We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you need to be in that part of town...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent if you need to be in that part of town...”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend for the Alcatraz Invitational Swim. Ideal location for that event, and of you want to be in the (very touristy) Fisherman's Wharf area - if my for the swim, would not be my choice. But hotel is wonderful, staff is so nice, free wine during cocktail hour an the concierge found us grey places for dinner. Only complaint about the room was the view across a partial roof to other hotel rooms - not exactly scenic. Would stay here again for the same event in a heartbeat, just be aware you're staying in a very touristy place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
KHib! Your "wonderfuls" are wonderful to hear!
So glad you loved the hotel and our staff, and our concierge was able to connect you with great places for dinner. It's true that Fisherman's Wharf is a very popular destination, but we take pride in knowing some of those local experiences and sharing them with our guests! Thank you for your review, and hats off to you for surviving that swim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,495
    1,583
    352
    132
    56
See reviews for
1,576
2,386
133
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband & I chose The Argonaut for our honeymoon in San Francisco from Sept 3 thru 7th. The location was perfect, close to the wharf, wonderful dining & shopping. We were incredibly disappointed that we had no view (our room faced other rooms) and we could hear our neighbor's entire conversation in the early morning (not muffled either!) It was quiet at night tho & the staff is outstanding! We did try to get another room but there were none available.We didn't spend as much time in the room as we thought we would, wouldn't spend the money again for the accommodations. The cleaning staff gets 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi, Sparkysgrl,
Congrats to you and your new husband, and good for you for getting out and about exploring the Wharf on your honeymoon! I'm glad that your room was very quiet at night (indeed our 90 interior rooms are known for that), though that is odd about hearing your neighbor that one day. Feel free to drop us a line with some particulars and we'll look into that! Meanwhile, I'm glad you loved our location and staff. I'll share your extra kudos with our all-star housekeeping team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

A truly top-class hotel, impeccable service, beautiful touches all round, lovely design in the rooms, great room service, superb location - cannot fault the place, and well worth the admittedly quite high) cost. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Richard - your review brings a smile to our faces! I'm glad your stay was top-notch and that you felt pampered and so well-treated. This is our goal each and every time! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed at the Argonaut for one night during a layover in San Francisco. A great location for a little slice of SF under time constraints. The staff were really lovely and helpful. The rooms were spacious, the beds really comfortable, and the room spotless. Great food and sights really close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

The argonaut hotel is by far the most stylish and classy hotel in fishermans wharf with impeccable service and great location.

I was very pleased upon entering the hotel as it's a smaller private hotel where the staff would remember you by your name; upon entering the room i was extemely pleased to find cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and the superior interior decoration of the room.

The location and hotel restaurant boasts an incredible full breakfast menu and the lobby is stocked with numerous information about the city!

Definetly great value and will be the hotel i will stay at next time in san francisco!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stolarchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Well, Stolarchos,
I think we should just make your first paragraph our new tagline! I am so pleased by your comments, as they capture everything we take pride in and strive to deliver each and every day. I am so glad that you felt our service, size, and location all made for a great value. We will hope to see you again here at the waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

In fishermans warf where everything happens. Great place to stay as it is on the end with easy access to the marina park. Easy walk to the Americas Cup sailing in town when we were staying.

Room fine - all there and comfortable bed. (a must after the previous night at the spindrift).

Service good - we didn;t have any room service or problems with anything.

We had a hire car which we returned to the Downtown Alamo depo after arriving so there was no valet needed - apparently it's $48 a day.

Cheese and Wine every night - again great if you like the wine- I drink dry white only and the white here was sweet - hey ho....

Good places for breakfast - the bakery down the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel - we enjoyed our 5 nights there last week; decor, bed comfort, design, staff helpfulness all deserve a 5*. Location is great for Fisherman's Wharf) Just one or two niggles for such a pricey hotel; the room service waiter could not understand my order (British English) and we got a meal and drinks we did not order (food was nevertheless very good). Secondly, the bath/shower is kind of like you would expect at your grandmother's house (we were in room 365) - difficult to fathom controls and poor water pressure - really not good enough for this kind of nightly rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGapSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hello, GoGapSport (that name just makes me want to run out of my office to beach and seize the day!). I'm glad that our staff helpfulness knocked your socks off and you enjoyed our beds and decor as well. Thanks for pointing out those hiccups with your room serivce order and the shower. It must be that yours was one of our accessible rooms, which do have a detachable shower head. Sorry about the extra complication there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,057 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,126 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing