We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The rooms are small, but well organized, clean. The attendants are great and the hotel is really well located. You can do almost everything by walking and the cable car stops very close. Really recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patriciaolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear patriciaolopes,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and our service. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June. Hotel is in a great location - close to the the train station, cable cars and bus stops. Very basic hotel, small rooms. Main downside for me was the noisy air conditioning units that even when turned off still make a noise right through the night. Also found it a bit strange that you had to take your breakfast back to your room to eat since there was no area elsewhere to sit and eat it. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jdmjdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and are happy for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our location and amenities and hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived 4 June at about 6pm. Reservation had been over internet and I had asked for a room away from the noise of the street etc. Check in was good - they had all my details, and my wife and I were given room 508. The check in desk is at the rear of the ground floor entrance, passed the lift, not the concierge desk. There were many French tourists in the lobby when we arrived, and there was no clear sign telling us where the reception desk was. Room 508 was adequate, overlooking the rear of the building, with no view other than brick walls, windows and the basement. We could not open the windows but there was air conditioning (noisy) and a fan. There was also noise from an air conditioning unit outside which kept going until 4am, whilst we were there for 4 nights.
The room was clean and so was the linen. The washing facilities were good with plenty of hot water.
The room was directly opposite the breakfast room where you collected your continental breakfast to take back to your room, which was good, but was a bit noisy when people started to collect their breakfasts.
Hotel is ideally situated for the cable cars - the terminus is virtually outside - and easy transportation to the waterfront, and Pier 39. All the main shops were nearby - Macys etc., Cost was reasonable for where it was, and would return for a short stay.
We had a Citipass which enabled us to use the municipal transport at no extra cost.

Room Tip: Air conditioning noise a problem in room 508.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kolimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Kolimpia,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay with and our location. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would never stay at this hotel again because the service I received from the front desk was extremely poor. We had a three night reservation to stay at this hotel. Our incoming flight from the East Coast was delayed, and we didn't get to the hotel until 2AM. As soon as we found this out, we called the hotel (eight hours in advance) to alert them. The woman who answered the phone said it was no problem because they had a 24 hour front desk, and she make a note of this in the system. However, when we got to the hotel, the guy at the desk said they had cancelled our reservation as a "no show." It was only after I explained how I called and was reassured everything was fine that he was able to locate our original reservation and said, "oh, I see there's a note here." However, he had to re-swipe our credit card because now it was like a new reservation, since the original reservation had been "cancelled." We agreed because it was 2:30 AM, and all we wanted to do was go to bed. the next day, after walking around the city, we came back to the hotel to get refreshed before going back out for dinner. We quickly found out that we had been locked out of our room. The front desk only had one person working, and it was only 4 PM. We waited in line for over a half hour and were finally able to talk to the woman at the desk. She explained that she couldn't fix our room cards, as our reservation was only for one day, not three. After about 20 minutes, she finally recognized that our reservation WAS for three nights, but that the staff member the night before had changed the reservation to one night instead of the original three. She gave us the room cards, and again, I thought that was the end of our problems with Hotel Fusion. Unfortunately, the next morning, as we were walking with our breakfast trays full of food back to our room (there is a breakfast, but you have to eat it in your rooms because there aren't any tables where the food is), we were AGAIN locked out. The explanation, I found, as my fiance stood with our breakfast trays in the hallway near our room: the guy at the front desk said that they needed to get ANOTHER signature from us (to confirm the three-day reservation), and that this was their way of ensuring that they'd get it. They couldn't have left a message on our phones or called the room, or, perhaps, gotten the correct paperwork the first time (or the second)? I have never seen such incompetence with a hotel staff like this before. I would stay somewhere else if you want to be treated with respect and have a smooth, issue-free stay in SF.

Other cons: Weird smell in the hallway, extremely small room
Positives: It had a good location and was near transportation.

Room Tip: The full size room had barely enough room for the two of us to stand at the same time. Get a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Julie M,

We sincerely apologize for the issues with your recent stay with us at Hotel Fusion. Thank you for your patience through your frustrating experience. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly be making changes to prevent something like this from happening again.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is the location. The location was fantastic. Unfortunately, everything else about the room was bellow par. Very very small. I had a 1 bedroom suite and it was still very very small. I was on the top floor which appeared to have some kind of airconditioning - exhaust system on the roof which made a loud constant noise the whole time there. The room was also very hot. The room did have A/C, but it was so noisy that it could not be used at night time or you can't sleep. Another stupid thing was the bathroom. It was huge and was bigger than the bedroom. A major problem with the bathroom was that there was no bench space what so ever. And the thing that annoyed me the most was the use of water saving devices. It was impossible to have a shower or even wash your hands in the basin because the water was restricted so much it was just like a mist. I understand water conservation etc, but this was just over the top. Unfortunately, I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmZeD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear EmZeD68,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us, but happy that the location was good for you. Yes, we are experiencing a severe drought in California, so we are trying to do our part to relieve the strain on our resources.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms are small but they are clean and comfortable. The up side is the hotel provide a grab and go breakfast. It includes pastries, bagels toast fruit juice and coffee, enough to get you through till lunch time. I would defiantly stay there again as it is very convenient for shopping and trams to Fishermans Wharf.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Maureen M,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and our breakfast. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,

Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The web site uses fancy words like free WiFi, complimentary breakfast, in room snack bar etc. The reality is oh so different. Where to start? The room, so small there was barely space to swing a s***ehouse cat, the air conditioning system is an old fashioned unit built in under the tiny window that looks out onto a roof and everyone else's rooms, it rattled and whirred so loud you can only have it on while you're out. The alternative is a ceiling fan which spun so fast I thought there was an helicopter in the room so had to have that on low. The bed, the floorboards, the cupboards and the wardrobe all creaked so we dare hardly move. The rest of the hotel was the same, constantly hearing people coming up and down a creaking staircase or along creaking corridors. The snack bar / fridge consisted of a few items and a list which you fill in and is replenished daily. NOT!! Not once during our weeks stay was this topped up. I even took the list to reception and was told it would be restocked by our return. It didn't happen so gave it up as a bad job. Complimentary breakfast, we thought great, cereals toast juice pastries. Until we got to the breakfast "room", that's exactly what it was, a tiny room, not much bigger than ours. On asking where we sit we were told "take it back to your room", on PAPER plates, PAPER cups and PLASTIC cutlery.
Then all you can hear apart from the creaking floorboards is the vacuuming from housekeeping even though they were 2 floors above.
The restaurant, which we didn't brave is only open 6 - 8pm then turns into a nightclub until 2.
They say this place is 3/4 *, how the hell it was given this rating is beyond us, were the rating people visually and hearing impaired??
3/4 stars??? I wouldn't even give it a ONE star.
This place should be rebranded a backpackers hotel/hostel. Stay at your peril if you're expecting something decent.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is far as possible from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theboyz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Theboyz L,

Thank you for your feedback on Hotel Fusion. We are happy you appreciated our location, but are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your concerns and use your comments to better our hotel in the future.

Regards,

Hotel Fusion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,042 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,884 reviews
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
2,527 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Address: 140 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2110
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £124 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all modern furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. Hotel Fusion features a dramatic new lobby, lobby bar and restaurant, Taste on Ellis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing