We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A genuine home from home experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A genuine home from home experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Hayes Valley Inn is a 10 minute stroll from the BART Civic Center station which is on a direct line to the International Airport (go straight down Grove Street and Gough Street is 2nd left after you have crossed Van Ness Avenue) and is a convenient base from which to see the major attractions of this delightful city.
My room was immaculately clean and tastefully furnished with a really comfortable bed and a fast and reliable WiFi connection. Breakfast was of limited choice but excellent quality - the bagels were right up there with the best I have ever tasted. You can also get complimentary afternoon tea which is served between 16:00 and 19:00 if you are back from exploring.
However, it is the staff which really earn this place a 5 star rating from me - friendly, helpful and endlessly cheerful, they were a living definition of what service should be. The atmosphere was fantastic.

There were a couple of niggles - there are no en suite facilities and the hot water took an age to come through in the morning. Also, the Inn is on quite a busy road and the noise can be a bit intrusive. However, none of the above caused me any real problems.

In summary, this is probably a 3 star establishment in terms of facilities, but a 5 star plus in terms of atmosphere and comfort. I was really made to feel at home and it is one of the few places that I have ever stayedt where I really did not want to leave. If I am ever in San Francisco again, this will be my hotel of choice. Really great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    149
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
33
143
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The parking was awful. There is no parking for the hotel and I had to drive around and around the surrounding areas to find a spot. I've been to SF several times so I know parking is tough and expensive and in the past I have only used public transportation. However, we were on a road trip so we just had our car with us. The room was charming. The bed comfortable. The bathrooms were always spotless. They are shared with other people on the floor. It is unusual for an American hotel but don't let it scare you. It is really not a big deal at all. I would definitely go back to the Hayes Valley Inn.

Room Tip: I'm not entirely positive, but I don't recall there being an elevator. We were on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bionerd7865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a lovely getaway to SF at the Hayes Valley Inn. Very uniquely decorated, your traditional European-style B&B. A good, varied selection for breakfast at a central dining table where you are immersed into conversation with your fellow guests from all over the world. Rooms were clean, lovely, and sufficient for our needs and sharing a bathroom wasn't a hassle. Step outside onto the bustling Hayes Valley neighborhood and enjoy strolls to unique little shops and definitely try the revolutionary ice cream at Smitten. Public transportation is nearby to get you to the sights like Pier 39 and staff is always knowledgeable on assisting you on where you want to go. Excellent value all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angiebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great service and friendly staff. The breakfast was amazing! Nice and clean and close to bus stops to get you into fishermans wharf and union square. Only thing to note is that you will be sharing 2x toilets and a shower with other guests on your level but this was not an issue. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Hayes Valley is definitely one of San Francisco's most exciting neighborhoods - and this charming in is right in the middle of it. Friendly staff, clean bed- and bathrooms, an excellent continental breakfast plus free tea and cookies from 4pm til late. On the down side: my room (310) was quite small, the bathrooms are tiny, there is no elevator and the back yard is loud, 24 hours/day because of a huge cooling AC installation. But hey, they provide ear plugs for free :-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We loved staying at the Hayes Valley Inn for our 3-night stay in SF. It's in a great location, close to public transportation and surrounded by cute little restaurants and shops. As for the hotel itself, I thought it was great value. Bathrooms are shared, but always clean and I never once had to wait. The breakfast is at a communal table, where you might meet interesting other travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mental C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a super place to stay if you want to stay at a privately run hotel offering reasonable accommodation at an excellent price . The staff are very pleasant and helpful . You have to be prepared to share bathroom/toilet facilities and there is no particularly convenient parking nearby .

Room Tip: For quietness , have a room not facing Hayes or Gough Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#105 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Property: Hayes Valley Inn
Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing