We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in superb location”
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in superb location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We loved staying at the Hayes Valley Inn for our 3-night stay in SF. It's in a great location, close to public transportation and surrounded by cute little restaurants and shops. As for the hotel itself, I thought it was great value. Bathrooms are shared, but always clean and I never once had to wait. The breakfast is at a communal table, where you might meet interesting other travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mental C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    153
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
35
146
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a super place to stay if you want to stay at a privately run hotel offering reasonable accommodation at an excellent price . The staff are very pleasant and helpful . You have to be prepared to share bathroom/toilet facilities and there is no particularly convenient parking nearby .

Room Tip: For quietness , have a room not facing Hayes or Gough Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived very late on the day of our arrival and had announced this piror via email - however, as we arrived nobody was there and only after calling them very expensively with a foreign phone they would come and get us in. We were liking freezing in the cold for ages and quite unhappy.

Besides, we were wondering why they for instance didn't provide a WiFi access which would have allowed us to call them via skype or such... but nothing.

However, in the end the stay was reasonable, the rooms are very small but clean and showers are also very clean.

The best is by far the breakfast which is awesome and receives five stars!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I felt as if I were staying in someone's home. The breakfast was decent and cookies and tea in the afternoon were a delight! The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You could walk easily to the BART which takes you directly to the airport in under 30 minutes. Getting downtown was easy as you could either walk or take a bus round the corner from the Inn. Golden Gate Park is also about a 15 minute or less bus ride away. Restaurants and coffee shops abound close by so there were lots of pros. It is no secret that you share bathrooms and Hayes Valley is not unique when it comes to this in San Francisco. I managed although there was one morning I had to wait a bit to get in to shower! What I like is that the bathrooms were kept clean. The breakfast room is a bit small and could be extended into the adjoining room where the computer with Internet access is located but I can see why this hasn't been done. I have to say a special thanks to Dennis who works at the reception desk. He is so pleasant and warm. I would definitely recommend this establishment for value and location.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the street which is very busy as well as one not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We found this place on trip advisor for a 2 night stop in SF before we caught a flight to Vegas. We had already been to SF in this trip and stayed in Union Square. We just wanted a place to lay our heads and be central base to relax.
The reason we chose this place was price , the price is great, the service from the staff is wonderful very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom was clean, and the breakfast was good enough to start your day with.
I would recommend this place, cheap and cheerful is what you want, this is the place. Great location also… try the Italian across the road, very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomme1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
700 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Everything was as we expect. THe room was great, with a great view and bed. The Staff is very helpfull, they are great people. The breakfast is simply but very OK to start a long day visiting SF.
The only think that is not so good is that the bathroons are share.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunoccruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Pros:
1. Location and value.. Hard to beat the price to stay in downtown SF.. So many shops and restaurants around the area.. takes only minutes to get to all the downtown sites.
2. Clean - the hotel is a bit old, but very well maintained
3. Service - The staff was very helpful and informative
Cons:
1. Parking.. They have none.. luckily I found free parking on Fulton Street both nights.. If you park after 6 and find a free spot, you can park for free all night.. If you fail to find a spot, you have to pay $14 at a local garage that doesn't open until 6 AM in the morning.
2. Breakfast room is small.. it gets packed and not that comfortable.
3. Room size, bathroom and showers.. The rooms are small, the bathrooms and showers are shared.

Overall, I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AustinMattS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Music City Hotel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
716 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Property: Hayes Valley Inn
Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing