We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Golden Gate
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zephyr(San Francisco)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$512
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
36
107
57
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
107
57
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalace of fine artsthe presidiochestnut streetfree parkingcrissy fieldfisherman's wharfmorning pastriescomfortable mattressesbus routesroom was cleangolden gategreat budget hotellombard stquiet staytransit systemmarina districtfree breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Very clean, quiet, and convenient hotel for an affordable (compared to other SFO hotels) price. Glad we didn't pay top dollar (or rack rate) for this as it was not really worth the posted rate. Got a decent rate off a discount site. Parking was available in the afternoon but not at night; however, it was very easy to find street parking. This advantage (free/easy parking) gives the hotel a definite advantage. Don't believe the "free breakfast" - think not-so-great donuts and basic cup of brewed coffee. Room was dark (back in a corner) but it was servicable. Nothing to do at the hotel except sleep -- which was all we needed. Not sure it would be a great choice if you have small kids along (just because of size). A good choice for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter (away from Lombard Street); they are also quite dark. Didn't need to run A/C or Heat which was nice. Clean air filters were a nice touch.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfishrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The owners are Indian and quite helpful. We stayed here for 3 nights, total price was $225, this was less than the price we saw on the internet.

Parking space is very limited, I guess there were 10 available places so we got one and left the car there for all of the three days.
Location is great, you can reach everything by foot or bus, we did everything by foot because we liked to walk and see the beautiful city.

The wifi connection is very good.

The room was clean and the shower was good.

The breakfast was very small but we were ok with that.

I would really recommend this motel to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel was not my first choice, but it was in effect my only choice as almost all hotels in San Francisco were booked when I was looking for a hotel.

Opinions may differ about the location. It's definitely not downtown. There is no subway/bart nearby, so you need to have a car, a bike or take the bus to get near Market St. or Union Square. But, it is right next to the Presidio and not too far from the Golden Gate Bridge. I'd say the location is not perfect, but it could be worse. It is primarily a motel and if you do come by car, the location is just fine of course. Just a few blocks away is Chestnut Street with all its shops and diners. The whole neighborhood is quite nice actually.

The hotel itself is fairly basic. The rooms are fine and well kept. I slept very well. There is a TV, which I didn't use. They don't serve breakfast, but in the morning they offer coffee and some fruit in the office downstairs. WiFi is free and works very well, not just in the office but also in the rooms.

I didn't really need the staff that much, but when I did ask them a few things (like which bus to take or where to get some dinner), they were very helpful and clearly knew the city and neighborhood well. Check in and check out were easy and fast.

One issue: the water pressure in the shower is not very good. If you know the episode from Seinfeld where Newman, Jerry and Kramer lose the pressure in their showers and their hair looks terrible because of it.. well, you get the picture.

Next time I hope to find an affordable place downtown, but this is not because I didn't like this place. If you don't mind the location, this hotel is worth your consideration.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
San Francisco
1
Reviewed 29 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I've stayed in this small, family-owned motel twice now, and can report the following:

First, the property is well-situated in terms of being in a good, safe neighbourhood: seconds away from the Golden Gate Bridge and the Presidio, minutes from Union Street and the Marina, and a hop, skip, and jump from Fisherman's Wharf, etc. Union Square, Chinatown, etc. are a bit further away but the motel is very near electric bus service with routes straight there. The staff are friendly and will provide information on public transport.

Secondly, the amenities are less impressive than the locale (but wait - see Point #3, below!); the rooms are small and there is a $3 fee to activate the mini-fridge in each one. My room was clean and quiet on both occasions I stayed there. Beds are '*meh*', but not uncomfortable. But now:

Third: the Price. The price, for a clean, quiet, well-situated room in San Francisco is UNBELIEVABLE! In a GOOD way... Normally, to find this sort of price in San Francisco you have to either be in the Tenderloin (bad area) or out at the Beach (far away), or stay in a hostel or other situation with shared bathroom facilities. Here, you get a good, safe area with a clean (if small) room for a sweet (for S.F.) price.

You can't beat it! You can't beat it with a stick!

Room Tip: Obviously, the rooms on the second floor will be slightly quieter than a ground floor room will be; however, there is no lift (elevator), so if you require one, take that into your considerations.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CAPatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews