We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
404
163
21
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
163
21
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckfisherman's wharfone bedroom suitecable carhyde streetwell equipped kitchenfull size refrigeratorspacious living roomgreat locationghirardelli squarebuena vistabay and alcatrazliving areafirst floorthe golden gate bridgetwo blockswithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Perfect location for "being a tourist" in San Francisco. Cable car & bus stop right outside the front door although parking garage available. We could see the Bay from our suite and lots of the City. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. The bathroom was a little small, but who wants waste time primping when there is a great city to see! would go back in a second!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, front room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb5037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf is a gem in the city. Only 24 suites with ambiance, plenty of room and a fabulous view of the bay and Alcatraz from the rooftop patio. Only two blocks from the famous Buena Vista cafe and cable car turnaround. Great service from the staff and an excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: The two room suites have balconies with views
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam_macchlerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This hotel was built in 1958 as an apartment building and converted to a residential hotel in 1960. If you're looking for a new modern luxury resort, this is not the place for you. The style is what you would expect considering its vintage, the bathroom and kitchen are small but functional and the railings on the balconies are slightly rusty metal. Also it is on a major bus route and beside the trolley tracks so there is lots of street noise. For this part of our trip, it was the perfect hotel for us (two adults and a teenager).

We had stayed overnight at the airport and arrived at the hotel at 10 am, they provided us with secure luggage storage so we could enjoy our day. When we checked in that afternoon we found our room to be very roomy and very clean and the staff friendly. We stayed in room 301, a one bedroom suite for four nights. The elevator was interesting but slow so I wouldn't recommend the third floor unless you are fit enough to use the stairs, which we did. There was an in-room safe plenty large enough for the laptop and other stuff. The kitchen and bathroom were dated but clean. The bed was comfortable and the sofa bed was very good with a real mattress and good canvas support. The balcony was functional and the roof top deck was great, we even ate our supper there one night (very good vietmamese take out from Grandeho's Kamekyo less than 1/2 block away). The do allow smoking on the roof top deck which we didn't like.

We didn't have a car for this portion of our trip but we did buy a multiday transit pass which worked out great. There is a lot to see and do within walking distance, we used the transit system to go to the Academny of Science which was amazing, the cable car museum which was great also and to Little Italy for an amazing authentic Italian lunch at the Original US Cafe. We took the Mr Toad 90 minute "Hop around the City tour" on our first full day which gave us great information about the city and the recommendation for the Original US Cafe. Michaelis Food Store just a block west, had a great selection of wine and beer. Lori's Diner in Garadelli Square makes great milkshakes and homemade apple pie. The Pier Market had very good Red Curry and Coconut Mussels and Scoma's makes really good clam chowder. We had Vietnamese from Grandeho's Kamekyo twice because it was so good.

For us this was the perfect hotel for this location, clean, comfortable and with room to for the teenager to have some private time. There is no pool or gym but walking around San Francisco was plenty of exercise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GetawayGangAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suites_FW, General Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you for such a comprehensive review! San Francisco is an amazing city to live in and tour around. It sounds like we were the perfect starting point for you and your family and I am very happy that we were able to be of service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at The Suites twice and will stay there again if we go back to San Francisco. You will find The Suites to be clean, quite, nice for the price, and provides great customer service.

Room Tip: Book as far ahead as possible.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We come here every year for Bay to Breakers weekend. The location is unbeatable, but we have been particularly impressed with the great service and the upgrades to the rooms. The rooftop deck is a fabulous place to meet friends for a glass of wine and take in the views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike8641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews