We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service- Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our Napa trip before heading back to the heat of Texas. From the first greeting by the Valet & Bellmen to the servers in the restaurant was so pleasant. Everyone was very friendly and seemed to enjoy working! I have to say Iris (I think that was her name) was so sweet, she checked us in. She was very engaging and she also sent me a cute little gift for my birthday! She is also from the Houston area so it was nice to speak with another Texan. I have fallen in love with San Fran and would move in a heartbeat if work would allow. We have told others about our great stay and we definitely stay here again. I loved that the hotel is located next to a park, it was great to look out to it from our guest room and to sit and read to take it the amazing weather. I love how the guest rooms are decorated, especially the brick exposed walls!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feathe7981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,925 - 3,931 of 5,990 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Argonaut Hotel on the labour day long weekend and the service we were provided was outstanding. There was a free wine hour between 5-6pm each night which was so nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even with the added pressure of it being a long weekend, they held their own.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glascarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My family loves the Argonaut hotel. Housed in the old DelMonte cannery, it is a comfortable and well-located home-away-from-home. The staff is very helpful and my kids love the "treasure chest" of toys they keep in the comfortable lobby. There is a small but fascinating museum at the entrance that is part of the maritime national park and is always good for a visit or three. Many people don't like the fisherman's Wharf area, but the Argonaut's location at the far western end of the wharf is perfect for our family. for starters, it's right at the turnaround for the cable cars, which we ride religiously, and also a block from several helpful bus lines. Right across the street is the can't-miss Hyde Street Pier and adjacent to that is Aquatic park Beach. It's a great place to walk and hang out with the kids, enjoying the view of alcatraz and the hardy swimmers braving the cold bay waters. Meanwhile, you're a short walk from Museum mechanique and (if you're so inclined) Pier 39. We like to walk to North Beach for dinner. The only downside of the Argonaut is that there are very few suites and the ones that they have are far out of our price range. The rooms are comfortable and (thankfully) have queen beds but they're not huge. That doesn't bother us too much since we're usually out and about. Ask for a room with a view. The restaurant is a good choice for us and there's a great ice cream spot and a coffee and pastires place in the ground floor of the Cannery (next door.) Really, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileeninseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great hotel, located in a great spot! If you're planing a "Vacation" to San Francisco this would be the place to go . Across from Alcatraz, an amazing view of the Golden Gate Bridge, right beside the Trolly cars and Fisherman's Wharf.

The Argonaut is a hotel who pays attention to the detail, it's clean, the staff are all very friendly and the complimentory glass of wine @ 5pm is a very nice touch.

Alll in all a very nice place and when I go back to San Francisco I wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: Wireless internet is free if you ask for the code at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wxguy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Perfect hotel locaton for a first time San Francisco visitor....in our opinion the very best location. Right across the street from the waterfront, Fisherman's Wharf, Hyde Street Pier and a cable car terminal. The majority of "tourist" locations ie, Alcatraz, cruises, streetcars, Lombard Street, USS Pampanito, Golden Gate, Pier 39, not to mention dozens of unique and first class restaurants are within a few minutes walk. Hotel is clean, and very quiet. Staff are friendly and helpful. Complimentary "happy hour" every evening. "View" rooms are not really a consideration. We preferred the "inside" courtyard room where we are able to sleep in total silence. Recommend booking Alcatraz Island tours on-line well in advance. They are very busy, but well worth the cost. Shuttle to and from airport is easy to arrange at airport and via hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel was recommended to us for our two-night-stay in San Francisco by Thomas Cook.
It's located in Fisherman's Wharf, one of the two recognised centres of accommodation, the other being Union Square. Fisherman`s Wharf is dominated by lots of shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.
There is the famous Hyde St. Pier opposite the hotel, where there are are historic ships that sailed in and around the bay area. You can board them for few dollars. There are good views across the bay and you can clearly see the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz.
The hotel was part of a former warehouse and there are references to its past everywhere including a corridor dedicated to Del Monte.
Our check-in was quick, and the receptionist was very friendly, explained everything that we needed to know about hotel and also tried to persuade us to stay awake as long as possible to overcome the jet- lag we were beginning to suffer from.
We had requested a quiet room when we booked, as we had heard the area was notorious for being noisy, so we were pleased when we found our room was at the end of a long corridor, and faced into a centre courtyard. The room was very pleasant, the nautical theme continues in the room.
We slept very well, we were not distured and the mattress on the enormous bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast is served in The Blue Mermaid. It`s actually a bar and is open to the public at other times. There are bar tables, boothes and noisy tv`s. The included breakfast was rather simple. It included juice, coffee and a pastry!!. If you want other stuff you have to pay more. We had bacon and eggs and more coffee. Not too bad.
Our waiter, Sergio, was very attentive and when we explained that because of our early flight we would miss breakfast the next day he offered to come in early and make us something. Well, this he did and we set off on our next journey at least with something fresh in our stomachs.

There was one thing that dissapointed us and that was to do with phone calls. When we checked out we were presented with a bill that we were not expecting. Although it was resolved to our satisfaction my advise is to take care when making international calls and being certain that you know the costs.

Room Tip: Ask the travel agent to request a quiet room far from the lifts ( the rooms that face the inner cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppieMaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here with some friends for our Anniversary weekend getaway. The rooms were nice, the staff was excellent, and the location was in a perfect location to just walk around Fishermans Wharf, and Pier 39 etc..we only had to get our car two times in 3 days. Everything was within walking distance, and the Trolly was right outside the door. This was the perfect location for a Hotel! I would definately recommend staying here. I would stay over and over again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
370 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,411 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,571 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £196 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid restaurant, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing