We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and breakfast, but a bit noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayes Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hayes Valley Inn
Ranked #13 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good location and breakfast, but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our stay in Hayes Valley Inn was very nice. The rooms have a special flair and are very clean! Negative to mention is the loud and noisy street. Even with closed windows it is very loud, the windows have no noise protection. And often the wifi kicked me out. The bathroom is very small, but it's ok, as well as the lavatories. The breakfast is very European and delicious, with fruits, different kinds of bread and muffins e.g.. After 4p.m., there are free coffee and tea as well as cookies provided. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. All in all, the price for the room is ok.

Room Tip: at booking: ask for a room not located on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    146
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
33
142
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here in March 2013 for three nights.
The room aswell as the Hotel was clean. The common bathroom was also very clean at all times.
In our eyes the room was big enough.
As far as I rember there are no rooms which don't have a window to the street. This can be a problem for people who wake up at the slightest noise due that the traffic starts around 5 a.m.
Be aware that there is no lift.
These are the little cons.
The Location is verry good. Close to the Hotel there are Bars and Restaurant at a descent quality. Two blocks away you catch "the hop-on-hop-bus" aswell as as public transportation.
The breakfast has a large varitey of all kinds of food and the coffee is above average.
Last but not least the staff is outstanding. Always patient, friendly and helpfull.
We got more than we expected. At this price we recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INKA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent two nights in room 311 at the Hayes Valley Inn January 30 and 31st 2014. The Inn was exactly as other Tripadvisor reviewers had describe it; clean, friendly, and convenient. I purchased a 3 ballet subscription to the San Francisco Ballet and to cut travel costs, I decided to try the Hayes Valley Inn based on all the positive Tripadvisor reviews. I was so happy with my stay, I have booked my February and March dates. I have stayed at the Argonaut, the Inn at the Opera, Parc 55, and a few other high end hotels, and I am happy to say, my experience at the Hayes Valley Inn was on par or better than those hotels. Please remember, it is an old school euro-style shared bathroom and shower down the hall B&B, so know that going in and don't mark them down because of it as several reviewers have done.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if stairs are a concern, request a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Traveling recently in December 2013, I was able to more than survive 16 hours in transit in spending my arrival afternoon and first night in San Francisco recovering very well from 9 time zones by having the good fortune to stay in Hayes Valley Inn. The Manager,her personnel, all very helpful and attentive made my first hours in their little hotel a real pleasure.Where does one find a courtesy tea with sweets daily in today's hotels? The hotel has much atmosphere of San Francisco a hundred years ago with its historic interior decoration . A pleasant stroll in the immediate neighborhood revealed that Hayes Valley deserves its reputation as a creative and lively area. Highly-recommended, as 'the price is right', the location ..prima.! the hotel staff wonderful !

Room Tip: ask for a room not near a heating/cooling outlet of an adjacent restaurant. Follow the excellent an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Hayes Valley Inn is a 10 minute stroll from the BART Civic Center station which is on a direct line to the International Airport (go straight down Grove Street and Gough Street is 2nd left after you have crossed Van Ness Avenue) and is a convenient base from which to see the major attractions of this delightful city.
My room was immaculately clean and tastefully furnished with a really comfortable bed and a fast and reliable WiFi connection. Breakfast was of limited choice but excellent quality - the bagels were right up there with the best I have ever tasted. You can also get complimentary afternoon tea which is served between 16:00 and 19:00 if you are back from exploring.
However, it is the staff which really earn this place a 5 star rating from me - friendly, helpful and endlessly cheerful, they were a living definition of what service should be. The atmosphere was fantastic.

There were a couple of niggles - there are no en suite facilities and the hot water took an age to come through in the morning. Also, the Inn is on quite a busy road and the noise can be a bit intrusive. However, none of the above caused me any real problems.

In summary, this is probably a 3 star establishment in terms of facilities, but a 5 star plus in terms of atmosphere and comfort. I was really made to feel at home and it is one of the few places that I have ever stayedt where I really did not want to leave. If I am ever in San Francisco again, this will be my hotel of choice. Really great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The parking was awful. There is no parking for the hotel and I had to drive around and around the surrounding areas to find a spot. I've been to SF several times so I know parking is tough and expensive and in the past I have only used public transportation. However, we were on a road trip so we just had our car with us. The room was charming. The bed comfortable. The bathrooms were always spotless. They are shared with other people on the floor. It is unusual for an American hotel but don't let it scare you. It is really not a big deal at all. I would definitely go back to the Hayes Valley Inn.

Room Tip: I'm not entirely positive, but I don't recall there being an elevator. We were on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bionerd7865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a lovely getaway to SF at the Hayes Valley Inn. Very uniquely decorated, your traditional European-style B&B. A good, varied selection for breakfast at a central dining table where you are immersed into conversation with your fellow guests from all over the world. Rooms were clean, lovely, and sufficient for our needs and sharing a bathroom wasn't a hassle. Step outside onto the bustling Hayes Valley neighborhood and enjoy strolls to unique little shops and definitely try the revolutionary ice cream at Smitten. Public transportation is nearby to get you to the sights like Pier 39 and staff is always knowledgeable on assisting you on where you want to go. Excellent value all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angiebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#101 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Valley Inn

Property: Hayes Valley Inn
Address: 417 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hayes Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hayes Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Valley Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing