We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Good Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grant Hotel
Ranked #127 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Good Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

WE stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Its clean, safe and very central for exploring S/F. You get coffee and Danish for breakfast which was good, theres free wifi and computer access. 24 hour reception desk all for a bargain price. Sure the corridor smells a little strange and the view from the window isn`t great, but most older places do have a unique odour and who wants to look out of the window when you can get out and experience it. So if you want gold taps and marble floors, just go around the corner and pay 3 times the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    416
    319
    73
    40
See reviews for
178
445
74
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Top marks for location as this is a central place to be in the city and you can walk to almost all the in town attractions. Rooms are decent size but a bit sparse, you have two closets ( well I did ) and two night tables with a drawer in each one, small desk and a small old T.V. Bathroom was pretty small but seemed as if it had just been renovated and was bright and clean. With this being an old city hotel the big problem was lack of views and windows, just seemed to be a dark hotel with some windows painted out. Coffee / Tea and Danishes are served for breakfast in the lobby area, pretty basic but did the job. Keep in mind that San Francisco is on a hill so if you are walking down into the city you of course have to walk back up again and the last few blocks are pretty steep. If you are looking for a swimming pool/ Spa and a gym, bar, restaurant you will not find it here but there are lots of bars and restaurants only a short walk away. If you are looking for just somewhere to sleep and want to be in the city at a budget type hotel then this will work just fine for you, it's rooms were clean and location was very convenient. There is a male strip club next door..........just so you know !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eerzaweepieanbovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I gave two stars because of the location, ok breakfast and free wifi. We stayed in this hotel for 6 days but what bothered me is the smell not only in our room but in the lobby as well. You will smell it (like pee) the moment you open the front door. It is worst in our room. I was trying to figure out where it come from but couldn't. It could be from the outside, the carpet or the restroom. Don't know.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivien Therese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are looking for the luxury experience, this may not be the place for you. However, for this stay I had a few essential requirements: 1) clean 2) near transit 3) quiet. I managed to get all three and pastries for breakfast everyday. Rooms are very nice and honestly it is larger than the bedroom in my apartment. The location is great. You can catch the trolley car, several buses and walk to Chinatown, Union Square, Market Street. Honestly, for the price, I got more than expected - room had a safe, free wi-fi, nice area to sit and eat breakfast and a very cute bathroom kept very clean. I would definitely return since the point of vacation in a city is exploring and not staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here to check out San Francisco. We chose The Grant Hotel because previous reviews raved about the location and let me tell you, it really is a great location, and for the low price you cant get much better than that. It's very basic but has a clean room, shower and pasteries/coffee in the morning. The parking (across the street) is also convenient as parking in SF is a nightmare. Overall we would stay here again. Great location, and a cozy place to sleep. As others have stated, the building is a little out dated but I really think thats expected with an older building. We were fine.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs and or are afraid of rickety elevators, ask for a room closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a very well located hotel. That´s for sure a good point about it. The bad ones, though, are - VERY old, rooms are small. Carpets in need of replacement. Bathrooms look new, surely they got some upgrade done recently, they don´t even match the room. Parking is charged extra, but it is in a fair walking distance, considering San Francisco. I may stay here again, in case I don´t find nothing reasonable around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heloisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#137 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Hotel

Property: The Grant Hotel
Address: 753 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing