We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not centrally located but a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #142 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not centrally located but a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel/motel is located at the far western end of Lombard street, which means it is not close to the 'Crookest Street' section which is a tourist attraction. We spent 4 nights here in August, without a car. Within walking distance you can get to the shoreline near the Golden Gate, and the Palace of Fine Arts, a great place to visit and take pictures. Fisherman's Wharf is too far to walk but buses are near by. In fact, we took a bus to the end of one line to the Caltrain station, where we took a train to Mountain View. Daily housekeeping is done well and our room was always clean. In the morning a continental breakfast is served at 7, free, and it is pretty good. Wi-fi is free too. As the hotel to close to a street, one can hear buses stopping and going early in the morning. Another negative would be a limited choice of places to eat nearby, unlike the centrally located hotel we also stayed in. For example, I don't see a Starbuck around the hotel. Mike at the front desk was knowledgeable and helpful. So overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room away from the street to avoid early-morning traffic noise. If you drive, make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    94
    52
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
78
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved our room here. We stayed here three nights. The bed was comfortable, very clean room, and the staff were extremely friendly and informative. My favourite part was the angled bathtub. Least favourite part was the cramped parking. However, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely stay here again! Will be recommending this place to our friends.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Young051813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The first thing we noticed when we tried to get to sleep the first night was that we could hear the someone in another room snoring! That is how thin the walls are. But it is a really central location. Really easy to get around, it was clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor might be quieter as you would not be able to hear anyone walking around, or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massies Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location near bus service and can was to Presidio, Crissy Field, and a couple of nice restaurants. The help staff was very friendly. The breakfast is extremely limited so don't plan on getting filled up from that. The location was safe and convenient and the room was completely adequate; clean and large.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezzz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff there were very nice and accommodating. Last year we stayed at the super 8 across the street and it was awful, the country hearth inn is much better!! The breakfast, service, and rooms are much nicer than I had expected here. The breakfast lobby has places to sit while you eat and if you want a waffle they'll make one for you. They also have a toasting machine that can toast your bagels and bread. The room had a stand in shower that was spacious and toilet were in one room. The sink was in the main room that had a giant mirror and a makeup mirror. On the bathroom door there was a full body morrow as well. Considering as to how I have to see myself from every angle while I get ready this was perfect for me! I highly recommend this place to everyone. Great price and great stay! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrick118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location: practically next to the Presidio and on a quiet street. Palace of the Fine Arts is a very walkable distance away. Nice restaurants very close by. The people in the front office were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank HeyTakeMeAwayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The staff is accommodating and friendly.. They gave us many helpful tips.
The location is within walking distance from the Golden Gate Bridge. The room is clean and quiet. There are many buses that will take you downtown and to the Wharf.

I would definitely return there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#166 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#161 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Property: Inn at Golden Gate
Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing