We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location going for it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
Ranked #127 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location going for it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Valet only...takes a while to get your car....all waiting persons rooms were "magically" ready at 3:00 and not a moment before. Room was tiny, with a mini ironing board and absolutely no place in bathroom for toiletries, which is annoying, especially since the bathroom itself was large. Complimentary breakfast was good, and the price was cheap, so can't really complain.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear kristilyn1,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed our location and value.

Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    491
    328
    118
    74
See reviews for
114
569
155
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is situated right where Union Square and the Tenderloin meet so it's safe to say there is something to please everyone at this location. However the lobby is small and dingy, the elevator is small and slow, the rooms are small and threadbare (oh and the smell reminds me of off-highway motels in Macon GA). The bed feels like padded cardboard, the sheets are pilled. On the positive side they do something most hotels don't but should: the bathroom amenities package includes a small Colgate toothpaste pouch and disposable brush.

Helpful?
Thank miamirefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear miamirefugee,

Thank you for your feedback about Hotel Fusion. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location, but are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the space. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was after a business trip that. I extended my stay in USA n visited San Francisco. The location of the Hotel is the best, it's very close to Union square n the place where the 150 year old cable car starts.
The room though was very small specially considering the large group of friends, we were 4 ppl.
The breakfast closes at 9 which was too early considering the night life of SF. WE WERE LATE BY 20 mins n denied access to the BF ROOM.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Yogeshkale81,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip. We are happy you enjoyed our location and are sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. We will use your feedback to better our services in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
256 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located fairly well, if you want to do all the touristic stuff. The cable car is literally around the corner. Union Square is a 3 minute walk. The rooms were clean, but smelled very toxic from the cleaning chemicals. However, the rooms are tiny, so don't expect too much. Don't expect anything from the breakfast either. Overall, I'd say it is ok value, given the central location. It is very easy to get from the hotel to the airport by using the BART. One way is $8.65 per person, the train runs every 10-20 minutes. It took us around 50 minutes from the hotel to the checkin counter, so this might a good comprise, rather than taking a $60-80 cab!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ua917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear clesiebler,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy you enjoyed our location and hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful, however quite old rooms (Decor, air conditioning etc) mean that it was fine for what we used it for (first night in San Fran to get over jet-lag before heading out of town).
Wouldn't have been very happy staying there for any more than that.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Ian C,

We appreciate your review and are happy Hotel Fusion worked out for what you needed. Thank you for your response,we hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

For the price Hotel Fusion offers very good value, rooms are a good size for an inner city hotel and spotlessly clean.

We stayed here for a five-night stay and an additional one-night stay. Upon our first check in the receptionist was very friendly and helpful but the second time a different receptionist was quite surly (and she appeared to be stretched, working alone). Neither room looked out onto the street, which meant that there was no view, but also no noise so sleeping wasn't an issue.

The rooms, although basic in terms of decor and furnishings, were very well equipped and the free wifi was great. Iron, ironing board, coffee making facilities and snack bar are all available in-room.

Breakfast choice (again complimentary) was the same every day which we felt could have been varied if only just a little from day to day. Also you have to take it back to your room which is fine but there's only one seat in the room so you either take it in turns or of you has to sit on the bed.

Check out was easy and we found the hotel perfect for our stay, as didn't spend time in the room except to sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room size above the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear jammypb,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and the location is excellent, close to Union Square, trams, BART and shopping. We did not receive the most friendliest of welcomes, but were able to stow our luggage until we were able to check in a 3pm, which we ended up waiting for 45 minutes for our room. Which was one of the smallest rooms I have stayed in, the bed base stuck out alot further than the mattress and resulted in many bruises. Our room was on the inside of the building and away from the night club so no worries there but it did get very warm, overall, it was clean and tidy, the water pressure was great in the shower, there was a bar fridge and free breakfast every morning and a great location, we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Claudia W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and location and are sorry to hear that you didn't get a very warm welcome. We will use your comments to better our services in the future. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#101 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Property: Hotel Fusion
Address: 140 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all modern furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. Hotel Fusion features a dramatic new lobby, lobby bar and restaurant, Taste on Ellis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing