
- The computer and printer in the parlor worked fine for printing my boarding pass.
- There is excellent fruit salad at breakfast (among other items), and I made a peanut butter sandwich on a bagel for later.

Two final negatives:
- Three flights up is a lot to climb with luggage, and one flight up is the minimum.
- Gough is wide one-way street so the traffic noise is not constant a "white noise" in the background, but synchronized waves as traffic passes by as stop lights permit. Even after I realized that one window was open a couple of inches and closed it, the traffic noise was a problem. Maybe a room facing west would be quieter?

I'm glad I stayed, and I might again if the room were in the back and I could figure out how to pack lighter.

Room Tip: For a good view, face west on the top floor; for greater quiet, face east.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Fantastic, helpful, and friendly staff, gorgeous rooms, and excellent service. The inn is centrally located as well, so it's easy to reach virtually everything. And in spite of being right next to a busy street, there's actually much less street noise than I had expected. The room was a very good price for everything you get, and overall, I could not have asked for better.

However, the only reason I am not giving a perfect rating is because a number of the other travelers were quite inconsiderate by comparison. And wanting to read a book before bed while contending with a room across the hall filled with noisy guests can never go over well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cynical_jabberwocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I was wary about the place because of the shared bathrooms...but that proved to be an unfounded worry! The place is exceptionally neat, and the bathrooms are very clean and conveniently located. The rooms are small, but who needs a big room when you're spending all day checking out one of the world's great cities? There's a good free breakfast too -- just what you need before embarking on a day of wandering. All in all it's a quaint, old-fashioned, stylish little inn.

Hayes Valley is a great neighborhood -- a little on the posh/gentrified side, with fancy boutique stores and stylish restaurants. It's also very centrally located, so it's a good place from which to radiate outwards exploring San Francisco.

The staff there are really friendly and helpful. Dennis is a chill dude who gave us a map and explained how to get around in SF.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you have difficulty climbing stairs you should ask for a room on the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

You will love this if u don't mind having a bathroom down the hall, and having a shared help yourself breakfast area.

Apart from that i would say its like when you hear for the first time the E.T joke...you know the one, what is E.T short for? He has little legs! When you hear it you laugh and enjoy it on first impressions then you actually get it which makes it better then its so easy to remember you will use it again, that's what Hayz is like! Good first impressions then you actually get the quirkiness and good area and you will recommend friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
726 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,354 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing