We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in May 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I thought it would only be fair to write a review on this place after my recent stay. To be honest my wife had booked the hotel and I was already bored on the first day we had in Fishermans Wharf as I found it a bit to touristy ( If theres such a word ). This was all to change after having a chat with the Bell Boy Ernie. He gave us a map and told us about some fantastic places to go with thorough directions and also made a few calls to get us booked in a few places of which the food was fab. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and try & catch up with Ernie who has immense knowledge of San Francisco in general.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_G2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,619 - 3,625 of 6,025 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in this Hotel in May 2012 with our two children. The position of this hotel is excellent, especially if travelling with kids as it is right at Fisherman's Wharf. We had a Queen Queen Bay View Room and our window faced directly onto Alcatraz Island - what more could one ask for! I could not fault this hotel for anything. They run a treasure hunt for the kids and I must say, Steve was fantastic and made the treasure hunt even more fun for the kids. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a nautical theme. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our first visit to USA and this hotel was our first stop on the start of our journey around CA, AZ, and Nevada. The location is superb just around the corner from the cable cars and just a few blocks from the trams and hop on hop off buses. Across the road from The Ghirardelli Park, and opposite the Pier. The staff at this hotel are really helpful, friendly and efficient. The hotel is very clean comfortable with great decor. Our room was spacious with lovely touches of amenities, If you needed anything i.e. one day I required a mending kit to sew on a button I lost and within minutes one was brought to the room. The breakfast was good, we only ate once in the evening but this was also good. In the evening around 5pm there was a wine tasting reception, a lovely touch where one could chat to the other guest. If I had to fault this hotel it would only be that the bar closed early about 9.30pm, however there were plenty of bars near by to go to. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Pleasant stay, comfortable and clean boutique hotel with a maritime theme. We thought the "brick-like" façade gave it a historic and distinguished look. The tour guide told us that it was built from bricks recovered after the 1906 earthquake and fire. Truth or legend, it is a nice story. The wine tasting hour was a nice touch and the sangria excellent.

There were fluffy socks and cute animal print robes in the closet. Having enjoyed complimentary socks and slippers at prime hotels before, we grabbed them and used them without thinking twice and missed the note that they were not free. For a luxury hotel, that was quite a surprise that we learned the hard way with a hefty charge on the credit card after departure. Pricey socks, but probably fit for a hotel that charges $46 nightly for parking. Another interesting detail was that the Kimpton loyalty profile was not linked to the reservation, so nobody knew about our guest preferences.

Room was big and nicely decorated, we liked the star-shaped pillows. Since the hotel was close to the waterfront, we were able to watch the 75th Golden Gate anniversary fireworks from right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Argonaut and loved the hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful and, while we weren't able to take our four-legged family member, we certainly enjoyed getting to meet all of the other well-behaved four-legged guests. The little chalk board near the entrance with their names on it was a cute touch, too. But, back to human matters. Since no one, or no place, is perfect, there are 2 minor criticisms. First, I'm not sure if we were in a handicapped room (there were grab rails all along the walls near the toilet), but there was no counter space in the bathroom. We had a pedestal type sink with a very small table next to it that held the soap, glasses, etc. leaving no room for personal stuff. The second complaint was that the air conditioner really didn't work very well. We were able to open our window to the cold SF air, but it was very noisy outside making it difficult to sleep, and there wasn't much of a breeze coming in because of the direction we faced. Minor issues that did not ruin our stay at the hotel.

While I would definitely recommend the hotel to others (we did and, in fact, one of our friends stayed there the week after we did based on my TripAdvisor research), we won't be staying in the area again - a bit too crowded and touristy. We saw several other Kimpton hotels in SF though that we would love to stay at next time.

Room Tip: The room we initially paid for did not have a view - the window opened to the lower roof of the bldg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagpiper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Throw in FANTASTIC staff, HUGE suites, access to everything and it's perfect!
The wine reception in the afternoon was very fun. We met people from all over the world.
The cable car is right next door, the harbor is just across the street. TONS of restaurants w/i just a few blocks...Could have not been better!

Room Tip: Book as far ahead as you can to get bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfireagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My sister and My daughter live in and around the San Francisco Bay area so i have little opportunity in the past to experience the true tourist perspective. My wife, four year old daughter and local 21 year old daughter decided on this hotel. I decided to booked a suite. It was a bit more than i usually like to spend, but thought we would be more comfortable and it was cheaper than trying to book to adjoining rooms. The moment we drove up to the front door of the hotel we were pleasantly surprised at the level of service and attention to detail. The door man and valet were extremely kind and helpful. They quickly unloaded our car and assisted us to the front desk. All the while, the door man was playful with my 4 year old. He walked her over to the toy chest and she selected to items. check in was extremely brief as i had booked the room on-line. We were escorted to our suite, give a brief tour of the room and offered to assist us with any local restaurants or activities.

The suite was gorgeous. Large (i think the website said it was 900 sq ft), and comfortable. the living room area had a large dining room table, sofa bed and two chairs. Very nicely decorated in a nautical theme. The bedroom was large with its own TV and two chairs. In the closet was two animal print bath robes for adults and one for a child. The bathroom was large with a huge sunken Jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. the toilet was in a separate water closet. We were extremely happy with the room.

The hotel is located in fisherman’s Warf, right next to the trolley turnaround and Ghirardelli square. As well as walking distance to Pier 39 and north beach. Just a perfect spot for visiting San Francisco. We walked, trollied or muni'ed everywhere except for when we went the academy of science in Golden gate Park. a $20 taxi ride was well worth it because we were running late.

I really like this property. I consider it one of my best hotel experiences yet.

Room Tip: We had suite 201 which is right at street level. it wasn't at all noisy. I can only image that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
432 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,471 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,626 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £193 - £625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid restaurant, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing