We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #81 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is highly rated for a reason. It is a really good choice, especially if you are traveling with family.

At stated by others, the outside doesn't really call to you, but inside is what counts. The rooms are very clean with comfortable furniture and great layout.

The 1 bedroom suite had a bedroom bordering the inner courtyard so it was super quiet and private. The living room with sleeper sofa was extremely spacious, with floor to ceiling windows along the entire wall (plus good drapes for nighttime).

The kitchen was a nice space next to living room.

The bathroom was clean and workable though not large. There was an extra closet outside the bedroom for those using the sleeper sofa. The sofa was huge.

The balcony was nice. We were on the lowest floor, just above street level. Usually I like to be high and the view would be better high, but we found it fun to stand out there and people watch. The duck boats were funny when they would go by, and the streetcars were interesting.

Keep in mind this is not a 5-star so don't let the great reviews set you up for an expectation of fanciness. But everything was comfortable, clean, working, well-laid-out, and spacious.

Also the location is fantastic. There is a trolley stop in front of the lobby but one block away is the turnstile where the trolley actually starts, which is a better place to get the best seat.

They had a parking garage of their own under the building so the parking rates, though seemingly high, were less that half of everything else we have seen in the area. Plus they let us leave our car until 2PM after we checked out.

They are 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf shops and entertainment. Great views, even from lower floors. Nice deck on roof.

Staff is super friendly.
This will be my first choice for this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    154
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
236
221
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is older looking on the outside but the interior and the rooms have been upgraded and are very nice. My wife and I had a one bedroom suite (Room 305) which had plenty of room throughout except the bathroom was quite small. The suite was well equipped with a full kitchen with all the appliances you would need to cook if you chose to do so. We had requested a room on the third floor with a balcony for the view. We got the third floor but no balcony and our view was that of another building. Try and get a room with a view. The hotel is close to the wharf where there is lots to see and do and also close to the cable car turnaround. The front desk people were very helpful and the hotel offers free wifi in the rooms and a computer in the front lobby for use of the guests

Room Tip: Third floor with a balcony. make sure you don't get 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper122151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This place isn't the prettiest on the outside but it's the opposite of Vegas where all the money is spent front of house. We wanted a comfortable apartment for five nights in this beautiful city and that's definitely what we got. On top of that we had a beautiful view of the Bay and Alcatraz from our balcony. Gleaming clean kitchen with thoughtful inclusions like dishwasher detergent, laundry liquid and - at last, a first on our travels - an actual kettle! Comfy bed and good linens in the bedroom - the sofa bed not so much. Poor water pressure in the shower. I thought only one wc/shower would be a problem with three adults but it was fine. Nice big living area, even with the sofa bed left open. Proper table and chairs for eating or playing cards. Two tv sets if that's your thing. LOCATION is fantastic. On top of all that, a pretty roof terrace where you can sit and enjoy views of Golden Gate Bridge, Sausalito, Alcatraz and the Bay Bridge as well as the city streets below. EXCELLENT staff (thanks to Edgar, Justin and Chris) who go the extra mile for people and were so good to us.. A few minutes' walk from Wharf, cable car stops almost outside the door. F Line (streetcar) stops right out front. Bus stop too. TIP: Buy a Muni pass on your first day and you can use it on cables, trams, buses. You'll save $s. Get it from Walgreens round the corner.

Room Tip: We had room 300. We booked nine months in advance. Best view in entire building. Top floor so not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlelambSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suites_FW, General Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your nice comments! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay here. One of the major projects I am looking to get accomplished next is the exterior of the building. We want to have the outside match the inside.

Hopefully in the future we can welcome you back to The Suites should you visit San Francisco again. Until then, CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Center, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Located a short distance to Ghiradelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf, the location is hard to beat. The rooftop terrace offers spectacular views of the bay, with Alcatraz in the foreground.

The suite was ok - pretty standard with kitchenette, living room, bedroom. The bathroom is pretty small and cramped, but this is San Francisco and space is precious, I guess. The view from our room was disappointing as we look into another building only feet away. On the other hand, the room was away from the street and we weren't kept awake with the traffic noise. Can't say the same about the fog horns last night, but that is the price for staying near the bay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We used our Shell Vacation Club (now Wyndham) points and I would say it was a very good value for us. Would definitely consider staying here again next time we feel the urge to visit San Francisco.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CNielsen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We apologize that the view from your unit was disappointing and for the noise you experienced from the fog horns. We know that being comfortable and relaxed is important when on vacation. It’s great to hear you found the staff friendly and we hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I had a great time with my wife at this location. The suite is clean and very comfortable. It is walking distance to the wharf and shops. There is a shuttle stop right next to the suites that takes you to Union Square.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank grievecrema I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hi Ricardo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed clean units and resort location. We hope you come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived at the Suites after staying at Santa Cruz on 10/10/13, our arrival was met with politeness and the member of staff couldn't have been more helpful, allowed to put our cases into storage as not able to book in till 4pm, this enabled us to then have a look round San Francisco without hindrance. When we finally checked in at just after 6pm due to having been on an Alkatraz cruise and open top bus ride we were not disappointed with the suite which was a total surprise and well worth staying in. The view from the top of the suite block is outstanding as you can see San Francisco and the bay, wonderful, would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Suite 102 was facing the road but nevertheless we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the friendly staff and resort accommodations. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, US
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I chose SFW for my week with my two girlfriends in my favorite city to visit. As usual, check in was flawless, and Edgar, Cris, and Rowena at the Front Desk were all quite helpful with every request. We had a problem with a malfunctioning door lock and Chris Boggess, the General Manager for the Property, happened to be on site and helped expedite repair and ultimate replacement of the lock mechanism.

The only challenge with three women in the apartment was having only one bathroom, but we worked out a schedule and used the desk near the kitchen with its mirror, lamp,and natural light for makeup as well as using the mirrored closet doors in the bedroom . Having a kitchen for breakfast in and late night snacks is always a major plus, and we made use of the rooftop deck on two afternoons for wine and cheese feasts while waiting for sunset.

Glad to see that the change in ownership of the property, as well as the departure of longtime manger Miguel, has not diminished service or the overall experience here. I am already plotting to get back early next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJ_ThursdaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We will share this information with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to fully assist with any concerns. It’s great to hear you fully enjoyed the resort and unit amenities made available. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,062 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 2655 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing