We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #83 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

At first look, I must admit the place didnt look promising from outside, but inside we found fantastic, modern, spacious self-contained suites which were well fitted out and great value.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

There is even a cable car stop right out front of the suites which was an absolute bonus.

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gormo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    153
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
234
221
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have been traveling to San Francisco for 25 years and have stayed at 10 different hotels. We will never again have to search for a hotel because this hotel will always be our first choice. It met all of our criteria, location, price, cleanliness, friendly staff, kitchen and size of room. It was an easy walk to shops and restaurants and the cable car and bus are right outside the door. We stayed on the first floor and were worried about the noise from street traffic and cable cars but found that they were not an issue. The rooftop terrace was an added bonus. The kitchen had everything you would need to prepare a meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jobiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for you nice review, jobiemom. With so many choices of hotels in the city, thank you for choosing to stay with us. As you mentioned that you have been traveling to San Francisco for so many years, please do not hesitate to contact us here at The Suites when you wish to return.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had a recent stay at the Suites for a business trip it has been over 25 years since I visited San Francisco. The cost of living has sky rocketed when faced with finding a hotel that met my travel budget it was difficult everything downtown was outrageous after a little searching I came across this Hotel (which actually is a time share property) it was affordable and was like having an efficiency apartment rather then a room. Since I knew I would be at a conference all day I knew I did not want to be trapped in a standard or deluxe size room sitting on a chair using it for a desk and my dinner table etc... if I was going to spend 4 nights living and working from here I needed room to move. These wonderfully equipped suites were just the thing yes they are worthy of all the reviews just the right size for 2-4 guests they have everything you will ever need for your stay. Very quiet restful, even with cable cars going up the street I got used to that pretty quick and it just added a certain ambience to the whole San Fran experience. Literally 2 blocks to the beach and all the Fisherman's Wharf you could ever want, great food and views in every direction it is even set on the most charming little street you've ever seen. The bed amazing shower was sublime and the couch and furniture was so cozy it did feel like home away from home.
The only drawback is the parking it is crowded and like playing a game of Tetris every night with the car, however if you are assigned a spot you will get one I would highly suggest leave the Suburban at home and use the economy car. The entire staff was warm welcoming and helpful, special thanks to Chris who checked us in and made wonderful suggestion on travel shopping and dining around town. I will comeback for a visit and I definitely know where I will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor conveniently adjacent to the indoor atrium and we had a very nice private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mommabear651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
mommabear651,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am very happy you had such a good time staying with us. I also would like to thank you for mentioning my staff by name. They try very hard to ensure every guest enjoys their time at The Suites and it is very nice to see them recognized for it.

You mentioned the crowded parking. TETRIS is a very apt description! Parking in San Francisco is at a premium and the larger vehicles will definitely have a harder time than the smaller vehicles.

Thank you again for all of the positive comments. Don't let another 25 years go by before you visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The property looks great. It has always had such a wonderful location. The new renovatiosn make all the difference. Good price point very attentive staff and now it will be my first choice in the Bay area for evey trip. Nice job!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karl y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you, karl y, for review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please remember us when you return to San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent five glorious nights at the Suites at Fisherman's wharf from Feb. 15 to the 20th. Traveling with my husband and 14-year old son, the suites offered everything we wanted. Just a few blocks from Fisherman's wharf, you can walk anywhere on the wharf, including the Pier to Alcatraz, but it's far enough away if you want to escape the noise and activity. We especially loved the roof top deck, with the most spectacular views of Alcatraz, the Golden Gate bridge and the beautiful Ghiradelli Square chocolate building, only a block away for the best ice cream. My son and I made it our ritual to start every morning with a visit to the rooftop and see if the bridge was fogged in or not. We ended each day with a beautiful view at night as well. Surprisingly, we only saw one other guest up there the entire trip.

The cable car is just outside the door, with the turnaround a block away. Based on reviews we read, we requested a room in the back to avoid the cable car noise, which we never heard once. The suite was immaculate, with an incredibly well stocked kitchen, which was lost on us since we only had breakfast in the room each day, wanting to eat out in fabulous San Fran as much as possible.

The front desk staff were all fabulous. Special thanks to Chris, who was super attentive to us, and helpful with our many transportation related questions. She also arranged our car service in from the airport, which made traveling to the hotel super easy and just a few dollars more than a cab.

It's also close but a challenging uphill walk to Lombard Street and a fun walk down the stairway. We rented bikes just half a block away to ride over the golden gate bridge and the bike path starts only a block away. That was one of the highlights of our trip on a crystal clear and beautiful day. The location of this hotel is just perfect!!

My son said the pull out sleep sofa was the most comfortable of anyplace we have stayed. We only wish we had one more day to explore the neighborhood near the Suites since it looked like such a great area with shops and restaurants, but we always had an agenda of sights to see.

We also booked a one day trip to Santa Cruz to zip line through the giant redwoods through Mt. Hermon Adventures and rented a car for the day from Enterprise just 3 blocks away. Santa Cruz was only a 1 1/2 hr. trip and we took the Pacific Coast highway back to see the breathtaking views.

We will definitely stay here again and can't wait to return!!! Thanks to all at the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf for making this one of our best family vacations!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 304, in the back. No view but so quiet! And the top floor is guaranteed no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tripledecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A short 3 night stay was very comfortable. Everything was very nice, the staff, the bed, the shower, and we really did feel like we were at home and not at a hotel. The suite setting is wonderful to have. We would stop by a couple of times each day for a respite. The location is absolutely perfect. We shall return.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony. We did not have one but I wished we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WayneSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Could not find fault with this property, was fantastic from the minute we arrived right until we checked out. The staff were fantastic, the room was beautiful and the location was perfect.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the third floor which had a small balcony to look right out to Alcatraz. The beds were good quality so we all slept well. The view from the sorting area on the roof is spectacular and must not be missed.

Our room was serviced dealt which we weren't expecting so that was a treat. The full sized kitchen was very handy and had everything we needed.


It's a short walk down to Fishermans Wharf and the cable car terminus.

Should we return we will definitely stay here again, it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeanneTonyNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 2655 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing