We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but thats it!”
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #140 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This place is awful - its dirty, the staff are unhelpful and breakfast is all gone by 7.30am. We very rarely write bad reviews but seeing as we rely on trip adviser for all of our hotel bookings we thought we ought to write the truth. It is however in a good location and has good parking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheBennetts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Golden Gate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Room not so clearn have some dust on A/C, small room, next to restaurant that make a noise but after 11 pm that ok. Front dest was very nice and friendly, delicious breakfast and good location.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

When we arrived the desk clerk was friendly and helpful, but when we checked into our room we found small black granules in the creases of the mattress. We were told that they were "mascara". Thinking these might be bedbug eggs, we asked for a different room. They did give us an alternate room which had a cleaner mattress. They had an eco air system in each room which left a strong pine scent and the rooms were not overly clean. The hotel is within a couple blocks of public transportation but a long ride to any of the tourist areas. When we asked about printing our boarding passes for our return flight, we were told there was a place about 8 blocks away where we could do it - no facilities available for custormers at the hotel. We would not have stayed there at all, but there were two huge conventions in town and rooms were extrememly hard to find.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so moving luggage could be a problem.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank se1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The room is pretty average but clean. They have very limited parking so we parked on the street close by, not a big inconvenience but I would have been happier parking in the hotel lot. Still, a very good find, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

First, let me say my rating is more like a 3.5. Now, I'm not knocking the location at all. We wanted to stay at a place away from the tourists despite wanting to do one or two things near the Embarcadero area. Glad we did as this hotel was close to the Pacific Heights area and in a good neighborhood. We took public transport and one of the best things about this hotel is the free parking so we didn't have to worry about the car until we needed it (which wasn't very often). It is first come first served, but just time your parking for the middle of the day if you can.

The area isn't too far from the Union St. shopping area and was right next to the Presidio. Straight bus line to Haight Ashbury and Golden Gate park too. (Could walk it but it was a little long).

The room was acceptable. Clean enough. Don't expect the Ritz. I would stay there again and in fact, considering the prices of most San Fran hotels this was a bargain. Wish we had more time to explore because we see cute little shopping and restaurant areas not far away.

Room Tip: Park in the middle of the day to ensure a spot. Also, if you don't mind public transport (and y...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 6continents_counting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 6 nights. It is a very small inn with very limited parking but ssince we had no car it wasn't a problem. Rooms are very clean, bed is very comfy. Each morning there is coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit & pastries, although there is no place to eat except for in your room. No prob. Coffee and tea are still available throughout the day & evening. No restaurant on premises. This hotel is in a nice, quiet neighborhood and within walking distance of several bus lines to take you to Fisherman's Wharf or downtown. Plenty of eateries and a Walgreen's drugstore nearby as well. Staff are nice. They can arrange a shuttle van to take you to the airport for $15 per person. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, clean, simple accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonCorona_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

In the world of budget hotels in SF with at least some parking, this was a good bargain. As noted above the breakfast is nothing much, but about what you expect. The room was clean and neat and larger than I expcted. The location is convenient for a lot of things - easy to catch a bus here to Golden Gate park or lots of other areas. The Marina is loaded with pretty decent restaurants within walking distance. The entrance to the Presidio is right next door. The parking situation is advertised as "limited free parking" which is honest enough - limited in that there are about half as many spaces as rooms. Street parking is fairly available around here, but limited to 3 hours during weekdays - not nights or weekends. This would be much more of a hassle for someone who wanted to drive around the area while staying here. We parked on the street the first night, then got a space in the morning in the lot and never moved the car again during our stay (public transit here is as good as anywhere in the US), so it was not bad for us Price was excellent. For a budget motel in SF, about as good as you can do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicoDavidRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 230 in San Francisco
667 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
766 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#147 of 230 in San Francisco
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £109 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing