We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged for Snack Bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
Ranked #130 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charged for Snack Bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I decided to stay here despite some of the negative reviews. When I got home I noticed there was a $14 charge on my account. I contacted the hotel and they stated that I had taken items from the snack bar. I am a frequent traveler and always steer clear of the snack bar and when asked if I had taken anything when I left I said no, because I had not, why would I? There literally was a mini market on the next corner that sold snacks for half the price. In all of my travels this has never happened. The guy on the phone was nice, but not very helpful, he said this happens all the time, they trust their cleaning staff, and then suggested I contact my bank to dispute the amount. I feel bad cause I was kind of rude to him, but it is a frustration situation.

Aside from that incident, the hotel itself is nothing to write home about. It looks nicer in the pictures, our bed was not very comfortable and bathroom was not the cleanest. You get what you pay for. Its San Francisco, if you can cough up a little more look for a nicer hotel downtown or stay right in the outskirts. If you do stay here make sure you take a picture of the snack bar before you leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ale Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    491
    328
    118
    75
See reviews for
115
569
155
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was suppose to fly to Taipei but the flight was canceled and I found myself with a place to stay fort the evening. Having no real idea of the options available I called my agent and just asked to find a hotel need BART. She pulled up Hotel Fusion, the rate was OK and I was on my way.

I was glad to see that the hotel really was close to BART (Powell Street). I only had carry-on luggage but I really did not want to lug it too far. In one block I was at the Hotel and greeted by a very efficient desk clerk who had me in my room in no time.

The room was small but I expected that. Internet worked fine so I could re-arange all the things needed due to my flight cancellation.

The next day, checkout was fast and I was on my way to the airport in plenty of time.

If I am ever stranded again in SFO I'll remember to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyouinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear seeyouinthesun,

We are happy to hear Hotel Fusion helped you out when you were stranded and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is in the union square area and really close to the Powell Street Station. The front desk clerks were always extra polite. We checked-in early. There was always hot coffee in the lobby every time we checked. The hallways are well cared for. The room overall was OK, but one side of the bed was extremely close to the wall and difficult to get into/out of. The wireless internet was fast enough to watch Netflix. We took advantage of the coffee, bagels, fruit, pastries, etc available in the morning in the small breakfast room. The in-window air conditioner wasn't quiet, but wasn't annoying. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silly3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear silly3000,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our central location. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Fusion Hotel is in na amazing location. Just two blocks from Union Square and Powel Station of Bart. Just one block from the main cable car station. There is a huge variety of stores and restaurants around it. its a good value!

Room Tip: The rooms faced to the interior of the building are better, because avoid the noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Fernando L,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We could not have picked a better located hotel in San Francisco. This hotel was less than a five minute walk from Powell Street Station. This is easy to get to on the Metro upon arrival at SF airport. It is also on the next street from the Cable Car which took us direct to Fisherman's Wharf. It was also pretty close to the bus which takes you to the Golden Gate Bridge (Number 10) and on into Sausalito. Although the rooms were small the comfort, cleanliness, Free WiFi and complimentary breakfast more than made up for this. A very small and basic gym was also a welcome bonus with free bottles of water and towels. It was also right beside Nordstrom's and we found it to be a little gem of a place all round. Yes the décor is a little dated and staff were not overly friendly. We also noticed that the Concierge was not on site very often which made it a little inconvenient when we wanted to ask questions as we then had to go to the reception desk. All in all a good stay and very handy to all rental car locations if you are heading on somewhere else from San Fran.

Room Tip: Ask for their superior rooms if available. Although it is likely to cost a little more. Try and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donall74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Donall74,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We are happy you enjoyed our location and amenities. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again.

Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Valet only...takes a while to get your car....all waiting persons rooms were "magically" ready at 3:00 and not a moment before. Room was tiny, with a mini ironing board and absolutely no place in bathroom for toiletries, which is annoying, especially since the bathroom itself was large. Complimentary breakfast was good, and the price was cheap, so can't really complain.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear kristilyn1,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed our location and value.

Regards,

Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Property: Hotel Fusion
Address: 140 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all modern furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. Hotel Fusion features a dramatic new lobby, lobby bar and restaurant, Taste on Ellis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing