We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, no frills, but the location and price are hard to top.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small room, no frills, but the location and price are hard to top.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend in Sept 2012 on vacation. If you're looking to stay in the heart of San Francisco, with easy access to mass transit and the major attractions, this is a good bet. We were able to secure a great deal on this hotel, where the special rate was an estimated 30-40% below similar hotels in the area. Ferry Building, with Trolley stop is a four block walk from the hotel. Take the trolley ($2.00 one way at time of writing this review) to Fisherman's wharf and Alcatraz Ferry, or walk 15-20 minutes. Cable routes are within several blocks.

The drawbacks are the rooms are small. We should have had more pillows in the room. If you are renting a car from the airport, they do not have on-site parking, so you will have to park down the street. But try taking an airport shuttle instead and see if you can take in the sites on foot.

If you can live with those drawbacks, the interior decor of the hotel and rooms is updated and fresh. The price was below market (for the S.F. financial district at the time we booked) representing a very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeShoreLimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    717
    263
    76
    43
See reviews for
249
685
154
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here from 18-22 Sept for business.

Good Location:- close to down town, market street, union square and china town. Bonus it is close to Embarcadero, great place to start for a morning run along the waterfront to Fort Mason and further to the Golden Gate Bridge

Good Facilities:- you get everything you need and expected, I love the refillable chilled water bottles, and a small kitchen. iMacs with printer for use downstairs are great. Good lounge with nice fire place

Good Customer Service:- the staff are friendly and not expecting anything in returns, always smiling and eager to help (only when you need it)

Good Bed and Air-Con:- slept well and good quiet room

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed in the Club Quarters, San Francisco from Sept 17-21, 2012. it is located opposite the Le Meridien. The rooms were clean, no tubs but had useful business/management books for reading. I liked the following features the best: a) Free wifi - super convenient b) self-service facility on each floor which had water bottles, extra pillows, blankets, an iron + ironing board. c) Vending machine in the lower level. d) Located next to a Starbucks e) Menu offered Chinese food and Indian food as a part of room service (the food comes from a separate restaurant). I did notice though that one visitor was disappointed not to get an iron in the morning - i think they keep 2-3 irons per floor. There is a self-service coffee machine in the lobby which served hot chocolate too. I would suggest that visitors read the notice put up in the elevators - you'll see that the hotel also offers many other facilities such as multi-charging USB ports etc which are quite useful. They didnt have international adapters though. As i was attending a conference in the Moscone Centre, staying here was super tough because the centre is not walking distance from the hotel. Due to the crowds there were never any cabs available and i walked the entire distance from the convention centre to the hotel every day which was no fun at all. The staff however helped a lot to make my stay comfortable and helped me hail a cab on a particularly horrendous day. The hotel isnt cheap though, and for that price i would have liked a tub to soak in at the end of a long day. The A/c in the room was silent and i liked the alarm clock provided. I didnt get a chance to visit the Embarcadero Centre or the waterfront, but did manage to walk through Chinatown which is next door. Breakfast is best taken at the restaurant next door, offers eggs and sausages etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The best part of this hotel is the location. If you are going for the first time to San Francisco here is what you need to know about this hotel ...

There is no parking lot in the hotel. There is a parking lot across the street that will charge you $32 per day if you leave the car all day without getting in or out the parking lot (if you go in or out you will be charge the hourly rate). The hotel will may or not tell you that you can pay them a flat fee of $42 a day with the option to take your car in or out the parking lot as many time you want.

The hotel does not have a bellboy. There is only one loading parking in front of the hotel so you can unload your bags. Don't expect for anyone to open your doors. ( I was with my pregnant wife and I was hassling with my bags).

The standard rooms are very small, but nice and clean. The only problem are the walls that are very thin. There was a couple next door having sex for an hour around 5:00 AM, at the same time you can hear when others are flushing the toilet or sitting on their bed. There is no fart vent in the bathroom so if you are on a honeymoon gateway weekend, don't eat beans (you can hear everything even when the door is close). The bed is very small and fit two people but very tight.

You can purchase certain tour passes at the hotel, The tour bus is great because one of the bus stops is just across the street.

There is not fridge in the standard room, no cable on demand. Certain amenities are located on one floor only, ex. ice. There is free drinking bottle of water on each floor (the have empty plastic bottles (sealed) that you will fill from a filter fountain water machine) Very convenience.

There is a restaurant (pub) attach to the hotel which is nice because it is open until 12:00 AM so you can drink all you want and then walk to your room.

The hotel staff are very courteous and helpful. I paid $162+tax at night and I can't complaint much about the hotel. You can get a better hotel for an additional $60 but that is an additional $120 that you could use to to book a tour bus for 2.

I hope this information help you making a wise decision.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlYo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was small but clean and the location in the heart of San Francisco's Financial District is perfect. The ameniites are also very good. We liked the "self-serve" centers located on each floor, where you could find extra pillows, blankets, and cold filtered water with reusable bottles. There was alwasy fresh coffee and a selection of hot teal available in the lobby and the roof top terrace, although small, offers fantastic views of the city and the bay.

the only complaint I have is that the bed was not super comfortable and the bedding was was not the greatest quality, the sheets were not soft - rather stiff and uncomfortable and the pillows are very small.

We did enjoy this hotel however and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjellie1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Location is great, staff is very helpfull but cleaness is not good, the bathroom had hair on the walls, the exhaust fan had dusty bunnies, for $200.00(with tax) a night we should had stay somewhere else.
It is the second time here, the first was 5 1/2 years, that time we had a super small room and the bed was not a queen, this time the bed still not a queen but the room is bigger, and yes the 3rd person has to sleep on this pullout bed that is just terrible.
The food at the bar downstairs is over priced and not excelente, the beer is cold!
Hope it helps your decision!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RafaelSjc_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I requested a queen bed and got a full. After switching rooms I was assured the second room was a queen. Not sure where these folks got their beds but someone was fooled and it wasn't me! Staff was helpful, facility was clean, modern, compact and convenient but the bed thing ruined our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
444 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Address: 424 Clay St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3207
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, San Francisco provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero Center, the city's most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing