We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in San Francisco!”
Review of Powell Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Powell Place
Ranked #20 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Florida, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay in San Francisco!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I recently spent a fabulous week in a Nob Hill suite at Powell Place! The accommodations were perfect; the kitchen had anything I could possibly need, the living space, bedroom, and bath were extremely well appointed and very comfortable. The bed was scrumptous; I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud! I had more than ample space for my things with a dresser, walk in closet and plenty of room in the bath. Everything was spotless! My only complaint would be climbing the stairs after a day touring the city! The staff were gracious, helpful and extremely professional=providing great recommendations for shopping, eating and sights to see!

You are located in the heart of the city! With the trolley stop just steps away! I'll be sure to stay here again on my return to San Francisco! Thank you for a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Should you have any difficulty walking up stairs be sure to not book a room on the stair side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    23
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I got a 1 BR Powell Place as a timeshare exchange. We got one of the back rooms, with a nice enclosed patio. Outside we have a table with 4 chairs and complete privacy. We’ve left the door open the last two evenings to cool off our space.
The kitchen area is minimal. There is an under counter refrigerator, a 2 burner cooktop and a microwave oven. Apparently they can supply extra cooking supplies if you need them. We have breakfast in the room each morning, but we’re not doing any cooking. There is a selection of hard cover current books on the shelf in the living room with a nice stereo system and a DVD/VHS in the living room. Another DVD/VHS for the bedroom. If you were to have 4 people in the room, the location of the bathroom, off the master bedroom, could be a negative.
There is a fresh rose in the bedroom and chocolates. Such a nice touch! The people at the desk are helpful and they’ve suggested restaurants and suggested transportation strategies. There is daily maid service and we are not being charged the energy surcharge.
When we arrived at SFO, we bought the passport for $28 for 7 days near the baggage claim. This allows us unlimited travel on buses, trolleys, and cable cars. What a deal! We’ve been on all types of transportation. From SFO, take BART to the Powell Street Station. Get in the long line for the Powell St. cable car and get off at California St so you can walk downhill to Powell Place. Or you can get off at Pine St. and walk uphill for a partial block. The Powell St cable car goes right by the front door. It is a very popular and crowded line and it may be difficult to get on a cable car, depending on the time that you want to use it. No bus line goes right by, but you can get buses that come within a couple of blocks. But being on Nob Hill can be negative because of the steep hill. The California cable car line is less than a block away and if you can, travel on that one.
The closest “grocery” is E&E. I would not recommend going there as it is mostly a liquor store, with very limited groceries. J&W is another small place on Pine and my husband went there to buy cereal and milk. It was very expensive. We found out that there is a Trader Joes and a CVS a few blocks away on California. We shopped there for our minimal grocery and beverage needs and took the cable car back.
We’ve been here 3 ½ days and we’ve squeezed in a lot already. We spent several hours in Golden Gate Park. While there we took in a concert, the conservatory, and the botanical garden. We also visited a festival in the Haight Asbury district. Visited the Saturday Farmer’s market at the Ferry building, visited Pier 39 to see the sea lions, wandered around Fisherman’s Wharf, climbed up to Coit tower, visited Land’s End park and did a nice hike there. We took a Red Line Cruise, which was better than we expected. We also walked part of the way across the Golden Gate bridge, but it was so foggy that we decided not to go completely across. We’re got reservation to go to Alcatraz. Several more activities are on the agenda before we head home. Enjoying the vacation so far, but it’s been cold. We’ve got the proper clothing for the weather, so we’re comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flamouth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I love the fact as you come and go you pick up and drop off your key with the front desk. Clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. It's on the main cable car line. Walking up the hill multiple times a day can be strenuous. You are in the middle of it all and great Restaurants about in this area.

Room Tip: Shop for food at the Walgreens down the hill rather than the local small convince stores....everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1randy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASHBURN, VA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This treasure on historic Nob Hill is located one half block from the intersection of the three San Francisco cable car lines. The suites, carved out two adjoining early 20th century apartment buildings, are spacious and well maintained. The staff is courteous and efficient. If you have mobility issues ask for the elevator side. There are security surveillance cameras throughout.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROGERFORTUNAJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

good location on Nob Hill. Try to rememer to take the cable car to California and walk down (the walk up could be a bear)
Nice staff especially Lucia (?)- evening person
Excellent maid service
for some reason even in November our suite got very warm but the fans helped quite a bit

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincyedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

this is 2nd time we stayed at this location & we are very happy with this property. located on the Powell mason/Hyde cable car line. also one block away from california cable car line. the maid service was excellent. WIFI internet service for $20. for the week. centrally located to get anywhere. small # of units so you have to get on a wait list to confirm exchange reservations but well worth the wait. one of the nicer exchange properties on RCI.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The time share property was wonderful. The maid service was great. Location wonderful too. Walk to trolley so great. Tom who works there is a nice guy gave us some good info. The rest of the staff needs some training in public relations. Not very friendly or helpful. You have tourists that are visiting and need to know what to see and the costs. It is always good to interact with you visitors and say hello and goodbye. How was you day. My family ran a bed and breakfast in Germany and we were warm and welcoming and interacted with our guests.

Room Tip: I think any room would be nice. Great view. It was like a little apartment. One bdrm with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,644 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,213 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,602 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powell Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powell Place

Property: Powell Place
Address: 730 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94108-2207
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing