We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Presidio
Ranked #3 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Inn is so well done, and is located in such a special, historical place. When you stay in the Presidio, there is a sense of space and nature. As opposed to other hotels in the city where you feel more closed in and concrete is waiting outside your door. Here there are nature trails and plenty of green space to run, bike or just sit and have a picnic while taking in the great view of the Golden Gate. The rooms were spacious and lovely, the wine reception was such a nice touch, the outdoor fire pit and breakfast were fantastic. We did not want to leave. The staff was also so helpful and informative when we arrived...they were very welcoming to us weary travelers.

The Commisary Restaurant was walking distance, as well as other choices. We got lucky and were there on a Thursday night so we could take advantage of the "Off The Grid" food truck "fair" a block or two away...super good bites to try and a gorgeous setting. The Disney Family Museum is also a block or two away and was absolutely fantastic. We have two children, 12 and 14 y.o., and we ALL loved it...fun, informative and not so big as to feel over-whelmed.

We cannot wait to return...kudos to the management here!

Room Tip: we had a street level room and it was just fine...no noise at night and have to have the front porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamasitaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    74
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
188
269
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. We booked a king sized suite which was absolutely huge and included a large sitting room area, bedroom and bathroom. The decor was in keeping with the history of the Inn and and many of the original features have been maintained. The rest of the property is also beautifully maintained. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious as were the evening 'nibbles'. There is also a lovely outside area which includes a fire pit and rocking chairs. The staff were all incredibly helpful and gave lots of advice about the San Francisco area. The Inn is in a very peaceful location and access to the city is made easy by a free shuttle service and inexpensive public transport. If necessary the staff are also able to arrange taxis to and from the city, the drivers were extremely professional and the rates are very reasonable. We stayed for 5 nights and our time at the Inn was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: We had a king suite which had lovely views of the Presidio and San Francisco Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil2paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
250 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have been wanting to stay here since it opened so I booked a room about 8 months in advance as they have always been booked out on past san francisco trips. The location for me was exactly what I had hoped and expected. It's in a beautifully maintained officer's building, easy to get around the Presidio by walking or if you must, there's a shuttle bus that runs through. The concierge is great at explaining the transportation options. If you are looking to explore San Francisco's true beauty this is the place to stay, especially if you enjoy walking.

The rooms are newly renovated and I think all different sizes so worth a call. We stayed in back/side of the hotel and it was very quiet. There is a nice wine and cheese every evening at 5pm and outdoor space with a fire pit for the evenings. Breakfast was nice pastry selection, fruit, cereal, cold meats and cheeses.

There are two really good restaurants walking in walking distance. Right around the corner is the just opened Commissary which is fine dining at a very good price. It's not easy to get a reservation but if you are willing to eat at the bar worth trying as a walk in. Also the Presidio Social Club is very good. A bit more of a walk but a lovely one. The is plenty of delivery that the hotel can recommend if you feel like staying in. There are also days where a bunch of great food trucks are out in the green close to the hotel so absolutely save your appetite on those days.

There is a great YMCA in the Presidio which you can walk to as well and use free as a hotel guest. The pool is great, easy to get a lane any time after 10am weekdays. The hotel offers free use of their bikes to get around. The walk to the heart of the shopping in the marina district is about 25 minutes and very attractive. Even less of a walk to the Palace of Fine Arts and Chrissy Field.

If you are a biker, the Presidio is a safe and challenging way to really take in the views of the natural beauty of the city. Sports Basement by Chrissy Field in the Presidio has bike rentals that will make the big hills do able.

Absolutely plan on going back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Overall, for us this was like hitting the Jackpot in the Lottery with this Hotel/Inn. This Hotel/Inn had Class, History and Location. San Francisco is not cheap, nor is this Historic inn. However when you take what you get and what you pay it is absolutely worth it. This Hotel is on the Presidio, a former Army Installation which closed around 1996 but you can still feel and sense the great History this location has.

First off the location is absolutely fantastic. Our room had partial views of the Golden State Bridge and even ships swimming along the San Francisco Bay could be viewed. A very safe and quiet location, with several hiking/running trails that take you to the bridge, bay, and beach. When you step outside the Hotel you will experience many beautiful views. The Inn has parking at $7 a night which is a steal compared to parking prices at Hotels in San Francisco. The Presidio still has the Officers Club(it was under renovation), now a newly opened Restaurant in the Commissary, a Bowling Center, YMCA and Golf Course. There is also a Social Club that serves dinner. I believe it's in a former Club and previous to that Child Care Center. All facilities are excellent. This Hotel/Inn made the Conde Nast new and hot Hotels list, this is how we found it.

The Hotel/Inn is very modern, recently remodeled/renovated. The regular rooms are of a good size. The Suites come even with fireplaces and can provide accommodations for big families. They are beautifully decorated and extemely clean. The bathroom is large and has all the amenties that a upscale Hotel should have. Everything from towels to the shower products provided were very good. High quality robes with slippers are provided for the guests. The housekeeping staff was excellent during the entire time we were there. Fresh Bottled Water is provided daily.

The Breakfast Buffet which is included is Continental and is very good. There is something for everyone.

A big highlight each evening is the daily Wine and Cheese for the guests. Usually there are 4 types of cheeses, several types of crackers, bread and even some meat. Both red and white wines are provided. It is great to enjoy the Wine and Cheese at the outside fire pit. What an ambiance.

In addition they have baked cookies with milk in the evenings. Throughout the day they have Fusion Water which is outstanding especially after coming back from one of the trails.

The Concierge Team is extremely Customer Service focused. We received great information and recommendations from them. I want to especially mention Tim but all were very good.

We were totally happy with our stay of 10 days. I am sure there are times where it's hard to reserve a room because the word is out and there are many returning customers. Book early, you will not regret it.

To the staff at the Inn, thanks for an exceptional vacation to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Highest Floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTOWNFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent two nights in San Francisco on a recent trip up the Northern California coast and this was a beautiful place to spend it. The Presidio grounds are beautiful and the room we had in the Funston House, just around the corner from the main house, was elegant. We didn't have enough time to really explore the hiking around the Presidio itself but it was very easy to get from there to all the other places in the city we went to. Unlike many places in the city parking was included which was a big plus since parking is incredibly expensive (and hard to find if you are driving around so being able to use public transport is a big plus). The staff was very accommodating and helpful with maps and places to go and see and dining choices. A great place to stay in the heart of San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms2thdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A wonderful place to stay for a few days. Large rooms, a very accommodating staff, and a prime location cannot be beat. Park your car and use public transport as parking in San Francisco is expensive and nonexistant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were in the city for a birthday and family reunion. We could not have picked a better hotel. The rooms are large, very comfortable, charming gas fireplaces, helpful staff, and the surroundings and view are spectacular. Our only regret is that they have limited rooms available; we'll try to stay there on any future visits to the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, and it was delightful. We heard very little outside noise as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy49034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 227 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Property: Inn at the Presidio
Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing