We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hayes Valley Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$436
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$592
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$190
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$247
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$456
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$342
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
94
157
36
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
157
36
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomb bbreakfast roomchez mamanbathrooms and showerseuropean style hotelother guestscity hallno lifthome from homebunk bedspublic transportationyogurtyour doorstepthird floorgolden gate parkrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hayes Valley is definitely one of San Francisco's most exciting neighborhoods - and this charming in is right in the middle of it. Friendly staff, clean bed- and bathrooms, an excellent continental breakfast plus free tea and cookies from 4pm til late. On the down side: my room (310) was quite small, the bathrooms are tiny, there is no elevator and the back yard is loud, 24 hours/day because of a huge cooling AC installation. But hey, they provide ear plugs for free :-)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We loved staying at the Hayes Valley Inn for our 3-night stay in SF. It's in a great location, close to public transportation and surrounded by cute little restaurants and shops. As for the hotel itself, I thought it was great value. Bathrooms are shared, but always clean and I never once had to wait. The breakfast is at a communal table, where you might meet interesting other travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mental C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a super place to stay if you want to stay at a privately run hotel offering reasonable accommodation at an excellent price . The staff are very pleasant and helpful . You have to be prepared to share bathroom/toilet facilities and there is no particularly convenient parking nearby .

Room Tip: For quietness , have a room not facing Hayes or Gough Street
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived very late on the day of our arrival and had announced this piror via email - however, as we arrived nobody was there and only after calling them very expensively with a foreign phone they would come and get us in. We were liking freezing in the cold for ages and quite unhappy.

Besides, we were wondering why they for instance didn't provide a WiFi access which would have allowed us to call them via skype or such... but nothing.

However, in the end the stay was reasonable, the rooms are very small but clean and showers are also very clean.

The best is by far the breakfast which is awesome and receives five stars!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I felt as if I were staying in someone's home. The breakfast was decent and cookies and tea in the afternoon were a delight! The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. You could walk easily to the BART which takes you directly to the airport in under 30 minutes. Getting downtown was easy as you could either walk or take a bus round the corner from the Inn. Golden Gate Park is also about a 15 minute or less bus ride away. Restaurants and coffee shops abound close by so there were lots of pros. It is no secret that you share bathrooms and Hayes Valley is not unique when it comes to this in San Francisco. I managed although there was one morning I had to wait a bit to get in to shower! What I like is that the bathrooms were kept clean. The breakfast room is a bit small and could be extended into the adjoining room where the computer with Internet access is located but I can see why this hasn't been done. I have to say a special thanks to Dennis who works at the reception desk. He is so pleasant and warm. I would definitely recommend this establishment for value and location.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room away from the street which is very busy as well as one not too close to the bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsha42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews