We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn the "heart" of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inn the "heart" of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Located in the historical heart of SF...walk, bike, drive, hike, golf ... great location for connecting to the landmarks like Land's End, Golden Gate Bridge, Palace of Fine Art, Legion of Honor, GG Park .. take the shuttle for downtown and all points of the Cable cars and ferries in the harbour ... delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    74
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
188
269
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The inn was excellent. My friends and I truly enjoyed the design of the rooms, the great and friendly staff, the wine and cheese by the fire-pit at 5pm and a wonderful yet healthy breakfast in the morning. Also adding to the amazing staff with much knowlege of the history of the presidio itself but also of the surronding area and best ways to travel and enjoy the near by sites. Close is a free shuttle to downtown, bikes you can borrow to enjoy the sites, and an array of amazing restaraunts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at the Inn for a girls weekend in April, and was blown away. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon, just in time for wine and cheese by the fire-pit. We were close to everything and even used the free shuttle that comes every 30 minutes to get around. Our trip included a bike ride around the city (we borrowed the bikes from the Inn) and a mini hike behind the Inn, (yes they have hiking trails!!) The staff at the Inn were accommodating, friendly and the location couldn't be better. The rooms were very clean and included a sofa sleeper that was very comfortable. Every morning there was a continental breakfast that served fresh pastries, fruit and coffee. I've been to San Fran a few times and this surpassed my expectations. I saw a different side of San Fran and can't wait to bring my hubby. Be sure to ask the staff about the history of the hotel. Overall, great B&B that is close to the city, yet far enough to relax. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have traveled within the US as well as abroad and try to stay in historic buildings when possible. We are also members of The Trust for Historic Preservation and appreciate the special properties that hold so many memories of our country.

We were looking forward to spending a weekend at the Inn at the Presidio. We were given a two room suite with a comfortable king bed and queen pull out sofa (comfort level could be improved on the queen). We were facing the street so the road noise was to be expected. The room with the queen had a door leading to the covered porch that runs along the front of the hotel where you can sit and enjoy the weather and a distant view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The rooms and bathroom were both spacious and well appointed. The individual heaters made it easy to control and maintain comfortable temperatures in the sleeping areas as well as the bathroom. There were large pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and bathing soap in the shower. This was a nice change from the little bottles you normally get in most hotels that you have to squeeze the life out of to get the soap.

The reason the title of this review is "Nice, but noisy" is because of the doors leading to the hotel rooms, not the street noise. The hinges on these doors should be changed to a hardware that keeps them from slamming. Normally when guests leave their rooms they just walk out the door and let it close behind them which is fine as long as the hinge keeps it from slamming. I cannot remember the last hotel we stayed in where we had this problem. Some of the guests left their rooms around 6:30 am which again is fine as long as the remaining guests don't have to listen to the doors slamming over and over. This may seem picky on my part, but I stopped counting after eight doors slammed. This is a simple fix that can be accomplished by the hotel without damaging the integrity of the period doors.

Another area that could use a bit of attention is the breakfast. I believe the Inn started offering this amenity not long ago so I do not want to be harsh as management may still be trying different foods. If you are hungry and don't want to wait and find a restaurant, the breakfast will do in a pinch.

The hotel is lovely and comfortable. If you are an early riser and/or can sleep through anything, then by all means stay at the Inn at the Presidio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Inn for our son's 8th birthday and our 17th wedding anniversary. I know, very different celebrations! But the Inn was perfect for both. It's incredible location in the park allowed a bit of elbow room for the boys (we have two - 8 and 10). And the continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception made it so easy and relaxing for my husband and I. We're looking forward to making this an annual trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCResorts44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Tucked away in the Presidio Park, the Inn at the Presidio is a perfect retreat from the city. The location is peaceful, safe and perfect to relax outside around the fire pit or to take a walk in the park. The rooms are very comfortable and large and the staff friendly and helpful. Since the Inn is located in the park, there are few restaurants nearby. While the Inn is highly recommended, travelers with wheel chair accessibility should contact the hotel directly before booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed three nights in a Classic King Suite in early March, breaking a journey from New Zealand back to the UK. The Inn was excellent with well furnished and comfortable public rooms, very good continental buffet breakfast, and a great outdoor gas fire-pit that proved an ideal location for sitting and talking to other guests while enjoying the complimentary early evening wine and cheese. Very comfortable, spacious and well equipped suite, with rocking chairs on the terrace outside the room. The Presidio is a quiet location, out of town, but with easy access to the town centre. Local restaurants are within walking distance of the Inn. The Taxi service arranged by the Inn was excellent and good value, both for airport transfers and trips to and from town. There is also a free shuttle bus between the Presidio and the town centre. The Inn would be a great base for exploring the wider area, but a car would be necessary.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing