We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and a gorgeous view!”
Review of Camera Obscura

Camera Obscura
Shreveport, LA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fascinating and a gorgeous view!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a very simple attraction, with a small entrance fee. You basically walk into a room that is a projection of the outside view of the ocean and seal rock using very basic camera technology. It's fascinating and worth the hike up the small overlook to see it. It may only take minutes to view, but it is something you will never forget because it is so very fascinating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetsinclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frostburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Was here in the summer of 1990; glad to see it's still around. The images that are projected onto the viewing surface appear almost surreal-hard to explain! Make sure that you visit on a sunny day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brisbaneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Interesting but not worth price”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had read about this attraction in a tour book. Sounded kind of interesting so I decided to check it out. I spent a day wandering all over and through Golden Gate Park with the plan being hitting up the Camera Obscura at the end. I got out to the beach and went down to the water before making the short trek up the hill to the attraction. It was pretty overcast and the cashier told me the visibility wasn't that great to get full effect of the camera. It was $5 and I was interested in seeing it, not knowing what to expect, so I decide to go in anyway. It's a small very dark room. A giant table in the center. Mirrors project a 360 image onto the table of the surroundings outside. Seal Rock is there, but on this day it was hard to see due to fog and there wed no seals lumbering on the rocks either. It's kind of interesting if you're into photography and such but $5 seems a bit much to walk in for a few seconds and see this. I guess they need money to keep it up and operating but it still seems a bit much for what you're actually experiencing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well....”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Read all the rave reviews so trekked over to see this place. Lovely scenery and the views were amazing! However the camera itself is a little lacking....We paid $3 each to see it and spent about 3 minutes inside looking...made us dizzy and it's not much of a building either....Wouldn't worry about doing this but definitely go to the area and look around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1proudmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for the kids!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

It is a shame more people don't know about this - it's wonderful!! Our kids, (and we), were fascinated by the camera obscura, as well as the history behind it. Every time I have been here, I have been amazed, and was glad to share this with my children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliput14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camera Obscura also viewed

 

Been to Camera Obscura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing