We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend another $25 and you'll probably get a much better hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Ranked #17 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA (USA)
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spend another $25 and you'll probably get a much better hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I could have gotten a room at the Omni for another $25/night but decided to give this place a shot after seeing decent reviews here and on other sites. The location is convenient to North Beach and of course the financial district but a few more dollars will get you much much more. My particular complaints:

* A queen bed that was simply two twin beds pushed together
* The maid service didn't replace towels, toilet paper or clean up anything; all they did was make the bed
* Elevators were slow and confusing to lots of patrons; ice was in the basement instead of on each floor
* Bathrooms, while private of course, were no nicer than what you'd find in a youth hostel-like bathroom with almost no counter space and simply a curtain separating the shower from the sink and toilet area (no basin or tub)
* Few people were working the front desk and lots of people sitting around waiting for help

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navinrjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    653
    251
    72
    42
See reviews for
221
596
143
845
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eighty Four, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Sarbi and Liz were wonderful. We have never been to San Francisco and needed lots of help, With their help we saw most everything we wanted to see in the 2 days we were there. They both have a great sense of humor and were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a few problems with this hotel:

My biggest complaint, I payed for a QUEEN room, they gave me a full bed instead. My boyfriend was really sick so I just wanted to get him to sleep and didn't argue. It was uncomfortable and hot in such a small bed.

They put me in a room at the very end which is an incredibly far distance, its like a maze in there.

The room was very small, dark, had no refrigerator. It was an ADA room, so the light was on the outside of the bathroom.

Pubic hair on bathroom floor, dirty pink soap scum on bathroom floor

Asked for two keys, one didn't work. Complimentary "cold" water is not cold at all. Its more like room temperature.

Room Tip: Ask if they're giving you the room you paid for at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lots of space in room, free laundry, water and ice provided. Clean quiet room on 6th floor. Elephant & Castle bar restaurant next door was perfect for meals. Great location to see San Francisco. Front desk very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor and at the back and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Tennessee
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family was on vacation but decided to stay in the financial district of SF in order to be close to the Embarcardo. We were trying to avoid renting autos and rode shuttles, taxis and trains. We were within walking distance to shuttles and the Amtrak shuttle pickup spot.
The Club Quarters did seem to cater to the business crowd but we very accommodating to us with our 11 year old grandchild.
The room was small but clean. They brought a rollaway bed in for the grandchild.
We ate at the restaurant on the premises. The burgers were good, Fried brussel sprouts were a little overdone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a well run hotel. Clearly they know what they are doing and care about creating a great environment. Jenny and the rest of the team made me feel welcome and cared for from the first moment until I left. It's in a great location, clean, and well equipped.

There was a great desk to get work done. Plenty of room around the bed. The bathroom was a bit small - clean and efficient. Complimentary water.

But the staff made it great.

Thanks.

Room Tip: i booked the day of arrival and my room was perfect. Plenty of room and a place to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macaburger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. Clean room. It was small but exactly what we needed when retiring for the day to sleep. Staff was very pleasant and ready to help. Loved the coffee machine where you choose to have coffee, espresso, cappuccino or latte. Not to mention that there is a pub and a Starbucks next door. Very reasonable rates.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,077 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Address: 424 Clay St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3207
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, San Francisco provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero Center, the city's most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing