We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely Historic Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very lovely Historic Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My boyfriend and I live in the Presidio and experienced an issue one week that required us to seek shelter elsewhere...(aka there was a rat in our wall who was eating our food and creeping us out)...so we checked in last minute to the inn one night..I was so impressed!! The decor is my favorite, whoever is the interior designer and style consultant...good work! We actually wanted to purchase the chair in our room, among other things. But other than that, this place is so beautiful. I love the Presidio, especially the morning fog and smell of trees and moisture in the morning...this place is well worth staying if you visit San Francisco. we also did enjoy the breakfast and the nice communal vibe there, lots of nice and friendly people staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    74
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
188
269
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

For anyone doing a west coast car trip with a dog, but wanting an elegant San Francisco experience, this is the perfect urban solution. The Presidio is magical itself and the building is so beautifully restored. Trails, outdoor areas, parking and a wonderful staff. Everything is done in such good taste. I don't think I could stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mks323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A wildlife oasis just steps from SF. Quiet, serene, tastefully decorated...friendly, professional staff. Generous breakfast buffet and wine-and-cheese hour. Unique history and world-class views of the SF Bay and Golden Gate Bridge. Stroll or ride a (free) bike across verdant lawns, or hike the wooded trails. Choose a ground floor room if stairs are an issue, as there is no elevator.

Overall a special adventure at a luxury level.

Room Tip: The new Funston cottage has its own lovely sitting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I love this place! This was my second stay at this beautiful Inn. The staff was welcoming, attentive and caring. The guest rooms are a nice size and tastefully decorated. Complimentary wine & cheese was served in the evening as well as a morning breakfast. I enjoyed reading with my morning coffee while relaxing in a rocking chair on the front porch, a great way to start my day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy94507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, Brooklyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Is it the comfort of the foghorns that bellow not to far into the distance? Is it the fact that you are greeted with the deference and courtesy normally reserved for a decorated Sergeant Major? Is it the gallant roll of your car through the swooping hills of Presidio as you approach this proud and polished red brick building that leave you feeling quite a bit Eisenhower, Dwight D? Is it sharing a fine hall with the spirits of youthful, patriotic and gung-ho dough boy soldiers from such a proud period of our nation's history? Is it being high on San Francisco, a city so unique that it offers us this place, this ode to both nature and civilization, the Presidio, a second city unlike anyplace at any other town in the world.

It is bold, both the Presidio, and it's Inn. Guests are treated with warmth and accommodations are elegant and straightforward, just as you'd imagine a fine soldier might present himself. Rooms are outfitted as if McArthur married a slightly more modern Martha Stewart and the couple's child-designer had an even more careful eye for comfort coupled with nostalgia and detail.

The air smells as if it is the world's largest open air spa and aroma therapy is professionally served 24 hours per day.

Family gatherings are well supported by this facility, or it will also make for a fine romantic getaway. Bonus points for thoughtfulness and creativity will be awarded without the effort or risk required of other merits and citations. If you should be on business and a 20-minute commute to city center does not alarm you, this is an oasis for the goer who travels here on professional call.

The Presidio Inn. Organized, but at ease.

Room Tip: Each room was formerly the room of a bachelor soldier, as this was the hall reserved for unmarried s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

All of my family kept thanking me and congratulating me on finding the Inn. It doesn't take long to get to any of the sights, and it was a lovely, quiet retreat after sight seeing. We saw wild parrots in the vicinity and watched them having breakfast while sipping coffee on the front porch. Breakfast, wine and snacks, and PARKING are all included. The fireplace was an unexpected bonus. The staff all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wine Country of Northern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Presidio of San Francisco is steeped in history, legend and lore. To be able to stay where legions of commissioned officers were billeted, in truly outstanding and updated accommodations is a once in a lifetime experience.
From the moment you enter the Inn and are greeted warmly by the staff, to the "Wine & Cheese" at Five in the dinning room, to the fog horns gently sounding in the background as you rest in your room and drift off to a sound sleep, only to be invited to a continental breakfast as you plan your day, hiking, biking walking or exploring "the City".
An experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Each room is an adventure in good taste. Common areas abound for gathering with freinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManoirGirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing