We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One sandwich is enough for two”

Viking's Giant Subs
Ranked #890 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Marina District
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One sandwich is enough for two”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We spotted Viking's from our hotel room and decided if it could make a "go of it" in the high rent district of San Francisco, we'd see how.

Very fast sandwich service. Salads and soft drinks too. Limited seating.

Picked it up and walked to the Marina for a late afternoon picnic. Perfect.

Helpful?
Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Sub Sandwich”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a small store that offered a reasonable number of different sandwiches, sides and drinks. Since the store is small seating is limited.

I had the meatball sub and found it to be very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Great subs! Get the giant Viking - it's basically and Italian hogie if you are from the East like us. Very good and the bun has sesame seeds on it! Yum!-

Helpful?
Thank CA_Blond_SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great family run sandwich shop”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were walking up Lombard Street desparately looking for somewhere to use the bathroom and saw Viking Subs and made an early call for lunch. We shared a large Pizza sub (which was enough for two). The surroundings are a bit on the basic side but the sandwich was absolutely delicious and toasted to perfection. The place is family run and very friendly, the owner was only too pleased to help us with directions to see us on our way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank matthewjfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to Grab a Sanwich”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

One of the best bargains in San Francisco. The turkey and the meatball subs are very tasty and a bargain for San Francisco!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichlandTripsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viking's Giant Subs also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Viking's Giant Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing