We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in downtown san francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“great location in downtown san francisco”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is located on the edge of the tenderloin, but its still very safe. The hostel is real easy to get to from the bart station(powell street). If you are a shopper then you will like the location because you are a short walk to union square the high end shopping area of downtown san francisco. Also plenty of bus stops leave from here. If you are into nightlife its easy to get to around here. The only issue with this place is the outside street noise is constant, but there are free earplugs provided at the front desk.

Room Tip: There is an elevator, but if its broken tough to haul a bag up the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    376
    130
    30
    20
See reviews for
46
213
223
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a private room for two nights ($106 per night) and they were great experience! The location of this downtown Hostelling is perfect, walking distance to Union Square and many other places. The Hostelling looked cozy and the staffs were friendly (they gave us city map). Our privation room (with bathroom) was tiny but really comfortable. There was no TV or cabinet, but we got big bed and night table. Oh, do try the kitchen! Anyway, I wish that I can stay here when I visit San Francisco again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JieZ208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights as I wanted to be in a great location and didn't want to pay a huge amount of money for a room in Union Square as all hotels in this area are very expensive. It was perfect. I rented a private room with own bathroom. Although there was no TV in the room it didn't matter as for the two full days I was there, I was out from morning til night. The location is brilliant! A short walk to Market Street for shopping and to get the bus to the Piers. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bagels for breakfast were delicious! There were a lot of backpackers staying there and I thought it may be noisy, but it wasn't. I would highly recommend this place for the budget conscious and a safe area to be as I was travelling alone in San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEGAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We had a private room for a night in this hostel where most of the rooms are for sharing. For $115 a night, it is a steal as a room around that area would typically cost much more than that. However, there would be no TV in the room and just basic necessities. Room was spacious enough for two big suitcases. Staff at the counter was friendly and one of them did not hestitate to share all the informations that his guests needed. There were daily tours organised for guests and airport shuttle can be arranged for $14. Breakfast provided but just some bread/bagel with cream cheese or jam, coffee too. Don't expect too much. There is a lounge area where you can magazines or read a book. Pay-to-use internet and printer provided.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Staff were very rude and short tempered when it got busy. It seems you don't need any customer experience to work on the hostel front desk at HI. The downtown vancouver one was the same.

Just put my HI card in the trash and will stay elsewhere from now on. Too many bad experiences getting any sort of good service from HI especially San Fran.

One shower per floor is not enough. People in hall and lounge right outside toilet and shower. Weird vibe.

Room Tip: Not much else around in San Fran near Union Square at this price so just grin and bare it. Tell the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

You would pay somewhere in the $20s a night in San Francisco's yes location, thats a great deal. Party with great people from around the world on Thursday night Pub Crawls and make some good friends. The Staff minds their own business, so that good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apoorv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a private room, bath down the hall, for $75/night, breakfast included. The location can't be beat, it's about a block off Union Square and easy walking distance from the Powell Street BART station, cable car, and other major transit lines. Elegant it isn't. Plain, clean and safe it is.
Wi-fi available, free.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor with window opening to the bottom of the ventilation shaft was stuffy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,831 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Property: Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Address: 312 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1704
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing