We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell in love with Argonaut immediately” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fell in love with Argonaut immediately”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband, daughter and myself have just spent four days at the Argonaut Hotel in San Francisco. We booked a suite with a separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge for my daughter. It was perfect, beautifully appointed and in a very good position, handy to all the wonderful facilities at Fishermans Wharf. The rooms were spotless and the service was excellent. The concierge couldn't do enough for us. Don't however whatever you do eat at the Buena Vista Cafe opposite the Cable Car turntable. In all our travels we have never met such rudeness from staff as we experienced there. The food was very mediocre and not worth the long wait. When we finally did get our breakfast it was thrown on to the table with no more than a grunt. We were disgusted.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,319
    1,523
    336
    124
    54
See reviews for
1,486
2,270
125
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Argonaut Hotel and what can I say -- it was FANTASTIC. If you are looking for an AMAZING HOTEL in a SPECTACULAR LOCATION -- the Argonaut is your place. From the moment we checked in until the time we departed, we were treated as if we were family. The staff is helpful, professional and pleasant to deal with! The daily wine social is a great way to meet fellow travelers.

I'm a loyal follower of the Kimpton hotel chain and now have the Argonaut to add to the list. The painstaking restoration of the historic building along with the staff combine to make the experience truly memorable.

I highly recommend this property for first time visitors to San Francisco. The Hyde Street Cable car, the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park and Fisherman's Wharf are all just steps from the hotel. Add bike rentals, shopping and restaurants and you have the perfect location.

Keep up the good work Kimpton. I look forward to returning again soon!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

It was our first time in San Francisco. Upon arrival, there was a issue with our room, partially our fault. Andreas the bell hop went above and beyond his job to get us settled into the right room. The doorman John was so helpful with information and knowledge of the city. We had a handicap person with us and they all went out of their way to accomodate us. We were 100% satisfied with the hotel and their staff. The hotel overall was very clean. The Blue Mermaid restaurant had excellant food from the clam chowder to breakfast. It is conviently located to everything. Trolley cars around the block, starbucks on the corner, tour buses 1 block away. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddfamily45015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Prior to our stay we emailed the manager Antonio flores and requested a bay view room. My husband had recently lost his father so this was a much needed trip! He replied to us and assured us that our request would be met. Indeed it was. Our room was amazing! It was huge! The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were overly disappointed by the Argonaut, it is a lovely nautical looking hotel and very comfortable, great location, great service, but not the sort of entertaining hotel we expected.

We were only in San Fran for 3 days and when we returned from a lovely evening out wanting a night cap, the bar was closing before 10pm, no room service and one night there was someone missing from the welcome desk for over half hour.

I would recommend staying here if you get a bargain but for $300 a night I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollie_s8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked a harbour view room for the first three nights of our 3 week California trip due to all the good reviews. And for the first nights we wanted something really nice not caring about the price.
The hotel looked very nice and the staff was very friendly although quite impersonal - kind of we think we work in a stylish hotel and therefore we are too attitude. But that was ok though.
As soon as we entered the room I was very disappointed. It was very small, like a tube, had only one single small window located on the second floor. Not quite what we expected.
It would have been absolutely fine for two thirds of the price.
During our whole trip we stayed in 13 different hotels. Most of them 4 and 5 star and in retrospect the Argonaut had the worst price/performance ratio.
I guess you pay the location ....

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor might be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozlover1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Booked this hotel on priceline and was so glad we got it! I probably won't have found it on my own and it was a great place for a great price. Location was right in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf but wasn't noisy. The first night we were upgraded to a beautiful suite and then had our reguarly booked room for the second night. Suite was amazing but the standard room was nice as well. Employees were very friendly and the bell staff could just entertain you all day! Highly recommend and will look for other Kimpton Hotels for future travel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing