We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were overly disappointed by the Argonaut, it is a lovely nautical looking hotel and very comfortable, great location, great service, but not the sort of entertaining hotel we expected.

We were only in San Fran for 3 days and when we returned from a lovely evening out wanting a night cap, the bar was closing before 10pm, no room service and one night there was someone missing from the welcome desk for over half hour.

I would recommend staying here if you get a bargain but for $300 a night I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollie_s8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,768)
There are newer reviews for Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,707 - 3,713 of 5,768 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked a harbour view room for the first three nights of our 3 week California trip due to all the good reviews. And for the first nights we wanted something really nice not caring about the price.
The hotel looked very nice and the staff was very friendly although quite impersonal - kind of we think we work in a stylish hotel and therefore we are too attitude. But that was ok though.
As soon as we entered the room I was very disappointed. It was very small, like a tube, had only one single small window located on the second floor. Not quite what we expected.
It would have been absolutely fine for two thirds of the price.
During our whole trip we stayed in 13 different hotels. Most of them 4 and 5 star and in retrospect the Argonaut had the worst price/performance ratio.
I guess you pay the location ....

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor might be nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozlover1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Booked this hotel on priceline and was so glad we got it! I probably won't have found it on my own and it was a great place for a great price. Location was right in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf but wasn't noisy. The first night we were upgraded to a beautiful suite and then had our reguarly booked room for the second night. Suite was amazing but the standard room was nice as well. Employees were very friendly and the bell staff could just entertain you all day! Highly recommend and will look for other Kimpton Hotels for future travel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Argonaut was a very nice hotel, and it met all of my needs on a quick trip to San Francisco. Although located in a bit of a touristy spot, the location makes for easy to access to many of the sights and tastes of the city. There are a number of decent wine and food options within walking distance of the hotel, and it's a quick walk to the piers and spots with amazing views. My room was spacious and clean, and while not overly luxurious, it served its purpose quite well. The bed was comfortable, and the Aveda products were a nice touch. My room was quiet, despite its 2nd floor location. Check-in and check-out were both handled extremely efficiently. The wine happy hour in the lobby was a delightful surprise. No complaints.

Room Tip: If you want a view, request a room on a floor higher than the second.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank acdhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Me and my partner were starting off our trip to the US west coast here and we LOVED it! The rooms are spacy, the decor is naval / modern and the service was great. We had planned a weekend here, but ended up cancelling the friday night because of a very delayed plane and even though the hotel had full rights to charge the night with a very late notice they didn't. Kinda pricy but comparing to other hotels in the area it has great value.
Would definately recommend this place and will stay here next time in town!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayeed 5 night early September. An excellent location at Fisherman's Warf and more importantly an excellent service, large, clean room, easy check-in, small things to make you feel appreciated, free juices and some wine in the lobby area every afternoon.

One rather foggy evenin we decided to supper at Blue Marmaid, hotel's restaurant and what a good decision that was. Don't miss Chopino in wonderfully decorated, cozy restaurant.

Maybe little bit on an expensive side but comparing with other hotels in the area one of the best for sure! To be repeated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DEEJAY061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Though the hotel can be a little bit pricey the value you get is considerable. In a converted cannery plant from the early 20th century with a nautical it is full of atmosphere. It is also in the nicer part of Fisherman's wharf. They organize free winetasting. On the minor side the rooms might be on the small side

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meerf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,223 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,296 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £210 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing