We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My visit at Noe's Nest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“My visit at Noe's Nest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

MY son lives in the city and I came to visit. I spent four days at Noe's Nest and it was a wonderful experience. Sheila, the owner was terrific and the breakfasts were wonderful I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marthe224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to follow up after your visit! We so enjoyed having you at our B&B, and I'm delighted to hear the feeling is mutual. Hopefully we'll get to see you again next time you're out this way!

Until then,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
45
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me & my husband did a west coast road trip and the last stop was Noe's Nest B&B. I just can say it was the best choice I could have ever made in this trip.
Sheila, the owner, is a wonderful and worm person - a big personality with a big hart - she helped us plan the days to the details [ the B&B is located in the perfect place for a second-hand store lover like myself :-) and Sheila helped me find all the best ones ].
The B&B is like stepping in to a different time - filled with lots of decorations from the world. Every room unique and you can't stop looking at everything.

We really enjoyed the breakfast - it had everything you could possibly want in a breakfast & more...

Thank you so much Noe's nest for making the rainy SF much more pleasurable :)
And special thanks to Sheila for the loving care :)

Room Tip: We upgraded to the suit - it was worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Great to hear from you via TripAdvisor! Reading that deciding to stay with us was the best choice you could have made on your trip to the West Coast absolutely made my day. It was our pleasure to have you, and we hope you'll stop by again next time you're out this way!

Safe travels,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My family recently spent three days at Noe's Nest and discovered a quirky, fun, and totally unique B&B experience. The beautiful Painted Lady oozes charm! You really feel like you are a guest in a home, and not simply renting a room at a "business." Only down-side was parking. The usual SF city parking with limited close parking, time-limited, day-limited, inconvenience. Sheila Ash, the hostess, is charming and chatty and the breakfast is a continental style fruit, cheese, breads, and cereal. Each room is unique, with family-style touches. Sheila recommends the Tuba Turkish restaurant and we heartily agree! Some of the best food we had during our entire stay! Within easy walking distance from the Nest. Fabulous service, fantastic food. For a completely different B&B experience, try it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter and have a lovely view of the city/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation, Murleen! We absolutely loved having you and your family at our B&B, and I'm delighted to hear you loved your stay just as much. I know other reviewers will appreciate your thorough feedback as much as I do!

All the best,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our daughter lives on the Glen Park/Noe Valley part of San Francisco and we were looking for a nearby B&B. Usually many are available. However, this weekend was a busy one in the Bay Area. There were many college graduations (including UC Berkeley, which we attended) and it was also Bay-to-Breakers weekend, the yearly 12K run which showcases imaginative costumes and unconventional behavior. Tens of thousands come to run the race, many from out of town. Finding a nearby B&B with available rooms proved challenging. We were fortunate to discover Noe's Nest.

The B&B is a restored Victorian house (a "painted lady") on Guerrero Street with 8 guest rooms. It is clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Cindy, the manager, is outstanding. The B&B is a bit funky, decorated with family memorabilia and art, lots of doilies and tchotchkes. Not exactly my taste but fun nonetheless. In the back yard, there is a beautiful formal garden with lots of flowers.

Our room, The View, is located on the 3rd floor, the former attic. A large picture window showcases a fantastic view of the city. The room is a bit small but quiet and perfectly adaquate for 2 persons.

Breakfast was outstanding with a selection of cooked entrees, breads, rolls, juice, fresh fruits and smoked salmon. It was without question the best B&B breakfast we have had in years.

Noe's Nest is a bit pricey but then everything in San Francisco is expensive. All in all, I thought it was worth the price. We will return.

Our flight departed SF at 6:15 am, well before breakfast. Cindy was nice to prepare a box meal for us. A very kind gesture.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in "The View".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
The best B&B breakfast you've had in years? Wow! What an amazing compliment. Thank you so much for taking the time to follow up with us after your stay. I'm delighted to hear you had such a great time!

Cheers,
Sheila, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent three nights at Noe's Nest and really enjoyed the experience. Sheila is very welcoming, the room was comfortable and the garden was gorgeous. The house is fabulous and fun -- it's filled with period pieces and the exterior is fabulous. Noe Valley is a great area, full of restaurants and shops. We came to visit family but it is a part of the city that I would return to again and again. Noe's Nest is a bit pricey but for us the convenience, the comfort and the pure fun of staying there made it worthwhile.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cabana room which opened out onto the garden. Lovely because it made it so easy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks for getting in touch, Elizabeth! I realize it's been several months since you wrote about us, but I wanted to reach out to let you know how much I appreciate your feedback. We'd love to see you again next time you're out this way!

Best,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We spent 4 days in what amounts to a museum owned by a wonderful lady by the name of Sheila Ash. A San Francisco resident of many decades. She has mixed and matched artifacts all over the place. And photos - many of her, and some very famous folks (a photo signed by Jackie Kennedy). Is she from San Francisco? You bet and it shows. It's Very close to the street without excessive noise.

We found Noe's nest at someone's recommendation. It's not a hotel, most of the rooms are not huge BUT. It is clean, comfortable, and in a great location. BandB's in this area (Noe Valley, S.F.) had to undergo substantial renovations so that each room has a bathroom. The buildings are "thin" and making it work is not easy. At the end of the day some rooms are larger than others, and yes some bathrooms are a little sparse. Breakfast made fresh every day and if you want something in particular just ask her for it (maybe the day before). Good coffee, quiche, bagels, lox, pastries and other stuff served on English porcelain from another era (probably picked up in an estate sale)..

The price is "reasonable". It is in a wonderful area, one block from an Italian cafe (Cafe Fiore) inexpensive and excellent. Fresh pasta, salads, excellent panna cotta from right up on top of the weight watcher's list. Plus a great wine list. A block farther away is a Turkish restaurant (Tuba) run by the owner serving dishes made from recipes furnished by his mother and grandmother.

This place is in the middle of a happening area. It's also safe and plenty of parking.

Try it out. You won't be sorry. I offer one suggestion. If you're concerned about the room size or want a bath tub (versus a shower - maybe a small one) call her. She'll give you all the details you need. Our room had a king size bed that ate up most of the room. The TV might even be in a strange place (on top of something.So? Feel free to mention my name.

Bill Ginsburg

Room Tip: Call her - Sheila 415 821 0751
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGinsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Great to hear from you, Bill! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us back in April. Your recommendation means the world to me, and I hope to see you again next time you're in San Francisco!

Until then,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

just concluded a 4 day stay. a great location in a very walkable area. Noe Valley, the Mission, 24th street are all nearby. disappointed with the size of our room, the masquerade, which was too small for regular size people. The breakfast was the same each morning and looked more and more bedraggled as the week went on. dogs underfoot especially in outdoor area made walking difficult. having visited more than a few outstanding B &B, this definitely does not rank high. While location is excellent, I would not recommend or return.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks for your honest feedback. While I'm glad to hear you appreciate our convenient location, I'm sorry you weren't impressed with the rest of your stay. We take pride in creating a unique experience for each of our guests, and I'm disappointed we missed the mark with you.

That said, we know there's always room to improve. I have no doubt your comments on our breakfast will help us do just that!

All the best,
Shelia, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1257 Guerrero St, San Francisco, CA 94110-3620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noe’s Nest is a charming bed & breakfast, nestled between San Francisco’s Noe Valley and Mission District in the heart of the city. This quirky and eclectic b&b provides a charming alternative to larger chain hotels, with unique accommodations and great amenities in a friendly, laid-back atmosphere. Our great location puts you just moments away from the fun mix of shops, restaurants, coffee cafes, bars and novelty stores on Valencia Street Corridor and the famous Mission Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noe`s Nest b&b
Noe`s Nest Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing