We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Hotel”
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #140 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Burgess, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adequate Hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We can't speak for all of the rooms, however, we stayed in Room 15 and the bathroom needed some TLC. There was mold on the grout in the bathroom and the drain cover was loose. The cleaning staff was not very through as we found a plastic cup on the floor in the corner near the air conditioner. Otherwise, the room was well appointed. We found the front desk staff helpful and the continental breakfast of juice and pastries good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim0244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    96
    55
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
83
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 18 nights at the Country Hearth. The room was comfortable and clean and everything worked perfectly such as TV,Wi-Fi Lights, Hot Water and Air-conditioning during the entire period.
The front desk staff were extremely helpfull and knowledgeable about San Francisco. The cleaning staff were friendly and saw to all our needs. The hotel is close to MUNI transport which resulted in no taxi service neccessary during the entire period for myself, wife and wheelchair daughter.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for reasonably priced accomodation in close proximity to Chestnut Street and short Muni rides to Union, Market, Haight and the Wharf

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGA700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Rocki hellped me out alot. she gave me some directions to places I need to go. Breakfast was not bad starter. Every then and now there was no parking, but the stay was well worth it. room was clean and comfy. the housecleaning lady was helpful and resourceful as well. I would recommend this inn to anyone who wants a decent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The receptionist was especially helpful. Found our way around with their help. The room was clean. everything was good. But parking there was no parking. definately would recommend this motel to anyone who wants descent stay afoordableprices.

Room Tip: Choose 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had the small room above the reception. Clean room & in a quiet area at night. Free parking comes in very handy in the busy city. Leave your car there & use the MUNI system to get around.
The receptionist clued us in to the public transport system & theres a bus stop to all the good stuff just round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_Lamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this motel in San Francisco. It is quite far from the centre but very near to the Golden Gate Bridge and the Presidio Park. Very well served by buses. No subway or tramway or cable cars in the vicinity.
The room was spacious and clean, although not very bright.
Breakfast is available at the reception room but only to take away. Quite poor breakfast and the personnel of the hotel checks the amount of pastries taken, usually not more than one per person. Breakfast not available after 9 o’clock.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonMacLaisheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faifax, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I normally travel on a budget when coming to SF, since I never spend any time in the hotel other than to shower and sleep. So the Country Hearth Inn (which was mistakenly reported on one of the travel sites as being in Fisherman's Wharf) seemed like a good choice when my normal Wharf Inn was full. The free parking and free WiFi were also attractive. I was forewarned from previous reviews about the parking; there are about 8 spots, but usually (emphasis on "usually") you can find free parking on the streets, assuming you don't mind getting up before 7:30am to move your car. I was impressed by how nice the woman was when I checked in...and that was where I ceased to be impressed. The room was no frills for sure, although it was clean. The carpeting was torn, the TV had a horrible picture, the towels felt like burlap bags, the curtains didn't block out all the light, and the springs could easily be felt through the bed. To top it off, despite signs at the office which read that no guests were welcome in the rooms (which should have been a clue), someone came pounding on all of the doors at 2am until he found his friend--who unfortunately was in the room next to mine. Which furthered my impression that the walls are paper-thin, as I could hear their conversation until about 5am. There goes the sleep portion of my stay. They offered pastries and coffee in the morning, with a sign insisting that the guest take the pastries back to the room. I guess because eating them in the 10ft square office was appealing? Oh yeah, and the WiFi worked for about 4hrs before crapping out. Next time, I'll pay an additional $50 to get some sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#157 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Property: Inn at Golden Gate
Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing