We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location in the centre of San francisco. Felt really safe here and staff are very knowledgable about local area. Lockers are fantastic as they are rucksack sized. Other travellers also very social. Good pub crawl organised so you can meet people staying in other hostels too. Would definitely come back or recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunskateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    57
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
21
269
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stay in hostels often begrudgingly. I love the cheap prices but the drinking, late night coming and going and general dirtiness often puts me off. This place is different. It's still a relatively young crowd who like a drink here and there, but lights out at midnight and super comfy bunks means for a great night's sleep. When I stayed, everyone was in bed really early and until then we all just enjoyed friendly conversations together in the communal room. The hostel is really well kept, towels and linen are provided and staff are mostly very friendly and helpful - Courtney was just fantastic. Only two things - the dorms are mixed sex which I'm not a big fan of, and the front of the hostel is very difficult to recognise which caused initial confusion. But overall my experience here was wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arumanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Been round a few corners and done the whole Australia thing, this is one of the best iv had the pleasure of staying in.
Very well run, clean hostel. Great vibe and very friendly staff, great location, wifi and great value!

Just can't say enough good things about this place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

pacific tradewinds was incredibly cheap considering its great location.... the place is a walking distance to every points of interest in san francisco...at first me and my friend are hesitant because the look of the building seems to be old but once u enter the premise the hostel will surprise u with its minimalist design... staff are very friendly and helpful especially kat and henry they treat u like a family member... lounge is awesome to mingle and be friend with other traveller... once i go back again in sanfo i would definitely stay again in this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloehao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we had a good time!
The staff is really friendly, they answer all our questions!
The internet was good and the hostel was very clean!
We would certainly stay there again!
Great place to meet people!
The ownly downside was, no elevator... and the rooms are located on the 4the floor.
And don't no cheap parking...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hey all, If you are traveling to SFO and you like to meet nice people and to make new friends. Believe me, this is the place to stay you are looking for. I stayed there for 2 nights and would love stay 2 more nights if I didn't have a conference to attend. The staff is very very helpful and friendly. Beds are also good and comfortable. Lockers are provided but you have to bring your own padlock to lock it. The only little problem I would like to point out that there are not enough washrooms in the hostel but as you know its a hostel, people should set their mind to have such small problems. everything was quite good. They have a common place, where people talk to each other for hours. I found it very nice and comfortable. So, for all the students, young people, everyone who wants to have fun, this is the best place in this price you can find in SFO. GO for it...!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Pacific Tradewinds Hostel. It was close to the financial district, public transportation, Chinatown and walking distance to so many main attractions in the area. Plus it is clean, and the staff are courteous, flexible and patient. They also make sure that it doesnt get too loud in the common area past a certain time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
468 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Tradewinds Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Property: Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Address: 680 Sacramento St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2510
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel is the #1 speciality accommodation for San Francisco on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH so you can book your Pacific Tradewinds Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Tradewinds Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing