We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff and Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Great Location!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel. It was close to the financial district, public transportation, Chinatown and walking distance to so many main attractions in the area. Plus it is clean, and the staff are courteous, flexible and patient. They also make sure that it doesnt get too loud in the common area past a certain time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    55
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
21
248
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Firstly I love that this is the first hostel that I can actually get a nights sleep in! Everyone is so laid back and awesome to hang out with, friends are made very easily here! Beds are comfy as, and the are attached to the wall too so when the person above moves you dont feel a thing! hostel is always clean, its in a great location and the staff are the best, never a thing they cant help out with! i would definatly love to go back there, i could easily live there! Thanks Pacific Tradewinds for the best time ever, i think ive made some friends for life! :D

Room Tip: Keep your eyes peeled for the hostels building number 680 this is how you will find them! There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadyandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Best staff ever, great people, clean, well located, fantastic price.... everything was perfect, but without any kind of doubt the staff.

I recommend it totally.

I was in SF for 4 months living with a family in a house.
The days i stayed in Pacific where the only ones i really felt like home.

thanks guys

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rspain_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

They accept bitcoin!
I stayed here because I could pay in bitcoin, but it turns out the place is in a great location, the staff are super friendly, and the beds are great for a hostel.
I arrived in the middle of a small celebration for a national holiday, and they offered me a beer as I walked in and joined the conversation!
There were enough showers, I wasn't waiting ages to shower in the morning.
I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManuEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel for 4 nights in late January, 2013, and was happily impressed with the quality of the hostel. Only 16 beds, which keeps things quiet and personal, and there was always an employee or 2 or 3 hanging around if I needed any help. 2 free computers with internet, plus free wifi if you've brought your own device. Very clean. Bunk beds are very solid, no squeaking as you climb in and out of bed at odd hours. Pillows were quite thin, but I asked for 2 extras, and slept soundly every night. Free milk and cereal and toast in the mornings, though I preferred my own instant oatmeal. Shared kitchen, which was very well stocked with pots and pans and utensils, and plastic containers for packing your lunch. Also a huge fridge, with enough room for 16 people to store their groceries. The location is in downtown San Francisco, close to public transit. I had no difficulty pulling a heavy suitcase from the airport to the Bay Area Rapid Transit to the hostel. All the other people at the hostel were lovely: a few young adults staying on business and a handful of world traveling tourists, all very nice people, and I enjoyed hearing their travel stories and sharing my own.

Warning: the hostel is located atop 4 flights of stairs; an employee will happily assist you in carrying heavy luggage up and down, however travelers with knee or hip problems should avoid this hostel.

Room Tip: 2 rooms, each mixed gender, with 4 sets of bunk beds, 8 beds per room. Each bed is the same, as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It got it all: great location, very clean rooms, nice atmosphere and above all amazing staff!! The staff would do anything to help, I even got offered a slice of pizza upon check in :-)
The commun room makes it very easy to meet new friends. I had a fantastic stay there and I hope I would be back :-D

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raphac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you're one of those travellers that usually stays in B&B's but likes to occasionally slum it in hostels due to the opportunities they offer to meet and participate in activities with other travellers then Pacific Tradewinds hostel is not for you.

The rooms in the dormitories are door-less, the bunks are tiny and crammed together. Any noise on the floor can be heard clearly from your bunk e.g. snorer's in the next room and travellers coming back from the pub or packing for early flights will ensure you are kept up all night.

You can barely turn around in the showers and a single toilet services the entire floor. The cleanliness of the linen is highly suspect; when I got up in the morning I had a rash on my face, hands and feet.

The only group activity offered on the night that I was there was a pub crawl but all the staff were too hung over to participate. Other guests were mostly American and 21 and under.

Overall, very disappointing especially coming from the HI Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Appoooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Property: Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Address: 680 Sacramento St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2510
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is the #1 speciality accommodation for San Francisco on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pacific Tradewinds Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Tradewinds Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing