We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, great localisation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is very nice hotel with great localisation. very expensive valet parking ($58) but you can use the same parking in the opposite from the back of the building for $28. free internet (after registration). clean but bathroom rather not too ergonomical. Deffinitelly worth to stay, much better localisation than around Union Square. Lobby and service desks busy all the day. only a bit disturbing AC during the night but very well isolated from street noise.

Room Tip: You can not see the sea from 2nd floor and below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0l02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,750 - 3,756 of 5,820 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Loved this hotel. The reception staff were brilliant. They were so nice and very helpful and always lovely to talk to. As it was our honeymoon, when we checked in they told us they upgraded our room and when we went up they had left us champagne and chocolate which was really nice. Room was nice and big and very clean. We had a slight view but that didnt matter as we were going out to see the sights.

Excellent location, right on Fishermans Wharf. Within walking distance of Pier 39 and other places. And plenty of restaurants along the street, we were spoilt for choice.

We took the tour over to Alcatraz, which i have to say was the best excursion i have been on, it is a must do if you go. We also done a hop on hop off bus tour of the Golden Gate Bridge and Solcalita. Excellent tour aswell.

Love San Francisco and if I return or know of anyone going I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karnak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband, daughter and myself have just spent four days at the Argonaut Hotel in San Francisco. We booked a suite with a separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge for my daughter. It was perfect, beautifully appointed and in a very good position, handy to all the wonderful facilities at Fishermans Wharf. The rooms were spotless and the service was excellent. The concierge couldn't do enough for us. Don't however whatever you do eat at the Buena Vista Cafe opposite the Cable Car turntable. In all our travels we have never met such rudeness from staff as we experienced there. The food was very mediocre and not worth the long wait. When we finally did get our breakfast it was thrown on to the table with no more than a grunt. We were disgusted.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Argonaut Hotel and what can I say -- it was FANTASTIC. If you are looking for an AMAZING HOTEL in a SPECTACULAR LOCATION -- the Argonaut is your place. From the moment we checked in until the time we departed, we were treated as if we were family. The staff is helpful, professional and pleasant to deal with! The daily wine social is a great way to meet fellow travelers.

I'm a loyal follower of the Kimpton hotel chain and now have the Argonaut to add to the list. The painstaking restoration of the historic building along with the staff combine to make the experience truly memorable.

I highly recommend this property for first time visitors to San Francisco. The Hyde Street Cable car, the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park and Fisherman's Wharf are all just steps from the hotel. Add bike rentals, shopping and restaurants and you have the perfect location.

Keep up the good work Kimpton. I look forward to returning again soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It was our first time in San Francisco. Upon arrival, there was a issue with our room, partially our fault. Andreas the bell hop went above and beyond his job to get us settled into the right room. The doorman John was so helpful with information and knowledge of the city. We had a handicap person with us and they all went out of their way to accomodate us. We were 100% satisfied with the hotel and their staff. The hotel overall was very clean. The Blue Mermaid restaurant had excellant food from the clam chowder to breakfast. It is conviently located to everything. Trolley cars around the block, starbucks on the corner, tour buses 1 block away. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddfamily45015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Prior to our stay we emailed the manager Antonio flores and requested a bay view room. My husband had recently lost his father so this was a much needed trip! He replied to us and assured us that our request would be met. Indeed it was. Our room was amazing! It was huge! The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were overly disappointed by the Argonaut, it is a lovely nautical looking hotel and very comfortable, great location, great service, but not the sort of entertaining hotel we expected.

We were only in San Fran for 3 days and when we returned from a lovely evening out wanting a night cap, the bar was closing before 10pm, no room service and one night there was someone missing from the welcome desk for over half hour.

I would recommend staying here if you get a bargain but for $300 a night I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollie_s8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
2,280 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,376 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £191 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing